From This Simple Woman’s Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-large

For Today…

Monday, January 9, 2017 is another cold day!  The morning low was thirty degrees.  That’s three degrees warmer than yesterday’s low of twenty-seven.  I thought we could safely say winter has arrived here in southeastern Georgia, but it’s supposed to be back in the high seventies by the end of this week.  Sadly, this brief cold snap not done good things for my outside plants.

Looking out my window…

I see lots of  frozen, dead or dying plants.  I tried to protect them, but, for some, it wasn’t enough.  I suppose I’ll be looking for more discarded plants to “adopt”, this spring and summer, at Wal-mart, but I’ve had these plants for so long, they felt like family.

I am thinking…

the chicken coop didn’t make a very good greenhouse.  I hung seven of my favorite hanging baskets in there, hoping they’d be safe from the cold.  They were not.

I am thankful…

for the spiritual growth I’ve experienced over the past eighteen months.  It’s a slow, but steady process, and I’m learning and growing every day.

One of my favorite things…

is going on a weekly “road trip” with my husband, Ed.  We have to travel about thirty-five miles, in any direction, to get to a town of any size.  We always enjoy getting out of the house, so the ride to and from these towns is fun.  Once we get there, we eat lunch, do our weekly shopping, and just enjoy seeing something new and different.

I am creating…

some pretty pages in my new journaling Bible.  I got a new Bible for Christmas, that has illustrations, for coloring, scattered throughout its pages.  Many of the illustrations are   key Bible verses, which I’m learning as I color them  with colored pencils.  This Bible also has lined margins, for taking notes in church.  I love it.  Thanks, Ed.

I am wearing…

a pair of pajamas.  I love wearing pajamas, all day, during cold, winter days.

I am reading…

I’m reading The Charles F. Stanley Life Principles Daily Bible NKJV,  Billy Graham’s devotional, Wisdom For Each Day, and the book  O Little Town by Don Reid (formerly of The Statler Brothers)

I’m watching…

I recently watched To Joey, With Love, which is a movie about the last two years of country singer, Joey Feek’s life.  I couldn’t imagine how her husband, Rory, was going to weave all those film clips [he’d taken] of her into a movie, but he did, and it made a very good story.

I’m listening to…

oldies from the sixties and seventies on satellite radio in the car, as well as some good ole’ gospel favorites on cd’s in the house.

I am hoping…

on Tuesday, the doctor will schedule my cataract surgery.  I’m also hoping we get favorable biopsy results from the doctor,  when we go back there, next week.

I am learning…

to be more patient, and to be content, no matter what our circumstances may be.

In my kitchen…

not much cooking has been happening, but a lot of eating has been going on!  On Tuesday night, our son-in-law brought us some bar-b-q from Southern Soul Bar-B-Q in St. Simon’s Island, since he happened to be nearby.  Ed and I love their bar-b-q!  Then, on Wednesday night, our oldest son brought us a pot of chicken chili, left over from church. Ed fried fish, on Friday night, then our daughter and family shared their chili and hot dogs with us on Saturday night.  I only cooked one meal the entire week!

In my garden…

only a few cabbages and carrots are still growing.  Cold weather has taken care of the rest.  I have already begun to collect packs of seeds for spring planting, though.

 

Shared Quote…

“It is never right to do wrong, and never wrong to do right.”  Guidepost reader, Ruby Mikich

A moment from my day…

100_6253A picture of our lone white hen, known as “Dixie Chick”

We keep a baby gate up to the entrance to our front porch, to discourage our ‘feathered friends’ from visiting.   Our chickens can tell time, (perhaps, because of the  rooster clock we have hanging on the porch?!) and will come up on the porch to peek in our front door when it’s feeding time.  As you can see, Dixie, and a few others, have no respect for our baby gate, these days.

Closing Notes…

Yesterday, Ed and I joined our son for his regular Sunday services at a nearby assisted living facility.  When we got there, we learned that “Buddy”, one of the newer residents who sometimes joined us for services, had become very ill during the week.  Buddy is now unresponsive, and is currently under the care of hospice.  His family was at his bedside when we stopped by to see him.  For the first time, since Ed and I started joining our son in this ministry, we encountered the tough part–saying goodbye to friends we’ve made along the way.  We’re sure going to miss our friend, Buddy.

Many thanks to Peggy Hostetler for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a happy Monday,

Published in: on January 9, 2017 at 8:38 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/from-this-simple-womans-daybook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow! 35 miles to get to a town. this city girl cannot even begin to fathom that. And as for being cold in 30 degree temps. Try putting the garbage out for pickup when it’s 9 degrees out, as i just did. I’m hoping it reaches 27 degrees this afternoon as predicted! But 50 degree weather is predicted by mid-week. woot woo!

  2. I sure enjoyed your post today. I was surprised that you have to drive 35 miles in any direction to get to a town. Wow! I knew you were out in the country but didn’t realize your home was that remote. How nice to only have to cook one meal last week! That’s my kind of week! You really are blessed to have family right in your back yard (so to speak). I have missed you and am so happy when I see you have posted!!

  3. Love that picture of Dixie Chick. So sorry to hear about your friend dying. It is so hard to lose our friends. Love your shared quote.

  4. Oh, I sure enjoyed your picture of Dixie Chick. What a beauty.

    I used to live in the country as a girl growing up, but even then we were only two miles from town. Having to go 35 miles in any directions is definitely a much longer drive. It’s nice that you can make it an outing when you and your hubby go out.

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend, Buddy.

    Wishing you glimpses of heaven in unexpected places all through this new year. Brenda

  5. I used to live in the country but have been smack in town for close to 30 years so can;t imagine it now. We don;t really get snow here but I just wish the weather knew if it was winter or spring and not every other day. Loved the picture of the chicken. Prayers for your friends.

  6. Love the chicken picture!!! My kids are still young….I look to the day that my husband and I will drive into town together 🙂 lovely post!


Leave a Reply

