An Out Of This World Hodgepodge…

It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means… It’s Hodgepodge Time!

Many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for coming up with another ‘out of this world’ set of questions to exercise my aging brain 🙂  I really appreciate all that you do, Joyce!

Also, many thanks to the readers who faithfully stop by to visit  and read my blog.  I love and appreciate your visits and comments so much!

All that being said, here are today’s questions to The Hodgepodge, along with my answers:

1. Do you find yourself influencing your world, or is it more the other way around?

I do my best to control my own little world by trying to limit outside influences. Ed and I have never been much into the ‘social scene’, so we prefer to be at home, with each other, or family.  This is a lot easier now that we’re both retired!  I’ve never had a problem with being different, so I usually don’t get caught up in current fads, trends, or whatever, either.  A while back, I made the choice to limit how much media I read or watch, as well.  My mood is a lot better, now!

2. July 14th is National Tape Measure Day…the device was patented on this date in 1868. When did you last use a tape measure?

I used a tape measure, yesterday, to measure a fan.  We bought a new one, and I wanted to make sure it was the same size as our old one.

Do you always know where to find one in your house?

Yes, I always keep my tape measure in the sewing box.

Tell us one way in which you feel blessed ‘beyond measure’.

I figured out, a very long time ago, that I am blessed beyond measure to have Ed, in my life!  He’s truly one of a kind.

 3.The Plaza Hotel (Eloise), The Land of Oz (The Wizard of Oz), Narnia (The Chronicles of Narnia), The Hundred Acre Wood (Winnie the Pooh), Wonderland (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland), or Never Never Land (Peter Pan)…which storybook land (on this list!) would you most like to visit and why?

I’m a huge fan of Winnie the Pooh, so, of course, I’d most like to visit The Hundred Acre Wood.  I love the characters, and can identify with most of them.  I love “sweets” as much as Pooh loves honey!  Ed is somewhat like Tigger, usually bouncing around, full of energy,  and getting the job done.  Meanwhile, I’m moving around like Eyeore.

4. Where and when do you get your best ideas?

This question reminds me of the teacher I used to work for!  She always said she got her best ideas while in the shower!  I don’t know that I have a particular time or place for getting good ideas… Perhaps when it’s quiet.  Maybe at night, in bed, when I should be sleeping?

5. So what have you been watching on TV this summer? Anything good?

Ed and I have been watching a lot of Dateline reruns and the new season of Big Brother.  So far, Big Brother has been pretty good.  I like the twists and turns they’ve added this season.

6. ‘Don’t swim for an hour after you eat’, ‘Dog days of summer’, ‘Knee high by the Fourth of July’…choose a summer saying from the list or share one of your own, then tell us what image or memory comes to mind when you hear it spoken.

‘Dog days of summer’ conjures up an image of hot, sweltering days with lots of gnats and mosquitoes–sort of like it is now!   It also brings back the memory of a fund-raising event I once chaired for our local animal shelter, called “The Dog Days of Summer Festival”, which took place during the ‘dog days of summer’.

7. In a single sentence, sum up one life lesson you’ve learned.

At some point, your life will change, drastically, in the blink of an eye.

Random:

Praise the Lord!  Yesterday, I woke up feeling better than I have in over a week!  This could be attributed to finally getting back on my arthritis medication, or it could be attributed to the fact that  there are no vegetables waiting to be canned!

Anyway, a great opportunity is a terrible thing to waste, so Ed and I quickly threw our beach chairs and our cooler in the car, and headed for St. Simon’s Island!  The weather was ‘picture perfect’ (95 degrees, but with a nice sea breeze) and we spent several hours lounging under the shade our favorite oak tree.  Finally!  We feel like our summer has officially begun 🙂

Published in: on July 13, 2016 at 8:16 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/07/13/an-out-of-this-world-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whoohoo! Two weeks in a row with the link showing up : ) I’m so glad you got your beach day! I prescribe less news for everyone…we’d all be a lot happier!

  2. Ahhh. So sweet to sit under a shade and enjoy the breeze. I too learned a long time ago how life can change in an instant. Life is precious and I also have a guy who is one of a kind. So blessed, aren’t we? Love your answer to number three.

  3. Yay, you finally made it to St Simon’s Island. A better late official start to the summer than none at all. I’ve only been to the beach once, myself, which is probably an all time lifetime latest start for me.

  4. There was a glitch when I first tried to comment. I hope this one goes through okay.

    I’m moving a bit like Eeyore these days myself. David has always been my Tigger. 🙂

    #7…That’s the truth! One night you go to bed and everything appears to be fine. The next morning you wake up and all isn’t right and there’s an ambulance in the yard.

    I’m glad you are feeling better and that you were able to go out and have some fun!

    Have a blessed day. 🙂

  5. love the way you discipline yourself to your own corner of the world. Sometimes I wish that was me and mine as well. The problem is that we are so far out there that if we don’t stand for something we will fall for anything
    come see us at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  6. I am so glad to read that you are feeling better. Arthritis is not necessarily our good friend, is it, but am glad you are able to get some relief with your meds. Your day in the sun/shade at St Simon’s sounds wonderful. It is so terribly hot and humid here.

  7. Your answer to number 3 is funny. My wife identifies with Eeyore and I identify with Tigger as well. Too funny.

  8. Seems like a lot of people have been using their tape measure. I haven’t missed a season of Big Brother yet. My favorite show. So far I am really liking it so far! Hooray for getting to St. Simon’s Island……

  9. Yay! Finally, someone else who wants to visit Winnie the Pooh!

  10. Enjoyed reading yur answers. The day out at the beach sounds good.

  11. Your day under the oak sounds lovely! Glad all the canning is done! What a great feeling that must be. Have a great rest of the week!

  12. Glad your medicine is helping you feel better. St. Simon’s Island looks beautiful!

  13. I am so happy to hear you are finally feeling better and that the canning is done!! One of these days, Joe and I are going to join you under that tree on St. SImon’s Island!! I enjoyed your HP answers!

  14. Glad you had a good St. Simon experience. I got a good laugh out of Ed as Tigger and your shared love of sweet stuff with Pooh, and moving around like Eyeore. I’m moving like him, too.

  15. You’re so lucky to be near the island…..#1 sounds just like me…I rarely turn on the television…I do watch some shows on Netflix, Amazon, or Acorn….no ads…I’m afraid I”m not very up on the latest political scene either…and I’ve never been one to wear the latest fashion…it too me years to finally wear cropped pants and I like mine to end just below the knee.
    have a blessed day,
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

