A New Year, And A New Hodgepodge…

I’m in the midst of taking down Christmas decorations, a job I don’t enjoy, so I’m more than happy to take a break and indulge in The Hodgepodge!  Thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for giving me a great excuse to stop :).  Here are today’s questions along with my answers:

1. Are you ready for new? Is 2016 likely to be very different than 2015? Do you want it to be?

Yes!  I am very ready for the new, and I hope it’s going to be very different from 2015!  We’re off to a pretty good start, so far.  I’m trying to remain positive.

2. January 6th is National Technology Day. Currently, what is your single biggest struggle or frustration when it comes to technology?

Everything about technology frustrates me.  It always has, and probably always will. It’s the reason I still haven’t learned everything about Windows 8.1 or all of those gadgets on our new car.

3. It’s that time again…time for Lake Superior University to present a list of words (or phrases) they’d like to see banished (for over-use, mis-use, and general uselessness) in 2016. You can read more about the decision making process here, but this year’s top vote getters are-

So (at the start of every single sentence), conversation (as in hotly debated topics where we’re invited to ‘join the conversation’), problematic, stakeholder, price point, secret sauce, break the Internet, walk it back, presser, manspreading (common in larger cities where some men take up the entire bus or train seat by sitting wide), vape, giving me life (refers to anything that may excite a person or make them laugh), and physicality

Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Is there a word not on the list you’d like to add?

I’ve never heard it used before, but I’d banish “manspreading” because I don’t even like the way that word sounds!  I don’t like the word “vape” either, since I learned it refers to the act of smoking e cigarettes, which is ridiculous, in my humble opinion.

4. Share one of your current health related goals.

I plan to get back on my regular, daily, walking schedule, soon.  I didn’t walk the entire month of December, other than walking to and from the car in the back of the parking lot.

5. Let’s talk fifty shades of gray. As in the color. Gray is currently a popular color in home decor, paint, wardrobes, hair, wedding party attire, and more. Are you a fan? Do you have the color in some variation in your home or wardrobe? Gray hair, the old gray mare, gray matter, gray area…which gray idiom can you most relate to right now?

I’m not really a fan of gray, but I do have some gray in my wardrobe.  I can most relate to “gray hair” since I spent all of 2015 letting my old hair color grow out.  I’m a “salt and pepper” kind of girl, now.

6. Certain foods are considered ‘lucky’ if eaten on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day. Cooked greens to bring economic fortune, black-eyed peas or lentils also symbolize money, pork which symbolizes progress, fish for good luck, and if you’re in Spain 12 grapes at the stroke of midnight. Did you eat any lucky foods on the first day of the year? Is that a tradition in your home? Of the foods listed, which most appeals to you?

We ate some cooked greens and black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day, and yes, it is a tradition for us to do so.  However, we had smoked chicken, instead of pork, to go with it.  I don’t know if chicken symbolizes anything, but it sure was delicious.  I like black-eyed peas, and we eat them often.

7. What’s the single biggest time waster in your life and what, if anything, will you do about it this year?

Surfing Facebook is probably my biggest time waster, right now.  My Facebook feed is now filled with all sorts of ads, videos, and crazy stuff I don’t care anything about.  I’ll probably spend a lot less time on Facebook, this year.  Ed, on the other hand, has just gotten his Facebook account, and seems to be enjoying it immensely.

Random:

The anniversary date of Ed’s ‘mandatory’ retirement is rapidly approaching.  On January 16, he will have been retired a full year!  At first, we were devastated at the news he was being ‘laid off’, but, in hindsight, it was such a blessing!

The management company which took over running the hospital where Ed worked [and subsequently laid him and many other employees off] has now been terminated.  The company’s contract was up on January 4, and they were given the boot!

If possible, I think this past year has been even worse for the hospital than the last year Ed worked there.  I feel SO bad for the employees who continue working there! Their jobs have been in peril for many months, and still are. There are no answers, yet, as to the future of the hospital.

Although Ed and I certainly faced more than a few challenges in 2015, but I can only imagine how much more difficult things would have been if he’d still been trying to do his [very stressful] job at the hospital, too.  We were given a blessing, indeed.  Thank you, Lord!

Published in: on January 6, 2016 at 8:54 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/a-new-year-and-a-new-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m becoming less and less a fan of facebook. I am tired of all the ranting and lecturing I feel like happens there now. Let’s go back to sharing cute family photos : ) Happy new year! Hoping it’s a healthy one for you both!

  2. OK, time to get back to those decorations! 🙂

  3. I have been noticing a lot of ads coming across my FB newsfeed lately and it’s driving me bonkers. I don’t know how to get rid of them! I find technology frustrating, too.

  4. I agree, those vape cigarettes are crazy. I’m glad that things worked out with Ed being laid off last year. God is good!

  5. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers! I spend too much time on the computer, too, but don’t see it changing much. I enjoy it, even knowing it takes up too much of my time. I wish you and Ed a bright, healthy and fun new year!!

  6. I hate that for the employees but, it’s rather like Karma, eh? I haven’t given into the gray yet. As soon as I think it’s too visible, I hit it with the henna. My grandmother dyed her hair way into her 80s. I think I got it from her. LOL Not sure what I did last time to get a comment to show up, but I’m trying this. Fingers crossed. Again. LOL

  7. Sometimes it is only as we can look back that we see God’s hand on us and His plan for us. I would add to that word list “utilize.” Just my opinion, but repeated use of utilize seems like the writer is just attempting to make the action sound more important. The bureaucrats and researchers I worked with rarely used the word “use.” Every blessing in 2016, my friend.

  8. I hope your struggle with the sugar beast and other helth issues are more successful in the new year. Thank you for your prayers and kind thoughts for my beloved SWMBO and Becke, the Wonder Dog.


Leave a Reply

