The Luck O’ The Hodgepodge…

You know, I didn’t decorate for St. Patrick’s Day, this year because it’s so close to Easter.  Therefore, I actually forgot that it’s the week of St. Patrick’s Day!  That’s a first, for me.

It’s also Wednesday, and that means it’s time for The Hodgepodge.  Unfortunately, I’m not able to see the ‘linky’ today, so I can’t ‘officially’ join the party.  I guess last week’s luck didn’t last.  Sigh.

As always, thanks to Joyce for doing such a great job as hostess.  Here are this week’s questions, along with my answers.

1. What do you think about luck?

I find myself referring to ‘luck’  a lot, during every day life.  When things go wrong in our family, I often refer to it as ” Bacon luck”, or when something good happens to somebody, I find myself saying, “You lucky thing!”  However, I really don’t believe in luck, I believe in God.

2. Not counting your own backyard, what’s a favorite green space in your town, city, or state?  

P1010250The Village – St. Simon’s Island, GA

3. How do you make your life more complex than it needs to be?

I make life more complex than it needs to be by wanting to be ‘in control’ of things, when I can’t. I’ve always had difficulty delegating responsibilities, too, but as I’m getting older, that’s becoming a little easier. Last of all, I worry– a lot.  Need I say more?

4. I read here the three places you should visit with friends. They are-New York City, Hawaii, and Amsterdam (rent a bike, walk along the canal, visit one of their world class museums). I felt the need to expound on that one. Moving on…Of the three places listed which would you most like to visit with friends? What’s one place not on the list you think should be visited with friends?

I think I’d most like to visit Hawaii, not just with friends, but with anybody!!!  Anyone who knows me, knows I love the beach!  If I had to choose another place, not on the list, it would probably be the Florida Keys.

5. What’s the last live performance you saw? On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being best) how would you rate it?

I don’t know if this counts, but the last live performance I saw was either ‘Disney On Ice’ or the ‘Ringling Brothers’ Circus’, about 3 or 4 years ago.  I’d give both shows about a 7.  Now that I think about it, I may have been to see ‘The Nutcracker’ since then, and I’d give that performance a 7, as well.

6. March 14th is National Potato Chip Day. Are you a fan? Your favorite flavor? Besides potato, what’s your favorite chip type of snack?

I like potato chips, but I don’t love them.  My favorite flavor [of chips] depends on what I’m eating them with.  If I’m eating just chips, then I prefer Bar-B-Q flavor, but if I’m eating chips with a sandwich, then I prefer plain ones.  Cheetos are my other favorite ‘chip type’ snack, but, these days, Ed and I only eat baked potato chips because of being on ‘low fat’ diets.

7.What rule is most important in your home?

“Always kiss me goodnight”

Random:

So, I went back to the dermatologist for my 3 months follow-up after Moh’s surgery. She wasn’t completely happy with my plastic surgery results, because the surgical site still looks a bit “puffy”. (I guess this is just another prime example of  that “Bacon luck” I spoke of earlier.)   Anyway, she really wanted me to go back to the plastic surgeon to get a steroid shot in the wound to help shrink the tissue, and make the wound flatter.  I told her “No, thanks.  I’ve had more than enough shots in the face!” Finally, she suggested I could try massaging the wound, in an effort to break up the hard scar tissue.  I told her, “I can do that!”  So, that’s what I’m currently doing–pressing firmly on the scar with my index finger, and massaging it, six times a day.  Now my face is sore, once again, but perhaps this will help. If not, “old puffy” can join the lines, wrinkles, and other things growing older is doing to my face.

Published in: on March 16, 2016 at 8:17 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/03/16/the-luck-o-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the rule you have! So sorry you’ve had a tough time healing completely from your MOHS surgery. My dad and brother had the same procedure. Will say a prayer that the massaging does the trick. Shots in the face don’t sound like much fun to me.

  2. I didn’t even have to read on to know what your answer was regarding your favorite place. Hope it won’t be long until you and Ed are reclaiming your bench under trees. 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by, I love your rule. I don’t think I’d want a shot in the face either especially when you’ve been through so much. I hope the massaging helps. Have a good week.

  4. Me too, I want to be in control. Now that my kids are home and are adults I can’t control them anymore. It puts me in a funny place right now. I had control when they were little! I think those two performance count. Such fun things to do when there are little ones around. I forgot about Cheetos, those are yummy too. I hope the massaging helps you.

  5. I can always add your link anytime you need me to. Let me know next week, if you can’t see it and I’ll add it from my side. I really don’t mind at all. Great rule!!


Leave a Reply

