A Simple Woman’s Daybook Post…

______________________________

For Today

Monday, July 4th, 2016

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window

It’s a hot and sunny day outside.  The weather is supposed to be quite warm all week.  Today’s high is predicted to be 96 degrees, and that’s the LOW for the week.  Thank the Lord for A/C.  Summer has officially arrived!

I am thinking

how quickly this year is flying by!  I can’t believe the month of July is already here.  I’m also thinking about our youngest son, whose birthday will be coming up in exactly one week!  If you ask me about my most memorable July 4th, without batting an eye, I’ll tell you it was the year I was pregnant with our son, Brad!  It was HOT and I was MISERABLE!  At that point, the baby was four days overdue, and weighed in excess of 10 pounds.

I am thankful

to be spending another July 4th with my husband, Ed!  Since Ed’s heart attack,  a little over 8 months ago, every day has been cherished and appreciated, because now I realize–we never know if today could be our last.  I’m also thankful for our family, as well as the little church we’ve been attending for the past three months.

One of my favorite things

is having a few chickens.  If you’re a regular reader, this should come as no surprise!  We currently have nine hens, who keep me on my toes and laughing, each day.  They give me a reason to get up and get moving each day, even when I really don’t want to.

P1010385

Well, now, just come right on in…

I am wearing

a comfortable, polyester knit sundress that has a handkerchief hem.  The dress I’m wearing is red and white, but I also have a blue and white one, too.  FYI: It’s not uncommon for me to buy multiples of a garment I like.

I am creating
a stockpile of food to last us through the long months ahead.  Lately, most of my time has been devoted to canning/freezing vegetables.

I am reading

the book, Random Memories, by [the former singing group]The Statler Brothers.  I’ve really enjoyed this book, written by the two actual brothers of the group, Harold and Don Reid.  Did you know they actually got their name “Statler Brothers” from a box of tissues?  Neither did I, until I read their book!

I am hoping

and praying, that, in time, some of the ‘issues’ our family has been dealing with can be eventually resolved.  Life is too short!

I am learning

to have a lot more patience than I used to.  I think it’s one of the benefits of getting older!

In my kitchen
I’m currently in the process of canning some tomatoes, this morning.  After lunch, we’ll be  boiling the first of Ed’s home-grown peanuts, in honor of “The Fourth” and our family cookout, this afternoon. We’ll be grilling hamburgers/hot dogs at our oldest son’s house.  I’m grateful not to have to host, this year.

In my garden

things are winding down.  The end of our gardening season is almost  here!  We still have some peanuts, a few tomatoes, and some peas/beans, but they won’t last much longer, especially with this heat.  I can’t say that I’ll be sad to see it all go.

100_5935

last week’s butter beans

Just a quick note:

I’ve missed my blogging friends (and St. Simon’s Island) very much.  I hope to get back into a more regular blogging routine (and visit St. Simon’s Island) in the days ahead.  I’m looking forward to “life after gardening”.

Shared Quote
“Struggles can be our greatest blessings” (Andrew McCutchen, of Pittsburgh Pirates)  I know he’s right, but, sometimes, it’s hard to realize in the midst of the struggle.

A moment from my day

Some flowers from the garden…(they’re fading fast)

100_5918

Closing Notes:

Wishing everyone a safe and happy Fourth of July.

As we celebrate our independence, today, Lord, help America to remember that “freedom isn’t free”.  God bless the men and women who’ve bravely fought, and/or will continue to fight to keep us free.

13533353_1047811931922848_8836437695071979695_n

______________________________

Thanks to Peggy Hostetler for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook Community.

Published in: on July 4, 2016 at 1:45 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/07/04/a-simple-womans-daybook-post-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have always loved the Statlers. Sounds like a good book! Glad your garden season is winding down so you can find some time to relax!

  2. The sight of “the girls” on your porch never fails to crack me up! You should visit Key West where lots of hens strut themselves on the streets. Hope your 4th was a happy one.

  3. Hello my friend….I don’t know if I blogged about it but a Raccoon got our chicks and recently got about half our fish…but he had to eat and feed his family so I try not to hate him too much…..love me some boiled peanuts…I bought a bag on my recent visit to Augusta.
    Mama Bear

  4. Your relationship with those beautiful chickens reminds me of overhearing a conversation my mother was having when I was elementary school age. She reminisced about when a couple of my aunts, my father’s sisters-in-law, got rid of my paternal grandmother’s chickens.

    “They were worried that she would get sick, going out to feed them and gather eggs in all kinds of weather,” she said. “But those chickens were dependent on her and they gave her a reason to get moving each day. She started dealing once they were gone.”

    I have enjoyed your chicken chronicles. And I’m so glad you have them to enjoy and that you have reason to rejoice that Ed is doing well and able to share the joyful things in life.

    My DIL wanted KFC on the beach for our town’s July 3 fireworks. Did your ears burn? I had to share the story of your KFC anniversary tradition!

    Stay cool!

  5. I really enjoyed reading this post and getting to know you a little better. Hope you make it to St. Simons soon.


Leave a Reply

