Resuming The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

After our brief hiatus, last week, we’re back with the Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Our gracious hostess, Joyce, has a brand new set of thought-provoking questions for us today.  Here they are, along with my answers:

1. Tell us about a time you found yourself ‘in the middle of nowhere’. Was this deliberate?

Ed and I haven’t found ourselves ‘in the middle of nowhere’, lately, but it usually happens whenever Ed decides to find a ‘short cut’, and no, it’s never deliberate, but always interesting.

2. What’s something you’re ‘in the middle of’ today or this week?

We’re in the middle of picking and canning vegetables, this week!  So far, we’ve harvested garden peas, potatoes, squash, and a few green beans.  If all goes well, we’ll finish out the week by picking and canning more green beans and squash, then we’ll have a short break  before anything else is ready to pick.

3. At what age do you think ‘middle age’ begins? What does it mean to be ‘middle aged’?

I think ‘middle age’ begins somewhere around age 45.  I think of life as being divided into four seasons.  Ages 1-20 ( the spring of life), ages 21-40 (the summer of life), ages 41-60 (the fall of life), and ages 61-80 ( the winter of life).  Anything after age 80, I consider  bonus life. (My parents died at ages 65 and 70.)

To me, ‘middle aged’ meant I was entering the final phases of child rearing–one was 21, the other two were 18, and 15.  It also meant it was time to get VERY serious about retirement planning!  (Ed kicked his retirement savings up a notch)  With the children getting older, ‘middle age’ also meant I finally had a little bit more time for myself, as well as more time to spend with Ed.  ‘Middle age’ also found me needing to have a hysterectomy, which ended my worry about birth control or having to deal with monthly feminine issues.  As a result of that hysterectomy, I lost 19 pounds, and felt better than I had in years!  ‘Middle age’ was actually pretty good for me!

4. Ravioli, stuffed peppers, samosas, deviled eggs, steamed dumplings, pierogis, or a jelly donut…your favorite food (from this list!) with something yummy in the middle. Your favorite not on the list?

Hands down, my favorite food on this list would be a jelly donut, but I like deviled eggs, too. (I’m not supposed to be eating either of these, but I love them.)  Something not on the  list?  I really like lemon filled donuts, too.  I know, I’m hopeless…

5. Albert Einstein is quoted as saying ”In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.’ Would you agree? Have you found this to be true in your own life? Feel free to elaborate.

Yes, I would agree.  Although I don’t usually realize it, at the time, I always learn more and grow stronger when I’m going through difficult times.  I always find strength I didn’t know I had! I quickly think of an experience I had with my parents almost 30 years ago–Both of my parents became seriously ill within a month of each other, and both had to be hospitalized in the city, at the same time, for an extended period of time. (four months, and daddy spent two of those four months in ICU)  At the time, I had three children, ages 3, 6, and 9, and I’d never driven in the city before.  I quickly learned how to drive in city traffic, and how to work the schedule with the children so I could go and see about my parents every day.  I’d put the oldest two children on the school bus at 7, then take the youngest one to my father-in-law’s house.  Then I’d drive 60 miles to the hospital (one way), visit each of my parents, who were in different parts of the hospital, then drive back home in time to meet the children when they got off the bus. Then I’d cook supper, do laundry, and get the children ready for the next day.  I did this every day for six weeks, without missing a day.  Did I mention two of my children also came down with chicken pox during those six weeks?  Did I mention, at one point, one of my parents was in ICU while the other was in CCU?  I also a new vehicle when my parents got sick, and I drove so much, I ran out the warranty within the first few months!  Tough times, for sure, but I survived, and so did my parents.

6. What’s a song you remember loving from your middle school years? Do you love it still?

Middle school was a l-o-n-g time ago, and, at first, I could hardly remember what songs were popular back then (mid 60’s).  I finally came up with”I Got You, Babe” by Sonny and Cher, and, yes, I still love it.

7. May 18th is National Visit Your Relatives Day. Will you celebrate? Which relative would you visit if time, distance, and expense were not considered.

We’ll most likely spend some time with our daughter and granddaughter, since we usually see them every day. (We’re neighbors)  If time, distance, or expense didn’t have to be considered, I’d visit my brother and sister-in-law.  We don’t get to see each other nearly enough.

Random:

Yesterday, the unthinkable happened.  About the time we were sitting down to eat lunch, a storm passed through our ‘neck of the woods’.  The wind swirled in all directions, and the rain fell in torrents.  Two inches of water fell within thirty minutes.  We even sprang another leak in our roof–directly over the kitchen table!  Luckily, we had a dish pan sitting close by.

When all was said and done,  we were left with a mess…  Our new landscaping project and our vegetable garden took a direct hit.

100_5876

The fallen limb missed everything except the garden flag!

100_5884

Unfortunately, our peach tree blew over (notice the tiny peaches)

100_5883

Our soggy garden, with plants tossed/turned every which way, and the corn lying flat

Of course, we’re thankful the damage wasn’t any worse than it is.  Fortunately, Ed was able to ditch most of the water out of the garden.  All plants are on raised beds, so they won’t drown.  Some of the plants have straightened themselves up, but we’ll have to wait and see what the corn does.  If we have to, we’ll replant it.  Thankfully, we’d just finished digging and gathering our new potatoes right before this storm hit, or these would’ve been stuck under all of that water!

100_5885

The good news is, we won’t have to drag the water hose or move the sprinkler for a few days 🙂

Published in: on May 18, 2016 at 7:21 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/resuming-the-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I added your link : ) What a storm! I’m glad your garden survived!

  2. Those potatoes look good! Sorry about the storm and the hole in your roof. Glad your garden didn’t get ruined. Your story about caring for your parents and still taking care of your own family is inspiring. God gives us the strength we need and you are an encouragement 🙂

  3. Do you think the storm was a tornado? It sure looks serious, but I had to laugh at the picture of you and Ed in the middle of dinner and all of a sudden, water coming down onto the table. Sorry! Glad it wasn’t worse.

  4. I can’t believe you are already pickling. Your guys are amazing. My mother died at 56 and my dad will be 93 in June. He is watching his great grandchildren grow up….isn’t that amazing!!! Number 5, OMG, it is amazing how we deal with those types of situations in our lives. So sorry about the damage you had. I couldn’t see two of you photos for some reason. Glad you are all okay.

  5. Your hodgepodge answers today are excellent and very inspiring. Lots of wisdom and endurance there. I’m so sorry about your roof. That is never fun. All those potatoes. Tell me, is it true that you plant a potato to grow a potato? How does that work?

  6. My family understands storms- our daughter’s new home was destroyed in a freak hail storm. 80% of her city was destroyed. They are still picking up the pieces. Hope your roof is fixed quickly. Have a great week.

  7. That’s a lot of potatoes! Glad they were saved!! I enjoyed your HP and am trying to catch up on blogs, here and there!


Leave a Reply

