A Thankful Hodgepodge…

T’was the day before Thanksgiving, when all through the house… Cooking and baking were in progress, but some folks were taking time to participate in The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  If you’re one of those folks, I’m so glad you stopped by today.  I’m also glad our hostess, Joyce, has provided us with another great set of questions to ponder today.  Thank you, Joyce!

1.What’s something you wish you knew how to do, but feel like it’s too late to learn?

I wish I knew how to play a musical instrument, especially the guitar or the piano.  You  may be thinking, it’s not too late, but I’ve tried to learn how to read music, and, for some reason, it just won’t compute in my brain.

2. Your least favorite thing to shop for? Why?

I hate shopping for new shoes because I rarely find a pair that feels good on both of my feet. One of my feet is slightly larger than the other, and this has always caused a problem.  These days, I just spend most of my days wearing Crocs. It works for me!

3. How has the celebration of Thanksgiving today changed from when you were growing up?

In our family, I don’t think things have really changed all that much.  We still eat too much turkey/dressing,  and the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade still comes on the television, followed by football.  We usually take some family pictures, too.  However, we did start one new tradition, last year– taking turns telling what we’re most thankful for, while seated around the kitchen table.  I really liked that.

I have noticed, in the past few years, the focus for some people (not in our family, thank goodness), on Thanksgiving, has shifted from becoming “a day of giving thanks”  into “the start of the Christmas season”.  In other words, let’s go shopping!!!

4. What’s something that when other people see it, reminds them of you? Explain.

I’ll say “a PT Cruiser” because I was one of the first people in our area to get one, after they came out.  I sure got a lot of [unwanted] attention when I bought that car, back in March of 2001!  I loved that car, back then, and still do!

5. If you could guest star in a TV show, what would it be and why?

Let me begin by saying, I can’t imagine “starring” in a TV show!  That being said, if I had to  be on a TV show, I’d probably choose to be a contestant on “The Price Is Right” or “Let’s Make A Deal”.

6. Have you ever farmed or spent any time on a farm? Are there farm stands in your little corner of the world and do you make it a point to shop there? If so, what item do you particularly like to buy from a roadside stand or farm shop?

Yes, I’ve spent the last 38 years of my life, living on my husband’s parents’  thirty acre farm. Until recent years, crops of tobacco, corn, soybeans, or cotton were grown on the farm.  In 2012, Ed and I began planting our own garden, on a small plot of the land, and we now grow most of our own vegetables.

Our next-door neighbor, known to the grandchildren as “Farmer Danny”, has a farm stand just across the road from where we live.

11010507_10153228126883139_5662760482280972333_n Ed and I usually buy strawberries, tomatoes, or watermelon from “Farmer Danny” because we haven’t had much luck growing those particular things.

7. What’s something you’ve experienced recently that made you feel a sense of awe or wonder?

100_5307

We saw a double rainbow about  four weeks ago.  Many folks were able to get some very good pictures of it, but we weren’t, although Ed tried.  If you look close, there’s a second rainbow to the right of the brightest one. This rainbow appeared only a couple of days after Ed’s heart attack, and I told him, “Here’s your sign!  Everything’s going to be okay.”

Random:

Although 2015 has been a tough year for us, I still have much to be thankful for, and I am!  As bad as things have been, they could have been a whole lot worse, but for the grace of God. My blessings are still many, and I know that.  Praise the Lord!

Our daughter and her husband will be hosting Thanksgiving for the family, this year.  I’m looking forward to “going back home” for Thanksgiving, and just being a guest. (Our daughter and family live in our former home) I’m extremely grateful for the much-needed break because cooking and hosting just seemed a bit over-whelming to me, this year.  I’ve made the dressing ahead of time and froze it, and I’ll be baking the nineteen pound turkey tomorrow.  I think I can handle that!

I’m especially thankful that Ed is still here to celebrate another Thanksgiving with our family tomorrow! Today marks a month since he had his heart attack, and he seems to be doing well.  I’m acutely aware things could have turned out very different, for Ed, like they did for the person who entered the ER just ahead of us that fateful night.  I think about that person’s family, often, knowing there will be an empty chair at someone’s Thanksgiving Day table tomorrow…

Basic CMYK

 

Published in: on November 25, 2015 at 8:36 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/11/25/a-thankful-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I always wanted to be on The Price is Right. I would probably flub prices once there, but I was a mad shopper when watching the show from my living room.

    I still remember the first PT Cruisers I saw. They were eye catchers, that’s for sure. They were so different from anything else. Very neat that you got one when they first came out.

  2. I wear Crocs most of the time too. I’ve got 2 pair that look like regular loafers and I love them. So when I wear them, most people don’t even know I’m wearing Crocs.

    So glad Ed is doing well and I hope your back is feeling better.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!

  3. I said learn an instrument too! I really wish that was a part of my life.

  4. I answered piano on #1, and agree with you on #2…love my Crocs! You and your family do have much to be thankful for, in spite of all the trials of 2015. Praise God Ed is doing so well, and bless your daughter for hosting Thanksgiving!! I wish all of you a blessed Thanksgiving Day as you gather around a bountiful table and count your blessings. Please share photos!!

  5. You certainly have farmed and I love your garden each year. Absolutely love the double rainbows. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours……enjoy your dinner at your daughters house.

  6. I totally forgot about the pinecones, how sweet of you to remember!!!

  7. The double rainbow must have looked spectacular in real life. I am glad that Ed’s recovery continues unabated. I’m glad you two kids get to spend another Thanksgiving together. I wish you both all the best that this holiday has to offer. Thank you for your kind wishes as well!

  8. I hate shopping for shoes too and I love my Crocs! So glad that your husband survived his heart attack and is doing well. We also had Thanksgiving dinner at our son’s house… time to pass the torch! I enjoyed your post.


Leave a Reply

