Marching Into Another Hodgepodge…

It’s hard to believe we’re already into the third month of the new year!  What better way to begin a new month than by joining “The Hodgepodge”?!  As always, thank you to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for giving us a place to come, and for furnishing us with seven new questions each and every week!  You can visit Joyce, and other “Hodgepodge” participants by clicking the button at the top of this post.

1. February ended with an extra 24 hours in 2016. What did you do with your bonus day?

First of all, I did some ‘deep cleaning’ in the bathroom, then I vacuumed a little bit.  After that, I went outside and did some light yard work because it was such beautiful day.  (It was much too pretty to waste cleaning house all day!)  Last of all, I did something I rarely do, these days, I baked some chocolate chip cookies.  I think baking the cookies was the best thing I did all day 🙂

2. What’s something in your life that’s grown by leaps and bounds in recent days, weeks, months, or years? I’m giving you lots of room to come up with an answer here, so no fair passing on this one.

Gratitude!

In recent months, (four to be exact) my appreciation for the wonderful life I’ve been blessed to share with my husband, Ed, has grown by leaps and bounds! Also, after having our normal life totally disrupted for the better part of 2015, (due to Ed’s job loss, serious health issues for both of us, and house issues, as well) I have a much greater appreciation for ‘normal’or ‘uneventful’ days!

3. Do you read reviews about a film before deciding if you’ll see it?  Did you watch The Oscars this year, and if so your thoughts on the program? How many of the Best Picture nominees had you seen prior to the broadcast? (Spotlight, The Martian, The Big Short, The Revenant, Mad Max: Fury Road, Room, and Brooklyn)   If you watched The Oscars who gets your award for ‘best dressed’? 

 Sometimes I’ll read reviews, but not often.  The movie trailer is usually what catches my attention.    No, I didn’t watch The Oscars, but then, I rarely do, these days.  I haven’t seen any of the Best Picture nominees, but I would like to see The Revenant, eventually.

4. When did you last have overnight houseguests? Give us your top three tips on being a good houseguest.

We had house guests, weekend before last, when our youngest son and his family fell asleep on the couch, but I’m not sure that counts.  They got up and went home before Ed and I woke up on Saturday morning!  Before that, I think my brother and his wife last came to visit back in October, before Ed had his heart attack.

My top three tips for being a good house guest would be: (1) Clean up after yourself, (2) Offer to help in the kitchen, and (3) Don’t overstay your welcome.  Our house guests always do these things.

5. March 2nd is Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. Will you be celebrating? If so, would you prefer a home made peanut butter cookie, a Reese’s peanut butter cup, an old fashioned peanut butter and jelly sandwich, or shall I just hand you a jar and a tablespoon?

Ed and I will probably be celebrating with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for  lunch, today.  We usually eat one about once a week.  A Reese’s peanut butter cup sure would be better, though!

6. Why is failure important? Or isn’t it?

I think failure is important because we learn from our mistakes, and that helps us to grow.  Failure is also a good way to keep us humble.

7. Share with us one fun thing on your March calendar.

100_4987100_4990

Easter is early this year, so it falls in March.  Fun times!  It’s always fun to hide those 250 eggs, then try to find them all!  We never do, by the way.  Hopefully, none of the grandchildren will suffer any broken bones, like our granddaughter did, last year!

Random:

Ed and I needed to plant a row of garden peas [in our garden], this week.  It was a challenge trying to figure out how to get those seeds into the holes in the ground, without me having to bend over so many times! (The repetitive bending motion can lead to sciatica, and I certainly don’t want anymore of that!)  So…Ed came up with the idea of dropping the seeds down a piece of small pvc pipe, so I could remain standing up while planting the seeds!  It was a little slow and tricky, but it worked!  The garden peas are now planted and I don’t have a backache 🙂

 

 

Published in: on March 2, 2016 at 8:22 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/marching-into-another-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Kathy…the link is there, with several people already on it. It might be your device? I am no help in matters of technology, but I know there have been times when I couldn’t see the link from my phone. I’m glad you found a clever way to plant those peas : ) Enjoy your day!

  2. Peas through a PVC pipe! That Ed is so inventive.

  3. What great idea to use the PVC pipe. That would help me too although I don’t plant 😉 250 eggs to hide, what fun! I was thinking the same thing about Easter being early this year.

  4. Great answers and love the solution Ed came up with for planting your peas. Hope they take ok.

  5. Applause and a pat on the back to your ingenious husband!! What a brilliant way to plan the seeds! Hang on to that guy…he’s a keeper! 🙂

    I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!! I’m (pleasantly) surprised at how many people don’t care about the Oscars! I thought it was just me…

  6. Gratitude….what a great answer! I don’t consider my children as house guests when they visit because I’m never stressed about them visiting like I am about my MIL visiting! I sure do love Reese’s PB cups.


Leave a Reply

