Hodgepodge # 284

You’ve gotta’ love and appreciate the tenacity and determination of our Hodgepodge hostess, Joyce.  She’s only days away from moving into her new home, but she still managed to plan and host The Hodgepodge!  Thanks, Joyce, my hat is off to you.

Here are today’s questions:

1. What would you say is your strongest sense?

That’s a good question!  My eyesight and hearing sure aren’t what they used to be.  Working with stain and polyurethane, in an enclosed area, has dulled my sense of smell, too.  I have neuropathy in my feet, so my sense of ‘touch’ isn’t what it used to be either.  I still enjoy eating, so I guess I’ll say my sense of ‘taste’ is my strongest sense 🙂

2. Do you believe in the idea of a ‘sixth sense’? Why or why not?

Yes, I do believe in a ‘sixth sense’.  Sometimes, I’ll get a particular ‘feeling’ about something (or someone) that I just can’t explain.  I refer to this ‘feeling’ as my sixth sense.

3. When do you most feel like a slave to time? Explain.

Now that Ed and I are both retired, the time I feel most like a “slave to time” is on Sundays.  We  watch the clock closely, all day, so we won’t be late for church.

4. Have you ever worked in a restaurant? How would you rate the experience? If you could own a restaurant what kind would it be?

When I was a teenager I worked in the restaurant part of my uncle’s gift shop/restaurant.  I hated everything about it, and only lasted a couple of days.  I’d rate the experience zero stars, and I’d never own a restaurant of any kind, period!

5. Ever traced your family tree? Share something interesting you learned there.

I’ve never traced my family tree beyond my grandparents, but my paternal grandparents lost two of their children, early in life.  Their only daughter fell, as a child, hit her head and died.  One of their six sons died from a ruptured appendix while still a young man. Oh, I also thought it was interesting that both of my parents had sisters named “Georgia Belle”!

6. What did your childhood bedroom look like?

I had several different bedrooms, while growing up.  The bedroom I remember most ( from ages 12-17) was located on the front corner of the house, so it had two windows facing two different directions.  (I could sit on my bed and watch the teenagers riding from one end of town to the other!)  As a young teen, I painted the walls of my room blue.  The paint job wasn’t perfect, but I was proud of myself.  The furniture in my bed room was older, and had been painted white.  I had a poster of Peter Fonda (as Easy Rider) on my wall, and a stereo in one corner.

7. Anyone who knows me knows I love decorating for special occasions.  

I love to decorate my living room (and sometimes kitchen) for all special occasions, not just Christmas. (although Christmas is my favorite.)  I have a ‘year round’ tree in the living room, and change the decorations, every month, to reflect whatever occasion falls within that month. The shelves in our living room are decorated with matching curios, as well.

100_4925100_6103

Left:  Year round tree decorated for Easter

Right:  Year round tree decorated for Halloween

 

 

 

 

 

Random:

Ed and I did something, last night, we hadn’t done in years. We went to a county fair, alone! In years past, we’ve always gone to the fair with family, but, this year, we went solo, and you know what? We had a great time!  It was the first time I ever remember going to the fair, on a week night,  not having to worry about how late it was getting.  Yay for retirement 🙂

p1010523

Published in: on October 19, 2016 at 8:10 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/hodgepodge-284/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great way to spend a weeknight! I like to decorate for the seasons too. Yes, a stereo, what bedroom was complete without a stereo?! Have a great week 🙂

  2. After the kids left home, we use to do things like that. It was always fun seeing things that interested just us. Disneyland was even fun by ourselves.

  3. I LOVE decorating too – especially at the holidays! Have a great day! Fun reading your Hodgepodge today, thank you!

  4. I bet that was fun! I don’t think that I have ever gone to a fair as an adult. I rarely went as a child either.

    I think it is cool that you have a tree up year round. 🙂

    How interesting that you had aunts on both sides named Georgia Belle. I wonder if anyone else in your family had that name, too. It is a pretty name. My maternal grandma was named Maggie and her maternal granny was named Maggie. My paternal granny also had a grandmother and aunt named Maggie. Our youngest daughter is also named Maggie.

    I enjoyed your responses. Have a blessed day!

  5. County fairs can be fun. It has been many years since I have been to one. I think that is the same for Suzanne. We have never been to one together. The fair stopped coming to our hometown. Have a great week.

  6. Yes. Yay for retirement. We can do things on week nights. That’s interesting about the names Georgia Belle. The Texas state fair is on right now, but it’s pretty much of a hassle to get there and also DH can’t really do the walking.

  7. Both of my parents have one sister and both of them are named, Betty. One is Betty Lou and the other is Betty Jean so we missed out on the middle names being the same. 🙂 I am not surprised that you put decorating for special occasions for #7. 🙂 Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  8. When you look way back in your family tree it really does make you thankful for modern medicine. Families may have birthed many children, but so often several died young. Glad you got out and enjoyed the fair!

  9. Retirement…how I love that word!! Ha! My grandma lost two brothers to diseases that we don’t even hear about now…diphtheria. How fun to get to enjoy the fair!! I know a few people who have year-round trees in their homes. It’s a fun idea. Happy Wednesday!

  10. I need to work on my home decorating! Your evening out sounds like fun. Retirement opens up lots of possibilities.

  11. Interesting concept having a year round tree and decorating it for the holiday at hand. I like the photo of you and Ed at the fair. SWMBO and I haven’t been to a fair in many years despite the fact that we live in a state that has several throughout the late Summer and Fall. I hope both of your health endures during your retirement years. Thanks for your visit.

  12. I believe in a sixth sense too! That is very sad about your grandparents lose. Yes your seasonal tree is definitely something you love. Glad you enjoyed the fair.


Leave a Reply

