The First Day Of Winter Hodgepodge…

T’was the first day of winter, and all through the house…the gifts were all wrapped…Christmas candy was finished… and the last thing on the list was more cooking and cleaning!  But that will have to wait until another day, because today is Wednesday, and that means it’s time to join in The Hodgepodge!  Thank you to our hostess, Joyce, for providing another great set of questions that didn’t require a lot of deep thinking 🙂  My brain is weary this time of the year.

Here are today’s questions:

1. What’s left to be done on your Christmas to-do list?

We just need to hold our decorations together until Christmas, and begin preparations for the Christmas meal.  By “holding the decorations together”, I’m referring to keeping the outdoor decorations in place and working.  We’ve already had to replace one outdoor timer, plus we’ve been having to help our inflatables up each night, due to the rain we’ve been getting, lately.  Excessive rain and outdoor Christmas decorations usually make a poor combination.

2. The Hodgepodge lands on the first day of winter this year. What’s your favorite thing about winter?

I was tempted to say “Not having to deal with gnats or mosquitoes”, but my real favorite thing about winter is Christmas.  I love all things Christmas!

3. In what area of your life are you immature? Feel free to elaborate or not.

I’m immature in the spiritual area of my life, but I’m working on that.  To borrow a quote from Joyce Meyer, “I’m not where I want to be, but, praise the Lord, I’m not where I used to be!”

4. What was the most (or one of the most) important lessons you learned in 2016?

Sometimes, the search for a new church home can be long and hard, but there can be joy in the journey.

5. It’s Fried Shrimp Day…are you a fan? What’s your favorite way to eat shrimp? Will there be shrimp somewhere in your holiday feastings?

Yes, I love fried shrimp…that’s my favorite way to eat them.  There won’t be any shrimp in our holiday feasts, but I sure would like to have some.

6. What sound lulls you to sleep?

The sound of the television turned down very low, so I just can hear the voices, but can’t really understand what’s being said.  I set the timer on the television for about 90 minutes, most nights.  Gaither gospel music videos and Hallmark movies are among my favorite shows to fall asleep to.  Going to sleep [or staying asleep] is a problem for me.

7. What one word best describes your 2016?

“Better”.  Although 2016 presented its fair share of problems for Ed and me, I’ll have to say it was A LOT BETTER than 2015 was.

Random:  

Some special wishes from me to you…

100_6180

Dear blog friends,

Over the years, I’ve come to know each you through your blogs, and every one of you has a special place in my heart.  When you’re happy, I rejoice for you.  When you’re going through life’s trials, I pray for you.  I care about you.

I’d like to take this opportunity to say “thank you” for taking the time to visit my blog, leave comments, and thank you, especially, for sending up prayers on my behalf, during hard times.  It means more than you’ll ever know.

I’d also like to take this opportunity to  wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and prosperous New Year!  Take care, and enjoy your holidays.

Love,

Published in: on December 21, 2016 at 8:56 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/the-first-day-of-winter-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love all things Christmas too 🙂 Merry Christmas Kathy!

  2. Wishing you and your family a BLESSED Christmas, Kathy!

  3. I feel so blessed to have met so many lovely bloggers. I, too, feel like we are all friends and my wish is that we all share a gathering one day. I’ve never known such wonderfully positive people as I have met via blogging. Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

  4. I am not doing Hodgepodge thus week. I think my computer gave it up. I won’t for sure til Christmas Day, when my son looks at it. I am on the Kindle. Which makes typing difficult. Anyway I wanted to stop and wish you and your family a very joyous Christmas.

  5. We didn’t do a whole lot in the way of outdoor decorating this year. Something had to give in the December schedule and that was it. Have a Merry Christmas! So glad to know you through our blogs!

  6. Amen to #3. I’m growing spiritually too. Thank you Lord for being patient with me. I love the picture of you by the Christmas tree.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, Kathy!!

  7. That’s a lovely random thought! Thank you and I hope you and your family have a lovely Christmas. Let’s hope the phrase for 2017 will be better again!

  8. I finally have my 2 small trees up in their respective windows. Having them lighted up makes it very festive, finally. Merry Christmas to you.

  9. That was a very pleasant HodgePodge to read. Sounds as if Christmas is well underway in your home. That’s a lovely picture of you by the tree. Merry Christmas!

  10. I sure enjoyed reading your Hodgepodge, Kathy! I feel the same way about you and my blogging friends. This is a special platform and the friendships formed here are just as ‘real’ as those we have in person. Speaking of which, I hope we can meet in person in this coming year! I hear St. Simon’s calling for that connection!! Merry Christmas to you and your family and I wish you a happy and healthy new year! Hugs!

  11. I love all things Christmas, too! And yes, spiritual growth is an ongoing process. A journey. It takes time, like all good things.

  12. What a nice Random Thought. Right back at you! Our fellow Hodgepodgers are remarkable people in many ways. It is a blessing to know and interact with them, including you. No apologies are necessary when you don’t pay a visit to my blog page. I know that life can intrude..As the saying goes “Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.”
    A very Merry Christmas and all the best of health and prosperity in the upcoming New Year to you and Ed!

  13. I’m with you, I love all things Christmas too! I too feel immature in the spiritual sense too. I have a very good relationship with God but I don’t know much from the bible. I haven’t had a home church for about 8 years now. We went to a church on Christmas Eve that is very promising. They actually played the traditional Christmas songs that I love. I love your random, so sweet…..((HUGS))


Leave a Reply

