T’was The Week Before Christmas Hodgepodge…

Are you ready for Christmas?  Me either!  Ready or not, Christmas is right around the corner, but there’s still time to enjoy one last Hodgepodge before Christmas gets here, so let’s take a few moments and relax.  As always, thanks to Joyce, for being such a great hostess, to us.

1. What’s your biggest ‘first world’ problem?

Perhaps, mine should be “Due to recent facial surgery, my Christmas pictures are going to be really horrible, this year.”  See what I mean?

100_5466

Instead I’ll say, “It’s having to drive our old car 1/4 of a mile [to Ed’s parents’ house] in order to retrieve our new car whenever we want to drive it.”  (We’re keeping it there so our cats won’t scratch it.)  This sounds pretty ‘first world’ to me.

2. Each year Time Magazine names a ‘Person of the Year’, someone who has ‘for better or worse…done the most to influence the events of the year.’ It was recently announced they’ve named Angela Merkel Person of the Year for 2015. You can read more about this year’s selection here. Your thoughts? If you were in charge, who would you declare Person of the Year?

I hate to, but I’m going to opt out of this question.  It simply requires more energy and thought than I am able to muster today.

3. Do you have a nativity set in your home? If so share its history and how you display the pieces.

Yes, I have a nativity set–or three.  The one I’m displaying, this year, is a nativity set I found, last year, at a vintage store called “The Red Wagon”.  I fell in love with it when I saw it!  As mentioned, I also have two others.  One was purchased many years ago, when our children were still young, and has a wooden stable that plays “Silent Night”. The other nativity set used to belong to Ed’s mama.  Now that I have three, I take turns displaying one of them on our book shelves, each Christmas.  I’d show you a picture, but, apparently, my camera broke after taking that last picture of my face.  I’m serious.

4. Do you make an extra effort to give back in some way during the holiday season? How do you encourage those who need encouragement this time of year?

In years past, I’ve been involved in many efforts to “give back” , through school or church, not just at holiday time, but other times throughout the year. This year, not so much.  It’s been a difficult year for us, and, as a result, Ed and I have been more on the receiving end of encouragement and prayers.

I think the best way to encourage people is to simply let them know we care about them.  It can be as simple as a kind word, a note, a phone call, or a visit.  Thoughtfulness goes a long, long way to make someone feel loved and appreciated.

5. Who is your favorite person to shop for? Why?

My favorite people to shop for are my grandchildren.  Why?  Because it’s more fun to buy toys than anything else!  However, this year, I didn’t have a clue (or the energy) to know where to start shopping, so their parents helped me out.

6. What’s the last delicious thing you ate?

On Monday, I baked some gingerbread cake.  I enjoyed a warm piece of it, fresh from the oven, with a dollop of Cool Whip on top of it!  It was delicious.

7. The best way to spread Christmas cheer is… to be kind, courteous, thoughtful, respectful, helpful, and any other nice thing you can think of!

Random:

I’m almost one week out from the plastic surgery [on my face] to close the hole left by the cancer surgery.  I’ve given birth to a 10 lb 9 oz child [with no drugs], had a total abdominal hysterectomy, and experienced both neck and back surgery, and, believe me, this facial surgery ranks right in there with all of that!!!

As of yesterday, I still required [at least] Tylenol for pain.  The stitches won’t be removed until tomorrow, but Ed and I had to remove the tape from over the incisions, last night, because it was irritating my face so much.   At the moment, I look a bit like Frankenstein, and I cried when I looked at my reflection in the mirror.  I’m hoping [and praying] my face will improve, with time [and makeup].

 

Published in: on December 16, 2015 at 8:57 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/twas-the-week-before-christmas-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well that sounds really painful. When it’s ranked right up there with other painful things… I hope you can have a wonderful Christmas nevertheless. Those kitties need Manners 101. Lol

  2. Can you imagine people who go through your ordeal voluntarily because they don”’t like something about the face they were born with? I know I shouldn’t be judgmental but it boggles my mind! Hang in there, baby! Your readers still love ya.

  3. Your face is going to heal but it must be hard meanwhile. There is much to be thankful for in that they were able to remove the skin cancer though, right? Praying for a quick, smooth recovery for you. (((Hugs))) Merry Christmas Kathy!

  4. Your face with be just fine with time. Bless your heart…I know it must be tough. Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

  5. *meant to type…”will be just fine with time.”

  6. My most painful surgery was foot surgery back in 1989. I still remember the throbbing pain. Nothing worse since then, but your facial surgery does sound awfully painful. There are so many nerves close to the surface in our faces. I”m sure all of that will fade in another week or so. Getting the stitches out will probably help too. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers!! Hugs!

  7. Sorry to hear about your pain. Prayers that you feel better soon. Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas.

  8. I love collecting nativities. Your gingerbread cake sounds like a perfect treat. Like I mentioned before, it will heal great like my sisters did. Wishing you a Merry Christmas! Blessings to you and your family.

  9. I’m sure your face will look and feel a lot better soon. It may not be perfect but make up can certainly work wonders and it must be a relief to have dealt with the cancer. You’ve had a rough year so I hope 2016 will be better and that you enjoy your Christmas.

  10. Gosh you have really had a year! I’m sure there will be improvement, and it’s good to know you’ve removed what needed to be removed. Wishing you a restful wonderful Christmas and a happy healthy new year!

  11. “One was purchased many years ago, when our children were still young, and has a wooden stable that plays “Silent Night”.” My parents had one like that too, and I miss it.

    (And who cares about the photos? Have a wonderful Christmas.)

  12. I hope and pray the the coming New Year is way better for you and Ed than 2015 has been. May your pain continue to abate and your healing be rapid. Merry Christmas to you and Ed!


Leave a Reply

