Wednesday Hodgepodge #277…

 

What a week this has turned out to be!  I’ve spent most of it, so far, stretched out on the bed or on the couch. Why you ask?  Back problems again!  I bent over, on Saturday morning, and that’s all it took.  I’ve been moving like a very old, very bent over person, since then.  Again, I ask, “What else is going to happen this summer?”  Thank goodness for The Wednesday Hodgepodge, to take my mind off of things!  I’m so grateful to our hostess, Joyce, for keeping the Hodgepodge going.   Two hundred, seventy-seven sets of questions is no easy feat!  Speaking of questions, here they are:

1. I read here four creative activities to try this month. They were-calligraphy, make your own cookbook, dance or learn a new type of dance, and letter writing. Which activity on the list appeals to you most? Will you add it to your August?

Making my own cookbook appeals to me more than the other activities, but, no, I won’t be adding that to my August list of activities.  I couldn’t sit long enough to do that, even if I wanted to.

2. Bertrand Russell is quoted as saying, ‘To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.’ Agree or disagree? Explain.

I’m going to agree.  I think if we had everything we desire, we wouldn’t have anything to look forward to, which would probably cause us to be less happy.  At least that’s how I feel.

3. August 17th is National Thriftshop Day…are you a ‘thrifter’? If so, tell us about one of your best or favorite finds.

I like to visit thrift shops, but I’m not a ‘die hard’ fan who spends hours there.  I won’t spend a lot of time digging and searching for bargains like some folks do, but if I spot a bargain, I’ll buy it. One of my favorite finds was a large, ‘talking’ rocking horse we bought for the grandchildren, while visiting a Goodwill Store, one summer, near Amelia Island.

4. On a scale of 1-10 (with 1= almost none and 10=loads) how would you rate your sense of wanderlust? What kicks your wanderlust into high gear?

My sense of wanderlust is probably about a 2.  I enjoy seeing new places, I just don’t enjoy the trip to get there.

5. Has life felt more like a marathon or sprint so far this month? How so?

This month, life has felt like a marathon.  There’s been a lot turmoil and strife in our lives, and now that’s been complicated by more health issues, as well.  I keep telling myself, this, too, shall pass… and I know it will, eventually.

6. What do you need to get a jump on before fall officially arrives?

I just need for my back to get better so I can put out all of my fall decorations, next month.  I usually decorate inside and outside.

7. What’s the last thing you did with friends or family where you lost track of time?

I’ll say sitting around the fire pit, with family, talking and watching the fire burn.  It’s been quite a while since we’ve done that, and I’ve missed it.

Random:

A picture of me, relaxing and feeding the birds on St. Simon’s Island, last week.  The birds enjoyed sharing my popcorn.  I, in turn, enjoyed feeding it to them!  The little fellow on the arm of my chair would eat out of my hand!

100_6011

 

Published in: on August 17, 2016 at 9:01 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/wednesday-hodgepodge-277/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yeah for St Simon’s Island, and t he hungry birds. Animal l over,t hat I am, birds are one species I don’t like to get too close to. I seriously think it dates back to having seen Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds”.

    I hope your back improves so you can enjoy the end of summer if it ever cools off in your neck of the woods.

  2. I got you linked! It was a good run : ) So sorry for your back issues and family strife too. I will be praying for restoration there. Take care.

  3. I am sorry to hear about your back problems. Take it easy and don’t worry about those decorations. It’s still August. I’m not that crazy about taking trips, but from what I’ve seen, St. Simon’s looks very relaxing.

  4. Your chair looks quite comfy there with your bird friends on St. Simon’s Island! I enjoyed your HP answers!! Sure hope your back pain tames down and you feel better soon!

  5. Love that picture. You look so relaxed. Hope your back gets better soon.


Leave a Reply

