May Days…

With the exception of December, the month of May is the busiest month of the year for our family.  Therefore, not much time for blogging!

Most early mornings, you’ll find Ed and me out in the garden.  There are vegetables waiting to be gathered, and weeds waiting to be pulled or hoed.  It’s powder dry here, too, so lots of time is spent moving the water hose/sprinkler from place to place, as well.  I think of lots of things to blog about, while working, but have no time to write the posts.

This year, our lives are very different than last year, at this time.  Last year, I was afflicted with sciatica, in May, and wasn’t even able to walk out to the garden, much less work in it!  I was pretty much house bound most of the summer.  Going through a year, like that makes me really appreciate this one.  Praise the Lord for normal days!

Speaking of normal days, whenever we travel, Ed, loves to look for “treasures” on the side of the highway.  He’s always stopping to pick up “bungee straps”, buckets, etc.  A couple of years ago we stopped and picked up a child-sized lunchroom chair that had been tossed on the side of the road.  We had no idea what we’d do with the chair, but we brought it home and stored it. This year, that little chair has turned out to be my saving grace while picking garden peas! It’s just the right height, and my back doesn’t hurt when I sit in it, unlike the gardening stool.  You know what they say, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”

Ed and I spent a large portion of last week working on a landscaping project.  After the children gave me a windmill for Mother’s Day, I felt the need to incorporate it in a landscaping project.  Since we have chickens who free range in our yard, several hours a day, I’m limited as to what I can have.  I opted for several hanging baskets, instead of making a flower bed.  Lucky for me, I got into a “after Mother’s Day sale” on hanging baskets. I love a one-half off sale!  I was well pleased with my bargain plants and the end result of our project, as well.

P1010491Speaking of that “after Mother’s Day sale”, Ed and I made very good use of our Transit Connect van during that shopping trip!  We had the entire back end of the van filled with plants of all kinds, a couple of very tall shepherd’s hooks, three large bags of charcoal, also on sale, plus a few groceries, too.  Days like those are why we need a van!

Our oldest son, Brett, celebrated his 34th birthday on Tuesday, May 10.  Late on the evening of his birthday, after he got home from work, our daughter, our granddaughter, Ed, and I walked down to his house and knocked on the door.  When he opened it, we started singing “Happy Birthday” to him, like a bunch of carolers.  I’m not sure how much he enjoyed our singing, but we sure had fun doing it 🙂

P1010509the birthday boy with his little boys

This past weekend turned out to be a very busy time for the family. On Saturday,  there was a Sweet Onion Parade and festival, which some attended.  Then, on Saturday evening, our daughter-in-law hosted a belated birthday party for our oldest son.  There was also a Sweet Onion Gospel Sing, on Saturday evening, which our granddaughter participated in.  She sings with her church’s youth choir, known as “Tomorrow’s Voices”, and this was the first gospel sing she’d participated in.  Her mama said she did a good job.

P1010502 (2)Madison showing off the back of her choir t-shirt

On Sunday, things didn’t slow down much, either, since our oldest son was in charge of delivering both Sunday messages, in the absence of his church’s pastor. This mama says he did a good job, too!

Now that it’s Monday, I’ve been dividing my time between the garden and cleaning house–with a little blogging sandwiched in between.  It’s taken me all day to get this post written, but I’ve also picked and shelled a bowl of garden peas, in addition to picking a bunch of squash. I’ve mopped the kitchen and vacuumed the living room, and in a few minutes I’ll cook us something to eat, then off we’ll go to watch our little grandson, Chase’s end of the year pre-school program.  Life is busy, but it sure is good…except for one little glitch. When I tried to upload a couple of pictures to this post, blogger wouldn’t let me. I don’t have any idea why, and I’ve tried everything I know to do. So, until I figure things out, you’ll just have to use your imagination! Until next time…

PS I finally got lucky, and was able to get the pictures to upload 🙂

 

 

 

 

Published in: on May 16, 2016 at 5:09 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/may-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are certainly far ahead of me. I still have to clear my garden plot so i can plant my tomato, squash, & cuke seedlings. Glad to hear you’re feeling up to all the activity!

  2. You do sound busy! I like busy as long as I have a day here and there as a breather. Enjoy your garden!

  3. Glad you got the photos to post because I sure enjoyed seeing them! I love your windmill project! Very nice! I got tired just reading about all you did over the weekend! Whew!


Leave a Reply

