A Wintery Wednesday Hodgepodge…

1. Share one thing that really makes your day.

I always look forward to the hug and kiss I receive from my husband, Ed, just before going to bed each night.  It doesn’t matter how rotten the day may have been, during this particular moment, all is well.

2. Lots of these kinds of lists out there, but one found here says the fifteen most colorful places on earth are:

Vernazza, Cinque Terre, Italy~Burano, Italy~Havana, Cuba~Rio de Janiero, Brazil~Chefchaouen, Morocco~Balat, Istanbul, Turkey~Menton, France~Jodhpur, India~La Baca, Buenos Aires, Argentina~Guanajuato, Mexico~Capetown, South Africa~Valparaiso, Chile~Wroclaw, Poland~San Francisco, California~and Pelourhino, Salvador, Brazil.

Of those listed which would you most like to see up close and in person? Of all the places you’ve seen or traveled in your own life, what would you say was one of the most colorful?

Since I’m not a world traveler, I might consider visiting San Francisco, California, but I’m not even sure about that.  The most colorful place I’ve ever visited would be Disneyworld, in Florida.

3.”Everything you want is on the other side of fear.” Jack Canfield In general, would you agree or disagree with that statement? Why?

In my case, that statement is probably true.  I’m a very cautious person.

4. Imagine you’re stranded on a desert island and dessert appears…what do you hope it is? Do you ever struggle to remember which spelling is desert and which is dessert?

Some hot fudge cake, accompanied by a bottle of water would be just about perfect 🙂  No, I don’t struggle with the spelling for desert or dessert.  I must have had a good English/Spelling teacher!

5. What song almost always makes you cry?

The song, “When I’m Gone” by the husband/wife country duo, Joey+Rory, makes me cry because it’s so sad!  It’s also very appropriate for their situation.  (40 year old Joey is in her final days of  battling terminal cancer.)  Rory recently posted about the song, “When I’m Gone”, here, on his blog entitled This Life I Live. In addition to being a talented singer/song writer, Rory is also a loving husband, father, and excellent blogger!

6. January is National Soup Month. Everything from soup to nuts, in the soup, thick as pea soup, souped up…which saying most recently applies to your life in some way? Explain.

Well, let me begin by happily saying, none of these phrases applies to my life, at the moment.  However, I was “in the soup” most of last year, due to one bad circumstance or another.

7. Write a two word note to your younger self. What does it say?

“Spend less” or “Save more”.  (the end result will be the same)

Random:

Our mailbox saga continues…

About six or eight months ago, Ed set out on a quest to have our mailbox moved from the busy 4-lane highway, where it’s been located for many years, to the end of a small dirt road that ends beside our garden. (You may recall a truck lost control and destroyed all three of our family’s mailboxes, a while back.)  Over the last few months, we’ve encountered every excuse and circumstance imaginable, and had to jump through numerous hoops, in an effort to get our mailbox moved!

For instance, we had to re-deed the little dirt road to the county. (Ed’s daddy originally deeded the road over, back in the 80’s, but, apparently, nobody could find a record of this.)  Then we had to name the road, and wait for a stop sign/road sign to be installed.  Next, we had to acquire a new 911 address.  Last, but not least, we had to wait for approval from the US Postal Service to move our mailbox.  We finally received permission, last week, so you’d think our saga would end here, but it doesn’t!

Ed left a note in our mailbox, and waited for the mailman to come to our house on three different days, last week, to ask his advice about where to place our mailbox.  The mailman never bothered to show up, [but claims he came and we weren’t home].  Ed went ahead and moved the mailbox, on Saturday.  We filed a “change of address” request, last week.

On Monday, the mailman showed up, telling us we need to move our mailbox because he doesn’t have room to turn around, and he’s “not allowed” to drive in reverse.  Ed moved the mailbox–again.

The real problems began, on Monday, when we began trying to change our address, and kept getting an on-line message, saying our new address is “not a valid address”.  Apparently, the postal service hasn’t registered the new address they required us to have!  Sigh.

The good news is– the mailman is delivering our mail to our mailbox in its new location.  I don’t know how long it’s going to take to get the “address dilemma” resolved, but we’re working on it.

 

Published in: on January 13, 2016 at 8:49 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/01/13/a-wintery-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sitting on my lunch at work scrolling through some posts and read this. It made me smile.

  2. Oh my goodness that mailbox saga sounds horrendous! I’m glad we have a letterbox and no such problems. I hope you get it all finalised soon.
    Wendy’s Waffle

  3. That song rips your heart out! Wow – so sad! Great answers! I am following from Hodgepodge.You can follow me back at Annster’s Domain if you want. Have a great day!

  4. It’s always something isn’t it? Good grief-bureaucracy! I love when hubs makes my morning coffee. Such a small gesture, but packed with a lot of love. Enjoy your day!

  5. I can’t watch that video with bawling my eyes out. Oh, my word…so beautifully done. I pray for peace for them both.

  6. As regards one s or two in desert and dessert: When I was teaching fourth grade (shudder), I came across a hint for the kids to remember the difference. Everybody would love 2 helpings of dessert, while 1 trip to the desert is enough for most people. Although I’ve always been a good speller, I find myself stopping and thikking about this before writing dessert.

  7. Sometimes the simplest things can seem daunting to the USPS. LOL Good grief! I had never heard that song until we visited our son’s home last weekend and my DIL played it for me. It’s very touching, especially considering the circumstances.

  8. Any time the government (local, state, federal..it matters not) gets involved in something, it will be a disaster. I’m convinced of this!!

    I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!! Wishing you a calm and healthy 2016!!

  9. I said Disney too. Hope you get the mailbox situation straightened out soon.

  10. What a headache with the mailbox! It’s never easy, is it?

  11. Sweet answer to #1. I’m praying your 2016 is way, way better than 2015. Our 2016 is currently “in the soup” and it isn’t fun. I agree with the spend less/save more. I’m feeling that way too. That is really some saga on the mailbox. Glad he is at least delivering now to the new box! Have a great weekend.

  12. I will be sharing the In The Soup at some point but not all the details. You are a no-reply so I can’t email with you.

  13. Nothing is ever easy, is it? It drives me nuts when I am required to do something but the powers that be aren’t prepared. Yet they keep insisting. Good grief. I’d have to go with ‘thick as pea soup’ because we’ve been having quite a bit of thick fog due to all this un-winter like weather.


Leave a Reply

