Catching Up On Monday…

I’ve just spent the last seven days immersed in Christmas decorations!  It took me exactly one week to put them all up, and exactly one week to pack them away.  What a relief it is to be finished!

Of course, it still looks a bit like Christmas in our house because the ‘year round’ tree is now decorated with snowmen and icicles.  That ‘year round’ tree is about the only thing around here that resembles winter, though!

100_4861

the ‘year round’ tree (and some of my snowman collection)

Whenever I look outside, it’s hard to believe it’s actually mid-January.    Our lawn is green, and needs mowing. New leaves are on the Sycamore tree, while one Japanese Magnolia tree is covered in blooms, and two of our Azaleas are covered with blossoms!   What’s up with that?  Our temperatures have been up and down, but not cold enough to kill the grass, yet.

P1010352

January blooms

I haven’t mentioned my face in a while, but it’s continuing to heal.  The surgical sites [from skin cancer] don’t look as good as I’d like, but they are getting better, as time passes.  I’m faithfully  applying Mederma twice daily, as directed by the surgeon, in hopes this will help reduce the scaring.  Time will tell.

Ed and I are trying to get back to our low fat, low sugar, low cholesterol diets, now that Christmas is over.  It’s so hard!  I have to confess, we gave in, last night, and finally tried the new pizza place in town (Marcos Pizza), which has already been open for over two months.  I felt a tad guilty for eating the pizza, but it was sinfully delicious.  Today, it’s back to salads and baked chicken!

I’ve been trying to get back into my walking routine, and that’s hard, too.  Ed and I only managed to walk twice last week.  It had been well over a month since we’ve walked for exercise. Since then, Ed’s apparently gotten in better shape, while I’ve gotten worse!  I could hardly keep up with him, yesterday. Only a month ago, it was just the opposite.  Clearly, I have my work cut out for me!

My back has continued to improve since my surgery, in September.  Some days are better than others, but, on really good days, I hardly have any pain at all.  I still can’t sit on our couch (or any couch, for that matter) for very long, without discomfort, and I always use a lumbar support pillow in my favorite chair, but I can live with that.  The best thing of all is being able to walk again, without pain!  The surgery was worth every penny it cost.

Ed and are trying to plan a trip to Florida to visit with my brother and his wife.  We haven’t been to their house in about three years.  In fact, we haven’t been anywhere, overnight, in about three years!  We have so many animals to see about, it’s easier to just stay home.  However, soon, we are planning to leave our animals in the care of our daughter, so we can take an over night road trip. We learned, when Ed had his heart attack, our pets can survive in the care of others.

That’s about all of the news I have today.  So far, 2016 has been delightfully quiet, and uneventful for us.  I hope the trend continues…at least for a while longer.

P1010350

frozen blossoms

Update:  I wrote this post last night.  This morning, we woke up to 31 degree temperatures and heavy frost!  Could this be the beginning of winter for us?  My frozen azalea blossoms think it is!

Happy Monday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on January 11, 2016 at 9:42 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/01/11/catching-up-on-monday-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. 61 degrees here yesterday – 30 today! I too took down my outdoor decorations yesterday but had to leave them outside the basement door to dry off since we had torrential rains for most of the day.

  2. Poor little azaleas look so cold! 🙂

    I’m so glad to hear that your back is getting better each day.

    Take care and have a great day!

  3. We were COLD this morning, too. There was actually frost on the car’s back window when I drove to work! Do I dare ask where you will be in Florida? If you are only doing one night, I’m sure we won’t have time to meet up somewhere, but hopefully we can when we come to GA again! So happy to hear your back is so much better and your face is healing nicely!

  4. Christmas decorations are still spread over every surface in our family room., as i have hardly made a dent. Yummm, Marcos Pizza. We don’t have one here, but our Georgia tribe introduced, and we enjoy it when we visit! i haven’t been walking, either. Stamina decreases a lot quicker than it builds up. Will be cheering you on!

  5. Poor plants are confused here too. And my sister in Philadelphia said her daffodils have come through the ground, but they’re supposed to have snow this week. Christmas is put away here too, a job I always dread, but am always glad to have done. Enjoy your week! Glad your back is feeling better!

  6. Thanks for all the updates. Good luck on your healthy eating and it’s okay to have pizza once in awhile. It took me two weeks to get my stuff put up. I should be done taking it all down by this weekend. I started on Monday. Packing is usually quicker for me than putting it all out.


Leave a Reply

