Rolling With The Hodgepodge…

 

Summer is rolling right along, and so is The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  If you’d like to join in the fun, just click the button at the top of this post.  As always, I’d like to shout out a big thank you to our hostess, Joyce, who keeps things rolling smoothly for all of us.

1. On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your summer so far? Why?
(1=eh and 10=best summer ever)

Well, it hasn’t been the best summer ever, but it hasn’t been the worst summer either, because that would’ve probably been last summer when I suffered with sciatica all summer!  No, scratch that, the worst summer, ever, was the summer of 2010, when our [now] daughter-in-law, Jennifer, discovered she had cancer, then lost her mother, unexpectedly, just a few weeks later–on the morning our family was all scheduled to go on vacation together!  That was a bad summer! 

I’ll rate this summer a 7, because even though we’ve encountered a few ‘bumps in the road’, we’ve still had lots of enjoyable moments, nobody’s had serious health issues, and nobody in the family has died!  There’s a lot to be thankful for 🙂

2. July 26th is National Aunts and Uncles Day. Did you have many aunts and uncles growing up? Were you especially close to any one or maybe all of them? Are you an aunt? (or uncle for the men who join here on Wednesdays) Share a favorite memory relating to one of your own aunts or uncles or relating to a niece or nephew who call you Aunt (or Uncle).

Okay, are you ready for this?  Follow closely.  My daddy’s brother married Ed’s mama’s sister–so Ed and I have always had an aunt and uncle in common, as well as two first cousins (their children). The family lived in St. Petersburg, Florida, so we only saw them once a year, during the summer.  The oldest of those mutual first cousins, Susan, who was just a year older than me, is the one who set Ed and me up on our first date, while she was visiting one summer!  The rest is history.  Three years later, we got married on Susan’s birthday (June 18), and our mutual aunt and uncle helped with our rehearsal dinner!

3. What’s your favorite food dipped in chocolate? What’s your favorite food dipped in cheese?

My favorite food dipped in chocolate would be peanuts or raisins.  I don’t have a favorite food that’s dipped in cheese.

4. When were you last astonished by something? Explain.

I was last astonished when Ed and I received a mystery package in the mail, from 1600 Colonel Sanders Lane!

100_5960

If you visited my Hodgepodge, last week, then you know that package contained a nice gift basket from Kentucky Fried Chicken.  What a pleasant surprise!

 

5. Surf board, paddle board, ironing board, Pinterest board, score board, clip board, bulletin board…which board have you most recently encountered?

Sadly, I last encountered my ironing board–something I don’t enjoy doing!

6. What’s your favorite story from scripture? Why that story?

I’m going to say The Parable of the Good Samaritan because I recently heard a very good sermon using that parable!  The pastor took the parable in an entirely different direction than I’ve ever thought about before.  It was an awesome message, and it made me look at myself in a different light.

7. If you were to travel from the east coast to the west coast in your own country, which five cities would you most want to see?

That’s a very good question!  I’m not much of a traveler, but I think I’d like to visit Miami, Florida,  revisit Nashville, Tennessee, maybe visit Denver, Colorado, Los Angeles, California, and, perhaps, Seattle, Washington.  How’s that for variety?

Random:

I shared a picture, yesterday, but I wanted to share another, for those who may have missed it. Here’s a picture of Ed with the 42 pound watermelon that he grew:

100_5992

We cut the watermelon, yesterday, and it was pretty good!  We may be eating melon for quite a while, though.

Published in: on July 27, 2016 at 6:48 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/rolling-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’re on a roll with the link up : ) The KFC story is a good one. I’m so glad you’re having a better summer health wise this year. Have a great day!

  2. I loved the story about KFC and your anniversary and that’s cool about your aunt. I too encountered an ironing board last week which is a rare thing for me. Our pastor has also taught the Parable of the Good Samaritan in a different light and since then, I have read other commentaries along the same lines. The Bible is so rich and deep, we will never plumb the depths.

    That’s some watermelon.

  3. I’ve been hankering for watermelon, and I think that big watermelon would hit the spot! Yum!

  4. Oh my goodness what a lot of watermelon! You’ll have to invite friends round to help you out lol. Enjoyed your hodgepodge, we had a couple of answers in common.

  5. I don’t encounter the ironing board, unless I am hemming something. I don’t buy clothes that need to be ironed.

  6. I had out of town guests and never got a chance to see last week’s Hodgepodge. Love the KFC acknowledgement of your faithfulness.

  7. WOW! 42 pounds….I don;t think I could lift a melon that large…Imagine the fruit bowl that melon would make!
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

  8. Yes that gift basket from KFC was so awesome! I still iron all the time. Wow, that is one large watermelon……

  9. I only know one person who claims to not mind ironing. I think he’s lying. Ha! I could eat watermelon every day of my life!

  10. That watermelon is HUGE! Glad to hear it is also tasty. This was yet another fun Hodgepodge and I enjoyed your answers.

  11. What a great family story of sharing an aunt and uncle! My husband and I found out after we were dating for quite a while that my great aunt was friends with his mother and my now mother-in-law remembers my mom as a baby! They came from the same neighborhood which they both moved away from years ago. I love stories like that. That is some watermelon! Wish I could have some, love watermelon!

  12. Great watermelon! I’m with you and Ed on the convention coverage. With all the documented instances of Hillary lying to us, why would anybody believe anything that she says. I’m not a fan of Trump either for different reasons. It is disconcerting that one of them is going to be president. God help us all! Enjoy your week.

  13. I am so sorry for your daughter-in-law’s health issues and the loss of her mama. These things are hard enough to face one at a time, but so many at once. That is hard. 2010 is the summer that the tumors were found in me, too, but thankfully, mine were not cancerous. They did cause a life threatening situation. I almost died from severe anemia. Thankfully, Heavenly Father brought me through it. I am so glad that He brought your DIL through it, too. How is she now?

    I would love to hear about your pastor’s take on the Good Samaritan. I would love to hear about what it said to you. I hope you’ll make a post on the experience (and if you have already, please direct me to it).

    Wow, that watermelon is huge! I am glad that you’re enjoying it. How did he get it to grow to be so heavy?

    Have a blessed day!


Leave a Reply

