Dear Blog…

Dear Blog,

Lately I’ve been unfaithful to you.  I’ve neglected you while I’ve been busy doing other things–or busy just doing nothing.  Today I am feeling a bit guilty, so I’ve come to spend some time with you.  By the way, I’m sitting here in my pajamas, at 11 o’clock in the morning, doing absolutely nothing–and it feels wonderful!  The past few days have been sort of busy for us, so it feels good to just relax.

Then, of course, there’s the little problem of my failing eyesight.  The cataract in my left eye has gotten so bothersome, most days I see two of everything.  It’s hard to do a lot of blogging when you’re seeing double and everything seems to be out of focus.  January can’t get here fast enough, so I can meet with the Ophthalmologist about surgery.

Last week, Ed and I spent a couple of evenings with some of our grandchildren.  ‘Tis the season for Christmas parties, and we were the designated babysitters.  While we enjoyed being with our grandchildren, it made us realize why people have their children when they’re young.  We were tired by the end of the evening!  Of course, these days, Ed and I wake up tired…a lot.

On Friday night, Ed and I joined the ranks of the ‘party goers’ and attended a party, ourselves.  I can’t remember how long it had been since we’d attended a party, other than a family one, but we had a great time!  The home of the host and hostess was the best decorated I’ve ever seen.  I consider myself  near a ’10’ when it comes to Christmas  decorating, but this home was over the top!  There were Christmas comforters on all of the beds, trees in every room,  and beautiful village and nativity scenes displayed in multiple places.  I was in heaven!  Not only were the decorations fantastic, so was the food.  We ended up having a ‘white elephant’ gift exchange which turned out to be the highlight of the evening.  I don’t remember when I’ve laughed so much!

Friday night also turned out to be the coldest night we’ve had, so far.  Our temperatures dipped down into the 20’s which meant Ed and I spent a large portion of Friday afternoon relocating and protecting outside plants.  On Saturday morning, we woke up to find our bird bath was frozen over!  The cold snap was short-lived, and it’s already back into the high 60’s today.

Ed and I have attended three Christmas parades during the past two weekends,  with two of them being on the same day.  I love a good Christmas parade, especially the ones held at night!  Fortunately, the weather was fairly mild for the night parade, but it was rather chilly for the last day parade we attended.  I used to take my camera along and take pictures, but I’ve learned it’s better to just relax and enjoy the parade.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned that Ed’s been dealing with a toothache, off and on, for the past two weeks.  He’s been to the dentist twice, so far.  He has another appointment with a different dentist, this week, for a second opinion.  The first dentist can’t really determine, for sure, what’s causing the problem, so he’s referred Ed for another opinion and possible root canal.  Sounds like fun, huh?  Merry Christmas to Ed.

Ed recently purchased himself a used electronic keyboard/stand.  For the first time, in many, many years, the sound of piano music is filling the air of our home, again, and you know what?  It’s kind of nice!  Ed has some more practicing to do, but every day he gets better and better.  His previous piano was a monster of an antique, which took up a ton of space and never really sounded that great. (It’s currently sitting in his parents’ house.)  I love, love, love this keyboard.  It’s portable, sounds great, and has a volume control.  What more could you ask for?

Our daughter and her family are still without floor covering in three rooms of their home, and are still without a kitchen sink or base cabinet. (their home was flooded by an over-flowing toilet)  They’ve been ‘making do’ for almost two months.  I hope the New Year will find their house back in order, once again.  Two months are a L-O-N-G time to ‘make do’, but it can be done.

Today is our oldest grandson, Caden’s, birthday. He is now eight.  I still remember the day of his birth like it was yesterday!  I was in the middle of hosting a Christmas luncheon for Ed’s employees when the call came saying the doctor was going to do an unscheduled c-section!  Man, talk about bad timing!  But I was able to make it to the hospital in plenty of time.  The rest is history.  Ah, they grow up too fast, don’t they?!

14064262_10153637699421428_4834371196710821313_n-1-caden

Happy 8th birthday, Caden

You know, I haven’t wrapped a single present to go underneath the Christmas tree, so I suppose I really should get off this computer and get busy. I know, for sure, they’re not going to wrap themselves, and it’s only 12 more days until Christmas.  Wow, where is the time going?

Until next time… Happy Monday!


 

 

Published in: on December 12, 2016 at 1:12 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/dear-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have missed you and am so happy for this catch-up!! Sounds like you have been busy, but also having some fun. I know about that waking up tired stuff. Not fun! Happy birthday to handsome Caden! Hugs from Florida!

  2. The blog and I are glad to hear from you!

  3. It was nice to read this catch up. Happy birthday to your grandson! I didn’t do as much decorating this year, but have enough to make the house feel Christmassy. Next year!

  4. Sorry about your vision and Ed’s tooth. Happy Birthday to Caden! Christmas is a lot of work. I’m done decorating but it was really hard this year. Now I have to work on getting the out of town gifts mailed and Christmas cards out. You will get it all done……

  5. I certainly enjoyed your post. I haven’t posted much lately either, so I understand. Happy Birthday to your grandson. He’s so cute. Sorry to hear about your eyes and your husband’s toothache…no fun. Hopefully they will both be taken care of soon. Merry Christmas to you both.

  6. Simple and elegant! Loved it.

  7. Myself and Ed are in the same boat. I had my third root canal done and for the last two nights I’ve gotten little to no sleep at all. Pain medicine not working so it’s keeping me up. I don’t know if getting them pulled are replaced was any better than the two because both hurt either way. Good luck and best wishes
    going into the holidays with aching teeth.


Leave a Reply

