Goodbye 2015, Hello Hodgepodge…

1. Share a favorite memory/moment from the week of Christmas.

My favorite moments, this Christmas, took place early Christmas morning, when Ed and I visited the houses of each one of our grandchildren to see what they got for Christmas.  It was the first time we’ve ever been able to visit all four of them on Christmas morning, and it was fun sharing their excitement!  It brought back some good memories of our own children when they were little.

2.  If someone wrote a book about your life based on the past year, what genre would it fall under? What would the title be?

Because so many unbelievable things happened to us in 2015, a book based on my life  would have to fall under “fiction”. Ha!  A good title might be You’re Not Going To Believe This, But…

3. What made you feel patriotic this year?

I feel proud and patriotic every time I look at this:

100_3849

The hat belonged to my late father-in-law, who was a WWII veteran, and the flag draped his coffin, after his death, and was presented to his wife at the end of his funeral, in 2002.  I still remember his war stories, and I know the great sacrifice he made for our country. Ed’s mom was a veteran, too, and we have a similar display, for her, as well.  Both flags/hats sit on top of our entertainment center.

4. What experience from this past year would you like to do all over again?

I think I’d like to go back to October 14, and relive the day we bought our new Trans Connect.  It was the first brand new vehicle we’ve bought in quite a few years, so the anticipation was high!  Ed and I had to drive 100 miles to an unfamiliar dealership to buy it, but the scenery along the way was beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.  Add to that, the fact that “the price was right” on the van we wanted, and the folks at the dealership were super friendly and helpful.  To me, it was the easiest and best car deal we’ve ever made, and the happiest day of the entire year!  We love our new ride!

May-October 2015 1091

5. What song lyric sums up or is a reflection of your 2015?

The old Hee Haw song, entitled Gloom, Despair, and Agony is the first song that comes to mind, because I’ve felt that way many times throughout 2015.  See clip for lyrics.

6. On a scale of 1-10 how would you rate 2015?  (10=stellar) Why?

My husband, Ed, says he’d rate the year 2015 a 5/6, because he says “We had some hard times,  but we lived through them.”  I’m going to rate the year a 2/3 because it’s been the most difficult year of my life, so far, but Ed’s right, praise the Lord, we lived through it!  I’m keenly aware, as bad as it was, it could always have been worse.

A brief recap of our 2015: (1) January-Ed lost his job, (2) February & March-we dealt with all kinds of government officials and paperwork related to unemployment, health insurance, social security, plus we had to get used to living on 1/2 of the income we had been accustomed to.  (3) April-we discovered we had termites and mold under our house and had to spend $4,000 to treat the problem. (4) April thru August my back “went out”, I discovered I have two bad discs in it, and I suffered through 5 1/2 months of very painful sciatica. (5) September-I had back surgery. (6) October-Ed suffered a heart attack. (7) November-I found out I had basal cell carcinoma. (8) December-I had Moh’s surgery to remove the cancer from my face, followed by plastic surgery to repair the hole.  It’s been a year to remember, for sure!

7. What part of the upcoming year are you most excited about?

I’m most excited about getting a ‘fresh start’, and putting 2015 in the past!

Random:

Here’s the picture of our grandson, Evan, with Santa, taken on Christmas Eve.  Poor Evan! I think it’s safe to say, he didn’t care much for Santa!  Meanwhile, jolly old Santa didn’t seem to mind at all.  (This ‘mall Santa’ is one of the best I’ve ever encountered, by the way.)  I’m sure this picture will be a family conversation piece for many years to come, and I’m going to display it proudly each Christmas:).

12-29-2015 8;24;29 PM Evan and Santa

Published in: on December 30, 2015 at 7:39 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/goodbye-2015-hello-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so sorry to hear it’s been a rough year. I hope 2016 is full of wonderful things for you and Ed.

  2. That picture gave me a big smile & chuckle this morning! Thank you for that!!!
    I knew about your back surgery, but not about Ed’s heart attack or your cancer surgery. I really need to keep up better. I guess it’s a blessing that Ed wasn’t working when he had his heart attack, huh?
    Happy New Year!

  3. Boy I agree. Your 2015 would be one to escape. You’ve had quite the time. I hadn’t remembered about all those situations. Praise God you made it through! Hopefully 2016 will be a much better year. I laughed at the pic of Evan. Poor kid!! That’s how I always felt about those bigger than life scary characters.

  4. I truly hope 2016 will be a much brighter year. The pic of Santa and Evan-loved it.

  5. I think your choice of book and title is great! I can see why you feel patriotic looking at your FIL’s hat and flag.

  6. The crying Santa pics are the best : ) Wishing you a bright and healthy new year!

  7. You have definitely had a very rough year, but I’m so glad you are still here and both seem to be doing so well.

    Love that last picture!

    Happy New Year!

  8. That is a great Santa pic! You sure did have many challenges this year and I am glad you can put them behind you. Wishing you a new year filled with much peace, love and happiness 🙂

  9. How lovely to be able to see all your Grandchildren at Christmas. After the year you’ve both had you deserved something good. I hope 2016 will be better for you.

  10. Your right, your year was unbelievable!
    I just love Evan’s photo, so typical of Santa photos.
    May your New Year be filled with an abundance of blessing. xoxo

  11. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Becke is definitely being well taken care of and spoiled as much as possible. She really is a special dog and is much beloved. I hope that 2016 brings nothing but pleasant things your way. Lord knows that you had your share of unpleasant things this past year. Happy New Year to you and Ed.


Leave a Reply

