Wednesday Hodgepodge # 258…

Hello Wednesday, and hello Hodgepodge!  Lately, I’ve been experiencing some ‘technical difficulties’ and haven’t been able to see the ‘linky’ on Joyce’s Hodgepodge post, therefore, I couldn’t join the party. Not only couldn’t I see last week’s ‘linky’, I couldn’t see ANY of the previous week’s ‘linkys’ either!  Our son, Brad, tinkered with my computer, last weekend, and finally got the linkys to show up–but he doesn’t really know  how he did it.  Here’s hoping I will be able to see today’s list of Hodgepodge participants, and join in the fun!

1. March is National Women’s History Month. In that vein, who are three women who’ve been influential in your life? How so?

The first, and most, influential woman in my life was definitely my maternal grandmother.  I spent a lot of time with her, as a child, and she definitely helped mold me into the wife, mother, and homemaker I eventually became.

The second influential woman in my life was my mother, but not in the way you might think.  My mother had some problems, and made many mistakes in her lifetime.  I recognized those problems and mistakes, early in life, and vowed not to travel that same road.  Praise the Lord, my life has been very different than mama’s was!

The third most influential woman in my life was Ed’s mom.  She was the mother of five sons, and I was her first daughter-in-law.  She was so happy to finally have another female to spend time with, we did everything together!   We shopped together, we cooked together, and we just plain enjoyed each other’s company! My mother-in-law treated me like the daughter she never had, and taught me many things during our forty-three years together.  I also thank my in laws for setting a great example of what a good marriage looks like.

2. In what ways do you think women have it easier than men?

I’ve always thought I had it easier than Ed because, fortunately, I’ve never had to work outside the home.  The years I chose to work, I did so because I wanted to, not because I had to.

I could never keep up with Ed, physically, either.  Back in the day, the man was a workhorse!  Eight or nine years ago, Ed made a two-hour commute to work, held down a full-time job, and a part-time job, plus spent every extra waking hour actually building the house we now live in.

3. What do you need most right now: faith, love, hope, or peace?

I have plenty of faith, love, and hope, but, often, find myself lacking peace.  It’s always been my nature to worry, even though I know I shouldn’t.  I’m trying to work on that!

4. Do you have a collection? If so, what do you collect and why?

I’m almost embarrassed to answer this question!  Yes, I do collect several things.  I collect “coca cola” items (our home is decorated with various “coca cola” decor  throughout), I also collect [resin] frogs, I collect [stuffed] teddy bears, and dolls.  My doll collection is my largest collection, but my “coca cola” collection runs a close second.

Chatty Cathy collection

Chatty Cathy collection

some of my older Barbie collection

some of my older Barbie collection

5. Plaids, checks, polka dots, stripes…your favorite?

For some reason, I’ve always been drawn to polka dots, but, these days, I’d choose stripes.

6. In what ways are you the same as your childhood self?

I’m still shy and unsure of myself, just like I was as a child.  I also still have the same dark brown eyes, and crooked teeth.

7. You’re a contestant on the TV game show Jeopardy. What category will you ace?

None!  Ha!  Jeopardy is NOT my kind of show… My best chance would probably be in a category having to do with music from the sixties or seventies.

Random:

Praise the Lord, my mammogram results came back normal, last week!  What a relief!

In other random news, yesterday, I rode out to the city cemetery for a few minutes. While I was there, I was reminded of the following music video by country singer, Cole Swindell.

Why you ask?  Because Cole Swindell is originally from our little town, and so was his dad, Keith. Unfortunately, Keith was killed in a freak accident  a couple of years ago, when the car he was working under fell on top of him.  The accident happened about the time his son, Cole, got his big break and record deal. Not long ago, Cole came back “home” to make this music video for the song [Cole wrote for his dad], entitled “You Should Be Here”. Those are Cole’s brothers (and their families) in the video, as well as our little downtown area, and, of course, the city cemetery.

Published in: on March 9, 2016 at 7:41 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/03/09/wednesday-hodgepodge-258/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First of all, praise God for your good mammogram results! And it’s so nice to hear of the good relationship you had with your mother in law. God is gracious, isn’t he. Don’t you love how you can look back and see the hand of God in your life, bringing about healing and hope.

    Your doll collection is amazing. What little girl wouldn’t be thrilled to view that collection!

  2. Such awesome news about your mammogram being clear…isn’t God good? Wow…you have quite the doll collection going on…impressive!

  3. I’m grateful for my mother-in-law, and hope my son-in-law will say the same about me as the years roll by. I’m so glad you got a good report. I understand the relief you feel. Does your granddaughter play with the dolls, or is it just for display? Have a great day! Thank heaven for kids who can serve as our IT department : )

  4. You have quite a few great collections. Your husband sounds like a hard worker! Glad to hear you got a clear mammogram report 🙂

  5. I collect frogs, too. Mine range from stuffed to stone to plastic, basically whatever strikes my fancy.

  6. glad your results came back normal.

  7. I have a little collection of frogs too (Fully Rely On God). Enjoyed your answers! Nearly all of us mentioned Peace….

  8. A lot of our fellow Hodgepodgers selected more peace also. Times are tough all over. I’m glad your exam results came back normal. You had enough with health issues last year. Have a wonderful week.

  9. Well it looks like your linking is working now – glad to be able to see your post. I always had a good relationship with my in-laws too so I hope my daughter-in-laws see me in a positive light. Good news on the results and nothing wrong with a collection if you enjoy it and have space for it. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  10. Love the Barbies…one of my happiest moments was bringing out a few I had collected from yard sales and share them with my first grand-daughter…her cousin, a boy, also likes them, especially the little shoes.

  11. Three awesome mentors, how blessed you have been. Your doll collection is amazing. I have coke items too, I like them. I recently had my yearly mammogram and all was well. So happy to hear about your good results!!!


Leave a Reply

