A Medal Worthy Hodgepodge…

It’s back…After taking a week off, The Wednesday Hodgepodge has returned!  Many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for providing the thought-provoking questions, and a place to link up!  I think she deserves a medal!

1. Are you watching the Olympics? Your favorite summer Olympic event?  I read recently a list of the most iconic Olympic moments in history…what stands out in your mind as a great moment from some past summer Olympic games?

No, I haven’t watched any of the Olympics, this year, but, whenever I do watch,  my favorite summer Olympic event is always gymnastics or swimming.

Mark Spitz winning his seven gold medals, along with Nadia Comaneci and Mary Lou Retton’s gymnastic feats, stand out in my mind.

2. Have you ever been to Rio? How about the place that started it all-Greece? Have you ever been to any of the Olympic Games in person? Is that something you’d like to do? Have you ever met an Olympian in person?

I’m afraid I’ll have to answer “No” to all of the above questions.

3. The ball’s in their court (tennis), cross the finish line (track and field), on target (archery), make a splash (diving), on a roll (gymnastics), out of one’s depth (swimming)…which Olympic-related idiom best applies to your life right now? Explain.

“The ball’s in their court”.  Family problems, for three months and counting.  Enough said.

4. What have you earned a ‘gold medal’ in recently?

I’ve managed to keep all of my hanging baskets of flowers alive, all summer long.  That’s quite a feat for me, considering I’ve never had much of a green thumb.  I even “rescued” several dying plants from a Walmart, and they’re doing great, now.

5. What is it (or who is it) that motivates you to eat right, exercise, and do what you can to be healthy?

I want Ed and I to live as long and be as healthy as we can.  That’s my motivation. I can handle the “eating right” part okay, but I’ve never been big on exercise.  I walk for exercise, whenever I feel like it, which is sporadic, at best.

6. Are you young at heart or an old soul? Explain.

I’ve been an ‘old soul’ all of my life.  I don’t know why, but I’ve always felt older than my years.  As a result of that, I feel like I have more in common with someone who’s older than me, than someone who’s my own age.  For instance, I felt a strong bond with a couple of the “eighty-something” ladies at the church we recently left.

7. It’s National S’mores Day (August 10th)…are you a fan? Will you celebrate with a s’more today?

Yes, I am a fan of S’mores, but I won’t celebrate with a S’more, today, because, unfortunately I don’t think I have any chocolate.

Random:  Yesterday morning, Ed discovered the strangest thing.  Something had stolen one of the watermelons out of our garden, rolled it several yards away, even crossing a small ditch!  The watermelon ended up in the middle of our nearby dirt road!  The melon was covered all over with bite and claw marks.  Our guess is a pesky raccoon must have tried to steal himself a melon, but didn’t quite get to finish the job!

100_5996

Published in: on August 10, 2016 at 7:00 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/a-medal-worthy-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so sorry for your family turmoil. I know that is hard on a mama’s heart. I will be praying you find resolution and peace. Take care.

  2. I hope the family problems are resolved soon. It seems more difficult as time goes by to resolve them, but pray the hearts are softened and there is a breakthrough. Many of my potted plants have dried up and nothing is as colorful as it was earlier. The watermelon is very strange. Poor creature had to give up.

  3. Pesky raccoons! Hopefully since it couldn’t eat this one it will leave any others in your garden alone.

  4. Ha! That was one ambitious raccoon! They are quite interesting critters, for sure. One year we had a little kiddie pool near our garden. In the morning we saw little paw prints in the sand that the raccoons had dragged into it on their paws as they went there to wash the corn before eating it. And of course, they only eat about a bite of each ear, then go on to the next one. Grrrr.

  5. That had to be a BIG raccoon to be able to handle that melon! Wow! I enjoyed your answers and also mentioned Mary Lou Retton in my post today!

  6. That watermelon rolling varmint would have been fun to watch! Ugh about the family issues. Hope there is some resolution. Have a good week.

  7. I award that raccoon a gold medal for effort!

  8. I’ve always felt that I was an old soul too. Sorry about those darn family problems. Good reasons for staying healthy and a gold metal for those plants is hard earned without that green thumb. I know this from experience. 🙂

  9. Those could have been my answers about the Olympics. When they were in Atlanta and we were living in Chattanooga, I applied for tickets to some of the events but was turned down…it was the Equestrian and something else…..I don’t remember the reason, now. When we were in Augusta, our son built a fire in the pit and the rest of the family had s’mores. I had a piece of chocolate but was content to hold the baby while everyone else roasted marshmallows. I like the marshmallows and the chocolate but not the combination.
    I bought some flowers that had survived a storm at Kroger and were marked way down, they’re still thriving.

    Mama Bear

  10. Wish I’d seen the watermelon rolling raccoon! So funny to think about how far he got with it.
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA


Leave a Reply

