Have Yourself A Merry Little Hodgepodge…

I can’t believe it’s only a week and a half until Christmas!  I still haven’t finished wrapping gifts, nor have I done the first bit of holiday baking, but all of that can wait, ’cause it’s time for The Hodgepodge!  As always, thanks to our Hodgepodge hostess, Joyce, for everything she does.

1. Are you more task oriented or people oriented? Elaborate.

I’m not sure, but I think I’m more ‘people oriented’.  If I’m not, I’d like to be.  A Google search resulted in the following explanation of ‘people oriented’.
What is the definition of people oriented?
The phrase “people-oriented” is generally used to convey something vaguely like a company where everyone is friends. They all get along, are pleasant and happy and smile at each other when they pass in the halls.

2. December 15 is National Wear Your Pearls Day…do you own/wear pearls? If you’re a man answering the question, does your sweetheart own or wear pearls? Everyone share a ‘pearl of wisdom’ with us here today.

I don’t own a strand of pearls, but I do have a pearl [single black pearl on a chain] necklace that Ed sent me from Okinawa while he was stationed there, forty-something years ago.  Since I rarely wear jewelry, it’s been tucked away in my jewelry box for a long, long time.  While Ed was in Okinawa, he also sent his mama a strand of white pearls, but we don’t know what ever happened to them.  After she passed away, we searched the house high and low, but failed to find her precious pearls. (She wanted our daughter to have them after she died.) My ‘pearl of wisdom’, for today, is this:  If you want to give someone a prized possession, perhaps it’s best to do it while you’re still living.

3. Speaking of pearls…oysters? Are you a fan or not a fan? If you answered yes, tell us your favorite way to eat oysters? If you said no, be honest-have you ever tried one or does just the idea of eating an oyster make you gag a little?

I’m not a fan of oysters, no way, no how.  Just the sight of an oyster makes me want to gag, I can’t imagine eating one!

4. Time Magazine has named President-elect Donald Trump Person of the Year. Let’s take presidents and presidential candidates out of the mix for a minute. If a political figure had not been chosen who would you name Man or Woman of the Year for 2016?

I don’t know which famous person would make the best candidate for Man or Woman of the year, but, as far as I’m concerned, my husband, Ed, is “Man of the Year”.  After all, he puts up with me 365 days of the year!

5. The Pantone Color of the Year for 2017 has been announced, and it’s a vibrant green aptly named-greenery. Your thoughts? Is this a color currently in your home or wardrobe? Will you add something in this shade for the new year? Click here to see the color.

Green is one of my least favorite colors, so this color definitely won’t make it into my home, and probably not in my wardrobe either.  All of that being said, this IS one of the prettier shades of green that I’ve seen.

6. Today I’ve had too much ‘bad food’.  Today, I ate a cinnamon raisin bagel for breakfast, followed by a hamburger and french fries for lunch.  I did try to redeem myself by eating a salad for supper, though. (I’m answering these questions on Tuesday night)

7. Share a favorite lyric from a favorite Christmas carol.

I love Let It Be Christmas.  Nobody can write a song quite like Alan Jackson.

 

Let It Be Christmas
Let it be Christmas everywhere
In the hearts of all people both near and a far
Christmas everywhere
Feel the love of the season wherever you are
On the small country roads lined with green mistletoe
Big city streets where a thousand lights glow
Let it be Christmas everywhere
Let heavenly music fill the air
Let every heart sing let every bell ring
The story of hope and joy and peace
And let it be Christmas everywhere
Let heavenly music fill the air
Let anger and fear and hate disappear
Let there be love that lasts through the year
Let it be Christmas
Christmas everywhere
Let it be Christmas everywhere
With the gold and silver, the green and the red
Christmas everywhere
In the smiles of all children asleep in their beds
In the
Random:
This week, I brought out my two most annoying Christmas decorations.  First there’s the crazy snowman Christmas clock who requires a little help (a push-pin works) to hang straight on the wall.  He plays a few Christmas songs, but only when the notion strikes him!  This isn’t a bad thing since he plays that dreadful electronic music of yesteryear.  Mr. Snowman Clock must be a night owl, because he seems to play more often in the wee hours…  His other quirk is that he plays his music at five minutes after the hour!  Gotta’ love him.
100_6189
My other annoying decoration is my bathroom snowman, Jolly Johnny, who holds a plunger and sits on a shelf behind the toilet.
100_6186
 He’s there to startle and greet everyone with his little song:  Ho, Ho, Ho.  Who’s Gotta’ Go?  Ho, Ho, Ho.  Who’s Gotta’ Go?   I’m in the bathroom, don’t mind me.  I’m here to keep you company!   Johnny does his job of keeping us company very well!  In fact he does it so well,  he gets banished to the laundry room at night 🙂
Published in: on December 14, 2016 at 8:33 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/12/14/have-yourself-a-merry-little-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s a challenge to stay on track with the eating this time of year! I definitely have more sugar than at any other time of the year and I can tell : )

  2. Now those are very amusing decorations!

  3. That little snowman is hilarious! I’d probably banish him, too, after awhile. Love that Alan Jackson song!

  4. Very wise, your pearl of wisdom.

    Your little bathroom snowman made me laugh. What fun!

  5. I don’t know which snowman made me smile more. Love them!

  6. Oh my goodness! I love your annoying Christmas decorations. Your description made me laugh.

  7. I applaud you attempt to eat right. It is always a difficult thing to do, but especially right now.
    Your Annoying decorations made me laugh. Especially since you find them annoying, but still put them out.
    Have a blessed Christmas Kathy!

  8. Great pearl of Wisdom, it seems more meaningful and eases family stress after the passing of a loved one. I love your annoying decorations, I think every household needs at least one annoying snowman! Have a great week.
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

  9. I’d banish the bathroom snowman at night, too! Between my hubby and myself, the snowman would be singing all night long.

    I hear you on the “too much bad food”. This is a challenging time of year to do that, but it’s also a time when we need a lot of energy so it’s even more important to eat right and exercise …

  10. That bathroom snowman is hilarious!! Thanks for the giggle! I enjoyed reading your HP answers today! Oh gosh—bad wife that I must be, not thinking to nominate Joe as man of the year. Boy, does he put up with me!! Happy hump day!!

  11. Those Christmas ornaments are hilarious and although I also nominated hubby for person of the year there is no way he would put up with those! lol

  12. Your annoying Christmas decorations are hilarious. I suspect that Ed would make you Person of the Year for putting up with him all year. I hope you and Ed have a very Merry Christmas and all the best in the upcoming New Year.

  13. Sometimes we just need to have a day of eating bad food!


Leave a Reply

