It’s Beginning To Look Like A Hodgepodge…

Greetings everybody!  I can’t believe another week has passed since I last blogged.  I’ve been as busy as a bee, getting ready for Christmas, but I’m finished, so today is the perfect time to relax with The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  As always, thanks to our wonderful hostess, Joyce, for providing us with this day of fun and relaxation!

1. Let’s talk holiday decorating. On a scale of 1-10 where do you fall? (1=Scrooge and 10= Clark Griswold). What’s your favorite corner-room-table-space to decorate? Is it done?

Oh, my goodness!  Anyone who knows me will tell you I’m almost a “10” on the scale of holiday decorating!  Every year I go overboard, and it takes well over a week to put it all up, and another week to put it all away.  My favorite room to decorate is the living room, because that’s where the majority of my decorations are displayed, and yes, the living room is finished.  In fact, I ‘officially’ finished decorating, yesterday morning–ending with a total of four Christmas trees inside the house,  two Christmas trees on the front porch…and a reindeer head cover on top of the toilet lid!

100_6179

some of the decorations I’ve collected over the years

2. Is there a nativity scene in your decorating somewhere? Post a picture or, if it’s special to you in some way, tell us why. Or do both-it’s Christmas!

Yes, there is a nativity scene among my decorations.  It’s the fourth nativity scene I’ve owned during our forty-four years of marriage.  I found this particular nativity scene in a thrift store, two years ago, and added it to my collection.  Unfortunately, my favorite nativity scene is packed away.  It’s a three-piece, light up, Bethlehem village scene, that I didn’t have a place to display, this year.

100_6169

my ‘thrift store’ nativity scene, along with my two angel music boxes

3.  Do you live in a social neighborhood? If so are you glad? If not do you wish you did?

We live in the country, so I’m not sure you could say we have a ‘neighborhood’.  However, our neighbors, on three sides of us are family, so, of course, we’re social.  It’s very comforting to have neighbors you can count on in good times or in bad.

4.  As the saying goes, ‘there’s no time like the present‘. How does that ring true in your life right now?

Time seems to be going by faster and faster, these days, and more and more people we know are dying.  I’m thinking, ‘there’s no time like the present’ for doing whatever it is we want (or need)) t0 to do!

5. Do you dread Mondays? Why or why not?

 No,  I don’t dread Mondays.  Now that Ed and I are both retired, there’s no reason to dread Mondays anymore.

6.  Poinsettia, Christmas Cactus, Amaryllis-which on the list is your favorite holiday plant? Are any of these on display in your home right now?

I love Poinsettias, but I’ve never been good at keeping them alive, so I feel guilty about buying them. I do have an artificial Poinsettia on display, but I’ll deliver it to the cemetery in just a few more days.

7. Share a favorite quote from a Christmas movie.

“You’ll shoot your eye out, kid.”  from the movie, A Christmas Story.  I love the line, and the movie.

 

Random:

I mentioned, the other day, how my eyesight has gotten a lot worse, especially in one eye.  Last week, I went for an eye appointment, and my optometrist told me she can no longer improve my vision with glasses.  Apparently, the cataract that’s been growing on my left eye is ready for removal.  My right eye will have to wait a while.  I’ll be meeting with the surgeon in January about having this procedure done.  Ed’s already had both of his eyes done, so at least I already know the scenario.

In other news, here are a few more pics of the  Christmas decorations we’ve been working on…

100_6167
the tree in our living room ( with the new throw pillows I crocheted)

100_6170
the kitchen tree (excuse Ed’s bucket, please)

100_6174
outside decorations (next to the woods)

100_6175
more outside decorations (next to the house)

Published in: on December 7, 2016 at 9:03 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/12/07/its-beginning-to-look-like-a-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have some of your same decorations! I thought I noticed some familiar items so I enlarged the first picture. 🙂 I think it’s great that you live in the country surrounded by family. I wouldn’t mind being social in that situation. 🙂 Your trees are lovely and I really like the outside decorations too! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  2. I’m very impressed with your Christmas decorations! Beautiful and I love those red-check curtains matching the bow! You will be so happy when you get that cataract taken care of. You will be amazed.

  3. i love your tree! I didn’t know I missed a large tree until I saw yours. I stick with a table top one these days.
    I had cataract surgery about 5 years ago. Both eyes (not at the same time) And I see oh so much better now. You will be amazed.

  4. People I know who’ve had cataract surgery all rave about their much improved vision afterwards. We quote Christmas Story a lot around here, Fragile! and It’s a major award! are our favorites : )

  5. Wow! You really are right at that “10” with your decorations! I love that you have such a great place to display your nutcrackers and Santas! Your trees are lovely and your outside lights and figures are so festive. I did more this year than last, but really dread taking it all down. At least we have a few more weeks to enjoy it all!! Happy Wednesday!

  6. I love your decorations, especially your Nutcrackers. We only have one tree, but I love the idea of several trees in the house. That is a great quote from “A Christmas Story”.

  7. Love your
    decorations. Hubby has been creatively rearranging furniture so we would have places in our new downsized home for a few of our favorite decorations. Blessings!

  8. You are definitely a 10 and I love all of it!

  9. It looks like you have gone all out with the Christmas decor. Have a great week and a Merry Christmas.

  10. Your trees are beautiful. 🙂 I also lover your crocheted pillows and those red checkered curtains. It is so homey!

    I am so sorry that you need to have eye surgery. I pray that all goes well and that your vision will be perfectly restored!

    Have a blessed weekend. 🙂


Leave a Reply

