A Simple Woman’s Day Book…

For Today

August 22, 2016

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…

I see large brown patches of dying grass.  We could really use some more rain and cooler temperatures!  In the meantime, at least Ed’s not having to mow the grass nearly as often.  It looks like today is shaping up to be another hot, sunny day.  We’ve had a lot of those, this summer!

I am thinking…

how much I’d like to be able to do all of my own housework!  It’s horrible having to depend on someone else to do the things I’m not able to do, right now.  Ed’s great, and never complains, but I feel somewhat useless.  I do what I can, that doesn’t involve vacuuming, sweeping, bending, or lifting anything heavy.

I am thankful…

for the thoughtful people in my life.  Our sons and their families came over for a visit, on Saturday evening, and they brought supper with them.  After having been a shut in all week, the food and fellowship was much appreciated!  My favorite moment of the evening was seeing little Evan dragging his own high chair into the kitchen.  He was letting us know he was ready to eat!

One of my favorite things…

is sitting on the little deck outside of my bedroom door, watching the birds at the bird feeder, while rocking in my new chair.  It’s very relaxing out there, and the view of the woods gives me the illusion of being somewhere in the mountains.

I am wearing…

my nightgown.  I haven’t bothered getting dressed, yet.  One of the advantages of living in the country–I can wander around the yard in my nightgown, which I chose to do today.

I am creating…
something new out of something old.  Ed and I are taking turns painting another garden statue.  This statue is a girl who matches the boy we recently finished.

100_6022

our work in progress

I am reading…

almost finished reading The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.  I’ve enjoyed the book, but, at times, it made me sad. Especially after Corrie and her family were imprisoned for hiding Jews.

I am watching… 

The Best of the Statler Brothers TV Shows on dvd (an early birthday gift to myself).  I’m still amazed at the talent of these four men!  They wrote all of the material for their shows, as well as most of the songs they sing.

I am listening to…

We are still making our way through the audio version of the Bible that our oldest son gave us.  We’re almost finished with II Chronicles.

I am hoping…

and praying these back issues will resolve themselves on their own.  If not, it’s back to the neurosurgeon for God knows what.  It’s only been 11 months since my previous back surgery.  I’m not ready to go back.

I am learning…

to have more patience.  If there’s one thing I’m learning about this season of life I’m in, it’s that you must have plenty of patience.

In my kitchen…

Ed and I made two batches of grape jelly, last week.  It’s the first time we’ve ever had enough grapes [on our vines] to make jelly with.  It was a joint effort, and it turned out well.

100_5902

In the school room…

Here’s our oldest grandson, Caden, on his first day of 2nd grade home school, last week.  Granddaughter, Madison, will start home school today, I think.

14064262_10153637699421428_4834371196710821313_n (1) Caden

photo borrowed from Caden’s mom’s FB page

In my garden…

grass and weeds have been running rampant.  Nobody’s been out there with a hoe in quite a while, since Ed’s been helping me with housework and rewiring the chicken coop. (Actually, I think Ed may be out there, now, as I write)  Oh, there are also a few peas growing out there, too, along with the last of my zinnias and some sweet potatoes!  We have some lettuce and cabbage seedlings planted in cups, to be transplanted, later, but that’s it.

Post Script…

There’s not much going on here, these days.  I’ve spent the past few days moving from the couch to the chair to the bed, trying to get comfortable.  I’m beginning to feel a little better, and even walked a short distance [outside] yesterday evening and this morning. The soreness in  my back is better, but I’m still walking weird, especially after sitting for a while.  I’m also concerned about the numbness in my left leg, a sign of nerve involvement.

Shared Quote
“Have no fear for what tomorrow may bring.  The same loving God who cares for you today, will take care of you tomorrow and every day.  God will either shield you from suffering or give you unfailing strength to bear it.  Be at peace then, and put aside all anxious thoughts and imaginations.”  St. Frances De Sales

A moment from my day…

100_6024

This hibiscus is one of my “plant rescues” from Wal-mart.  I found it among their reduced/discarded plants.  It’s grown tremendously, since we brought it home, and has had some of the most beautiful blossoms (the picture doesn’t do it justice) I’ve ever seen.  I think it might like its new home 🙂

 

Closing Notes:
We have no real plans for the week.  As soon as I’m feeling up to it, we need to make a shopping trip to pick up a few pet supplies.  Our cats, chickens, and fish will not be happy with us if they run out of food.

However, there will be a joint family birthday celebration [for Jennifer and me], at the end of the week.  I sure hope I feel a little more like celebrating by then!

Enjoy your week!

Thanks to Peggy Hostetler for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook!

Published in: on August 22, 2016 at 10:05 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/08/22/a-simple-womans-day-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, my I designated hubs to do the vacuuming right after he reitre… all the bending down and stirred air was aggravating my sinuses to no end… and he likes to, anyway! You have a blessed week!

  2. I got such a nice bucolic image of Ed out there hoeing the garden so I hope he was actually out there since you said “I think.” He just can’t sit still, can he? What a treasure you have in him.
    Walmart rescues,.I love them! Most of the perennials that have flourished in my garden, year after year, started out as Walmart rescues. The ones my local Walmart had this year were in exceptionally good health so I loaded up.

  3. My sciatica (my diagnosis) issue has resolved itself. Ice packs and steady Tylenol have done the trick for me. My left leg was also feeling numb if I stood too long and walking was miserable. Hope yours continues to get better on its own!! Your flower is beautiful! I love the quote you shared! Amen!

  4. Prayers for your back issues!


Leave a Reply

