Collecting With The Hodgepodge…

The theme of today’s Hodgepodge is sort of about “collecting”, which is right up my alley!  I wasn’t able to collect things as a child, but I’ve more than made up for it as an adult.  In fact, I confess, things may have gotten a bit out of control over the years…  That being said, let me take a break from dusting these “collectibles”, and answer today’s questions.  Before I do, though, I must say “thank you” to our wonderful hostess, Joyce, for all she does!

1. Pokemon Go…your thoughts? Are you playing? Do you even know what it is?

Yes, I do know a bit about what Pokemon Go is–it’s an interactive game for mobile devices.  My thoughts about Pokemon Go are these: people already spend way too much time on mobile/electronic devices.  We don’t need to encourage them to spend even more time there.  The other day, while I was relaxing on beautiful St. Simon’s Island, I noticed many people had their faces in their phones– some, even while riding bicycles or swinging their children!  I thought, this is so sad… You’re surrounded by all of this beauty (including your child), and you have your face in a phone!  And, no I won’t be playing Pokemon Go!

2. What was something you collected as a child?   Do you still have that collection?Sadly, I didn’t collect anything as a child (there wasn’t much money).  However, as a teenager, I began a record collection, which I still have [most of] today.   If you’re a parent what’s something your own children collected?  Our oldest son collected NBA basketball cards.  I can’t remember the others collecting anything special.

Have you ever camped out, stood in a crazy long queue, or paid a ridiculous sum for a ‘collectible’?  Yes, I’m afraid I’ll have to plead guilty for paying a ridiculous sum for collectibles. One of the most memorable is a hand- painted Coca Cola toilet seat, which now hangs on the wall in our bathroom!  Nobody’s bottom will ever touch that toilet seat during my life time!

100_0699a

I also have an extensive doll collection.  I’m too embarrassed to tell you how much some of my dolls cost, but many of them cost a lot more than that toilet seat.

3. “Collect moments, not things”…tell us about a moment you’ve added to your collection this summer.

This has been a somewhat difficult summer for us, due to some family problems, but at the same time, it’s had its share of “collectible moments”, too…watching the grandsons playing together under the water sprinkler (old-fashioned fun)…attending a July 4th fireworks show (after years of not doing so)…watching our sons playing baseball with their sons–right up until both plastic baseballs broke in half (funny)…and receiving a ‘mystery’ package in the mail, from Colonel Sanders Avenue! (see random)

I ashamed to admit it, but I have a collection of various “stuff” sitting all over our pool room.  Some of the stuff I want to keep, but have no room for.  There’s also pet food that shouldn’t be stored outside during the heat of summer.  Then, there is the food that we recently canned, but have no other place to store, at this time.  Eventually, I’ll get around to doing something about all of this, but not today!

5. A favorite song relating to time?

Time in a Bottle by Jim Croce.  The poignant video footage, below, was taken of Jim and his family, shortly before his death in a plane crash (in 1973).  It’s sad how prophetic this song turned out to be.

6. What’s been your most frightening or your most interesting encounter with wildlife?

Many years ago, a couple of foxes used to come and eat the left-over table scraps we put out at the edge of the woods near our house.  One day, we opened the door, and there was one of those foxes, underneath our carport!  The poor fox was clearly sick, but we didn’t know if he had rabies, had been poisoned, or what.  Finally, Ed had no choice but to put it out of its misery.  It was sad, but a bit scary, too.  In the end, we pretty much decided the poor fox was probably the victim of a poultry farmer’s poison.  We live in an area with several poultry farmers, and they’ve pretty much wiped out most chicken predators, over the years.

7. On July 20, 1969 Apollo 11 Commander Neil Armstrong set his foot down on the moon. If you could travel to the moon would you go? Why or why not?

No, I wouldn’t go.  As most of you know, I’m not much of a traveler–especially that far!

Random:

For any readers who may not know,  Ed and I have celebrated every one of our 44 wedding anniversaries at KFC, beginning on our wedding night, when we were given our meal for free by the manager, after he realized we were newlyweds.

This year, our son, Brad, decided to share our story with the nice folks of KFC.  He sent them a message via their Facebook page, and they, in turn, asked for our address.

