Ending August With A Birthday & A Hodgepodge…

What better way to end the month of August than with another Wednesday Hodgepodge?!  As always, I’m grateful to our hostess, Joyce, and all that she does to keep The Hodgepodge running smoothly, week after week.

Here are this week’s questions:

1. Are there any men or women in blue on your family tree?

Yes, I have one first cousin who’s a retired police chief, and twin second cousins who also work in law enforcement.  One of the twins is the police chief of our town.  The twins are nephews of the first cousin who’s retired.

2. Are you someone who suffers from the Sunday night blues? What helps you get over it?

I don’t think I’ve suffered from the Sunday night blues since I graduated from high school.  As an adult, I loved both of my jobs, and never really minded going to work, most of the time. If I ever did get a serious case of “the blues”, I’d take a sick day.

3. I read the color blue is an appetite suppressant since there are very few naturally blue foods out there. How do you feel about blue cheese? Love it or blech? If you’re a fan, what’s something you like that’s made with blue cheese?

I’m not a fan of blue cheese, but I do like blue jello and blue Popsicles!

4. We can’t head in to the Labor Day weekend without a related question, can we? Complete this thought:

I work best when I’m not being rushed.  I don’t work well under pressure.  Never have, never will.

5. ‘Everything yields to diligence.’ Antiphanes Your thoughts? (on this particular quote or on diligence in general)

I agree with the quote.  If you stick with a task, eventually you’ll complete it, no matter how long it may take.  Our oldest son is a great example of this.  It took him sixteen years to do it, but he finally earned his college degree.  We couldn’t be prouder!

6. The National Park Service turned 100 years old on August 25th. Have you been to many of America’s National Parks? If so share with us a favorite or two. Which National Park would you most like to visit before the next birthday rolls around?

No, I haven’t been to many of America’s National Parks, but we’ve been to several Georgia State Parks.  We live near several National Park sites we really should visit.  #1 – Cumberland Island (St. Marys, GA), #2- Ft. Pulaski (Savannah, GA), #3- Ocmulgee (Macon, GA)  Of those listed, I’d most like to visit Cumberland Island.

hero_cumberland_island

wild horses of Cumberland Island – photo via Google

7. Bid farewell to August in seven words or less.

Good riddance!  Your weather’s made life miserable!!!

Random:

After two weeks, my back is finally feeling better.  Praise the Lord!  It’s not ‘normal’, but so much better!

Yesterday, Ed and I were able to hit the road, early, headed for St. Simon’s Island, to celebrate my 62nd birthday.  There was a 50% chance of rain in the forecast, but all I prayed for was two good hours under our favorite tree.  God gave me three and a half hours before the clouds blew in.

100_6055

photo taken as we were leaving

By then, I was almost ready to leave anyway, so I didn’t mind.  We finished the day by doing a little shopping, then having supper on the way home.  I had a nice time, and it was a very good day.

Although I had already celebrated my birthday, this past weekend with family, they still took time out of their busy weekday schedules to come over and wish me happy birthday,again, after Ed and I got home from St. Simon’s Island, on Tuesday night.  It was a wonderful birthday, and I feel very loved.

100_6037
Friday night’s joint birthday celebration with DIL, Jennifer

100_6050

 on my actual birthday (on St. Simon’s Island)

Published in: on August 31, 2016 at 8:59 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/08/31/ending-august-with-a-birthday-a-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy, Happy Birthday! Mine was on the 13th! I’ve never visited Cumberland Island, but it sure looks like my kind of place.

  2. You can never celebrate your birthday too many times! Glad you had multiple celebrations. You look great. You wear 62 well!

  3. Happy Birthday! We had several celebrations for my mil’s 90th too. On Saturday a big dinner and cake, then yesterday was her actual birthday so we had a nice lunch, cake and then another big dinner with extended family. I’m exhausted! Cumberland Island looks beautiful. Glad your back is feeling better.

  4. Happy belated birthday!! So glad to hear you got your time in on St. Simon’s so you could celebrate just the way you wanted to – and with your back feeling so much better!! Excellent!

  5. I’m so glad you got to go to St Simon’s for your birthday! It’s such a nice tradition. I’ve been to more state parks too.. And I enjoyed them! Have a great day!

  6. Congratulations on your son earning his degree! What did he major in? Our oldest daughter has been at it awhile, too, but one thing or another keeps interfering with her progress. She would have a major set and something would happen to necessitate a change, which changed the classes that she needed to take and the usability of the classes she’d already taken. This time around, she’s up against a difficult advisor. I’m proud of your son and our daughter. They are up against a lot these day to complete their degrees!

    Oh that park with the horses sounds like a great place to visit. What a photo opportunity. The photo you shared is great!

    I am glad that your back is improving and will continue to pray for your healing.

    A belated happy birthday to you, and to your daughter-in-law. I am glad that you were able to go to your favorite tree and enjoy it for awhile before the storm happened. That is wonderful. 🙂

    Have a beautiful week!

  7. Belated happy birthday wishes. Lovely photos. I’m glad you got to spend the time under your favourite tree and enjoyed family visits. Sounds like a great way to spend your special day. Enjoy the rest of this week.

  8. Wishing you a late happy 62nd and a Hooray that your back is improving. It made me smile, thinking of you under your fav tree on St.Simon! May blessings abound in your new year.

  9. I’m glad your back is feeling better. Back pain is the worse! I hope you and Ed have a wonderful Labor Day Holiday.

  10. Love your photo. Glad your back is better and yes it has been a very humid hot summer this year. Florida and New York were miserable!


Leave a Reply

