A Simple Woman’s Daybook Post…

For Today… Monday, February 6, 2017

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…

After waking up to a heavy fog, I can now see blue skies and sunshine.  It looks like it’s going to be another beautiful day!

I am thinking…

that I don’t feel particularly good today because I tossed and turned most of the night, due to my aching hips and back, but I’m not going to let that get me down!

I am thankful…

for many things!  Among them are a wonderful husband, a loving family, a home that’s paid for, plenty of food to eat,  and enough money to pay the bills each month.  I realize there are some people who don’t have any of these things.  I feel very blessed!

One of my favorite things…

is a good, tender steak, cooked on the grill, and I had the pleasure of eating one of those, just last week.

530_img_4941_2_sandys-sugar-grilled-steak

The weather was awesome, so we took advantage of it and used our grill three different evenings, last week.

I am creating…

some new throw pillow covers, as I continue to sharpen my crocheting skills.  I’d share a picture, but I can’t get to my camera, so just imagine a large, burgundy and khaki granny square.

I am wearing…

my red “Coca-Cola” t-shirt and a pair of pajama pants with frogs and red hearts on them.

I am reading…

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gains, of Fixer Upper fame.  What an interesting story those two have to share!

I’m watching…

Victoria and Mercy Street (season 2) on PBS.  I’m enjoying both shows very much.

I’m listening to…

Country Gold hits, thinking they sure don’t make country music like they used to. Back then,  songs actually told a story.  These days, not so much.  Who remembers the Kenny Rogers’ songs The Gambler, Coward of the County, or Lucille?  Story telling at its best!

I am hoping…

one of these days our daughter will get her kitchen back in working order.  She’s been without a kitchen sink for almost four months. Progress is slow.

I am learning…

all kinds of new things, daily, through my Life Principles Daily Bible study.

In my kitchen…
we’ve been eating lots of grilled food.  It’s so good, especially after eating lots of soup and other ‘winter’ foods.  We had grilled steak, grilled chicken tenders, and grilled hamburgers, last week.

In the school room…
I think our two home-schooled grandchildren recently celebrated their 100th day of school. They’re on the home stretch now.  It’ll be summer before they know it!

In my garden…
carrots and cabbages are still growing, but I’m not sure either one is edible.  Sometime, around Valentine’s Day, I’ll plant some seeds, in cups, for the new spring garden.  I’m already looking forward to this. I love watching the seeds sprout and grow new plants!

Post Script…

Sickness seems to be everywhere.  Therefore, I’m hanging out at home, awaiting my [eye] surgery date, this coming Thursday. I’m a bit anxious.  The surgery center still hasn’t told me what time to be there.

Shared Quote…

I’m working on this one–

275

A moment from my day…

Here’s a picture from a year ago–

p1010385
We’re still dealing with these pesky hens coming on the front porch!  They’re so spoiled.

Closing Notes…
Again, I apologize for my absence here in blog land.  For some reason, the computer and television really seem to be ‘taxing’ my eyes, these days. (It could have something to do with only being able to see well out of one eye…)  Looking forward to better days ahead!

Thanks to Peggy Hostetler for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Published in: on February 6, 2017 at 2:34 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/02/06/a-simple-womans-daybook-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Between youre mention of the school year ending before you know it, and how early you’re seed stating I started to envy your southern summer time. then I realized kids start back to school earlier down there, and uh-oh, I should be thinking about at least shopping for seeds about now.

  2. Praying for your eye surgery and I too am ready for spring.

  3. I love a good grilled steak. I remember those Kenny Rogers’ songs and always liked them. Praying for you and your upcoming surgery.

  4. What a great photo of the hens coming up to your door. I miss having chickens. Grilled food sounds wonderful! Hope your eye surgery goes well.


Leave a Reply