Last week, Ed and I received a surprise package in the mail–from Colonel Sanders Lane–in Kentucky!  At first Ed and I were quite skeptical, but, boy, were we surprised when we finally opened the box!!!

100_5965

celebrating 44 years (with the Colonel) 

The box contained a gift basket/bucket along with a personal letter, signed by the late Colonel, himself 🙂  The letter was actually my favorite item, but the bucket contained several useful gifts (two red beverage cups, two white chef’s aprons, two gift cards, and much more). There was two of everything, except for the little red Louisville Slugger bat, which Ed said they sent for him “to keep me straight with.” 🙂

The letter in the bucket read as follows:

Howdy Ed and Kathy,

I always considered love to be like a bucket of chicken, you’re all snuggled together in a striped container.  No wait, I think love is more like a freshly made biscuit, soft and comforting and goes great with honey.  Actually, now that I think about it, love is like coleslaw: there’s little bits of lots of stuff all chopped together.  No, no, no.  Mashed potatoes.  Mashed potatoes and gravy.  Love is like mashed potatoes and gravy.  That’s it.  That’s love. Nailed it.

In truth, one can never compare love to anything on my menu.  That’s a fact.  What you two have had over the last 44 years can never be put up against anything on this earth.   The memories you’ve shared, the life you’ve built, all the beautiful successes and the tough failures, helping the other when one of you were down, being helped when you were down, raising a loving son, who looks at his parents as a shining example of what two people can do in this world together.  I don’t serve anything that amazing.

Congratulations on your anniversary, and thank you for letting me be a part of it.  Please share your future anniversary photos with me on Facebook, as it warms my heart, not unlike the warmth of one of my biscuits.  There.  Now that’s something I can compare to a food item.

Yours truly,

Col. Sanders

 

 

Published in: on July 20, 2016 at 8:07 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/07/20/collecting-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL! What a great anniversary story! Congratulations on 44 years!

  2. What a lovely gesture on your anniversary!

  3. That letter from Colonel Sanders is so great! Good job KFC in sending that along with a few little gifts. The Coca-Cola seat cracked me up 🙂

  4. Oh, I love, love, love your random. What a precious memory and how thoughtful of your son and KFC. Happy Anniversary.

  5. Love your summer moments! And that KFC gift! I do enjoy KFC. Don’t get me started on people not paying attention to their kids because said parents can’t take their faces away from those blasted phones. UGH.

  6. It is very sad, like you said, we don’t need another reason for people to be glued to their phones. Great song!!! That is so awesome about the letter and the gift from KFC.

  7. That is just SO awesome about Col. Sanders and KFC doing such a great thing for you and Ed. I’m still smiling!! We chose the same song for #5. Your story about the fox made me kind of sad. I love the Coca Cola toilet seat! What a great wall hanging for the bathroom!

  8. What a great story!! I love that! I like when a business goes the extra mile to do something nice!

  9. That’s a great anniversary surprise. Good song choice. I love visiting other Hodgepodgers and finding out more about them. The toilet seat was a surprise 🙂

  10. I am so with you on traveling to the moon. Since I like day trips and don’t take many over nighters I have a feeling the moon would be too far
    come see us at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  11. Way cool gift from KFC. We really don’t have a tradition. We just “wing” it.

  12. Happy 44 years together! I love KFC and think the Colonel was pretty cool. 🙂 That was a great gift for them to send to you. I wouldn’t let anyone sit on that toilet seat either.

    David’s mother has an extensive doll collection, too. She has collected them for as long as I can remember and before that, too. She has them in china cabinets, on regular people beds, and some of them even have beds of their very own. It is an awesome collection. We collect dolls, too, but don’t have anywhere near as many as she does. One of my favorites of our dolls is a little baby boy doll, but my absolute favorite is our Kissy doll. She is a great model for my knitting. 🙂

    What is your favorite of all your dolls?

    Have a blessed day. 🙂

  13. What a thoughtful son and a really special, personal letter. It captured lives definitely not lived solely focused on the screen of a phone or other electronics device.

  14. Loved your story about the Colonial.
    Mama Bear

  15. Congratulations on your 44 years of marital bliss. That was a great surprise from the Colonel. Here’s to many more years together. May God continue to bless you both.


Leave a Reply

