“Mother, May I” Present Another Hodgepodge…

<

Another week has passed, and with it another new month has dawned.  The month of May brings all sorts of things to mind–May Day, Mother’s Day, and our little town’s “Sweet Onion Festival”.  Then, of course, there’s The Hodgepodge!  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for hosting–even while traveling.

1. What’s something fun you’re looking forward to on your May calendar?

May is a busy month for our family!  Our oldest son and his wife will be celebrating their 10th wedding anniversary (May 6), our oldest son will also be celebrating his 34th birthday (on May 10), and one of our grandsons has a pre-school closing program (May 16).  Then, of course, we’ll be celebrating Mother’s Day on May 8th, too.

2. What are some images that come to mind when you hear the word mother?

Several images come to mind, but this picture of our DIL, Jennifer, and our youngest grandson, Evan, is one of the all-time favorites of my collection.

{0a1cc67f-fa2e-49e3-a0e0-29abfafc1eb5}_8

Other images that come to mind are “sleepless nights” and “proud moments”.  First there are the 2 a.m. feedings and the infant milestones, later there are teenage worries and scholastic accomplishments.  Finally, there is “wedded bliss” and trying to silently watch your grown children find their own way through this, sometimes complicated, life.

3. What’s something beautiful you own or have seen that’s made of glass?

The first thing that comes to mind is a glass dinner bell that my parents gave me for my birthday, many years ago.  Others may not find it particularly beautiful, but it is to me.  I keep it on the top shelf of my curio cabinet, in addition to many other treasured items.

4. Was today typical? If not what made it unusual?

Today (Wednesday) is sort of typical, but not totally.  I’m helping my daughter with something, this morning, and Ed has a dental appointment.

5. What is a quality you wish you could have more of?

The ability to convey kindness better. I have a kind heart, but I don’t always know how to show it.  Sometimes, my words come out sounding unintentionally harsh.  It’s an inherited family trait.

6. What’s the next major purchase you need to make? Will it happen in the month of May?

Ed says he’s going to replace the front section of tin, on the roof of our home.  When he put the first section of our roof on, eleven years ago, he put it on incorrectly.  As a result, we’ve been plagued with some pesky leaks, lately.  I’m not exactly sure when this purchase is going to take place, but it will probably be sometime soon.

7. What responsibility/job/work did you dislike while growing up but has proved helpful to you as an adult?

I know this isn’t what Joyce had in mind, but Business Math is one of the most useful things I learned while growing up.  It taught me how to balance my check book, and how to figure percentages, which comes in handy when shopping sales 🙂  I can figure the sale price in my head, or keep a running total [in my head] for the items in my shopping cart.

Random:

I apologize for my absence in the blog world, lately.  A lot of things have been going on.  The most noteworthy of which was our first trip (of 2016) to St. Simon’s Island, last Friday!  Our daughter and her family joined us on the day trip, and we all had a great time!  However, it wasn’t quite the same, since I now have to wear sunscreen and cover up my face with a bonnet– even while sitting in the shade of our favorite oak tree.  Oh, well…

Here’s an example of our view for the day:

P1010475

It never gets old!

Published in: on May 4, 2016 at 7:12 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/mother-may-i-present-another-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I added your link : ) Glad you had a nice day at the beach! Business math is a good answer. Probably one of the more practical things we were taught. Happy Mothers Day!

  2. I forgot about a typing class in high school. I didn’t do all that well…I would never win speed contests, but learning the key board has been vital. I think I will change my answer a little. My Daughter was another Mom I thought about as well, she is a wonderful mom.

  3. You have a nice busy month of celebrations. I have my aunts dinner bell. I’m so happy you got to go to St. Simon’s Island and that your daughter & her family joined you!

  4. That is a beautiful picture of mother and daughter and the type of image I had in mind to answer that question. Glad you had fun at the island vacation. Wish I had paid more attention in math class.

  5. I can see why that is one of your favorite photos! What precious love between a mother and baby. Happy Mother’s Day 🙂

  6. One of these days you and I will meet on St. SImons Island. It just has to happen!! I enjoyed your Hodgepodge, and that photo of Jennifer and Evan is beautiful!

  7. Ah, yes, what a precious photo of your DIL and grandbaby . I can’t wait till it’s my turn to be a gramma. I’d love to put St.Simon’s on my calendar soon.

  8. Sounds like you have a busy month ahead. Enjoy all your celebrations.

  9. Happy Mother’s Day to a wonderful mother and grandmother. I have been wondering if you had enjoyed your favorite spot recently. Glad you got to go, even if you have to add skin “precautions” to your routine.


Leave a Reply

