A S-L-O-W Kind Of Hodgepodge…

The Hodgepodge may have a ‘slow’ theme this week, but there’s certainly nothing slow about the way time is passing!  When you blink, you could miss an entire week, or so it seems.  Anyway, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for another great Hodgepodge.  Next week we’ll be celebrating our 300th edition!!!   Way to go, Joyce!

Here are this week’s questions:

1. ‘Slow and steady wins the race’…tell us about a time this was true in your own life.

The first thing that comes to mind is when Ed built the house we’re currently living in.  He’d come home from an eight-hour work day, plus a two-hour commute, then work on the house until bedtime, every single day.  He worked on it from dawn till dark on weekends, too. It took Ed a total of six long months to finish the inside of the house, so we could move into it.  Then, it took several more months to get the outside finished, but it was definitely worth all of the slow and steady work involved.  We have a home, designed and built by us, and it’s paid for.

100_3701

home sweet home

2. ‘As slow as molasses’…Do you like molasses? How about maple syrup? Caramel? Butterscotch? What’s your favorite of the slow-moving treats mentioned here, and what’s your favorite food made with that sweet treat?

I’m not a huge fan of any of these except for caramel.  My favorite food made with caramel would be some kind of candy bar.

3. Your favorite slow song?

I’m going to name the first song that comes to my mind…My Girl by the Temptations.  I loved this song over 45 years ago, and I still love it today.  ( How about the choreography in this video?)

4. Your favorite thing to make in a slow cooker or crock pot?

It’s either crock pot macaroni and cheese or pulled pork.

5. ‘You may delay, but time will not.’ ~Benjamin Franklin Are you more a hurrier or a delayer when it comes to unpleasant tasks that need doing? What are you currently either delaying or hurrying to get through this week or month?

These days, I’m a delayer.  Lately, the task I’ve come to dread the most is changing out the decorations in our house each month.  This involves dragging out several large plastic storage containers, packing up one set of seasonal decor, then replacing them with a different set.  It also involves decorating our ‘year round tree’ each month.  Now that my back is ‘bad’, I need Ed’s help with those boxes.  This week the Valentine’s decor was packed up and replaced with St. Patrick’s Day decor.  It took me two days to accomplish this.

6. Tell us three things you encounter regularly or even just occasionally that you find to be annoyingly slow.

Waiting for seeds to sprout and grow large enough to transplant, crocheting any large project (like an afghan), waiting in the doctor’s office.

100_6288

waiting, waiting, waiting…

7. March is National Craft Month. Are you crafty? Tell us about something crafty you’ll try in the next thirty-one days. Or something crafty you’d like to try or wish you had the skill to make happen.

I used to  do all kinds of crafts– from latch hook to embroidery.  I made rag dolls [and sold them], and even used to sew most of my own clothes.  I eventually learned how to crochet, using my right hand, even though I’m left-handed.  That was one of my proudest accomplishments!  These days, I’m not so crafty.  Recently, I did re-learn how to crochet, and I’m currently crocheting some new covers for some throw pillows.  I’d like to get those pillow covers finished, then I’d like to make another scrapbook.  Maybe this will happen in March, we’ll see.

Random:  

100_6285

“Chicken William”

Can you see the life-sized metal rooster in the picture above?  His name is “Chicken William Bacon”, dubbed so by our youngest grandson, Evan, who’s three.

This rooster was one of my recent Christmas gifts from Ed.  I love my handsome rooster, “Chicken William”, but “my girls” weren’t quite sure what to make of him when I finally placed him outside, earlier this week.  I fear we may need a ‘real’ rooster, though.  Just last week I saw [and heard] one of “the girls” trying to flap her wings and crow!  How strange.

Published in: on March 1, 2017 at 9:07 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/03/01/a-s-l-o-w-kind-of-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How neat that Ed built your beautiful home! Sure makes it all the more special, I’m sure. What a funny story about “Chicken William”! Maybe your chickens were attempting to impress him.

  2. the more you write about Ed, the more in awe of him I am. Not many people can they say live in a house they personally built.

  3. Oh I agree about holiday decor. I love getting it out but putting it away is the worst.

  4. What could be better than living in a home built by your husband? That is special! That is funny about the rooster and your girls- LOL.

  5. Love the song you picked, I just downloaded to my phone! I’ve become a big delayer. There is always tomorrow when you home but then I never accomplish anything! Today I need to push myself becaue I travel in a few days and want my house clean and packing is always a nightmare! I use to love to do crafts. I love your rooster Christmas gift. I have roosters in my kitchen.

  6. I love your house and the story about it. Also your slow song is a favorite and really, really like that William chicken! That’s too funny about the chicken flapping and crowing. Your chickens are nice and plump. Pretty.

  7. Maybe your girl chicken was trying to teach your William how to crow and flap his wings! That made me chuckle!! Weren’t the Temptations great!! I love their music still and they could sure choreograph their songs to perfection! I enjoyed your HP answers!!

  8. I don’t decorate every season. I do a little bit for autumn, then Christmas, and a little bit of spring/Easter. I love the idea of your tree though. That might be a fun thing to have for my grandchildren too. The Temptations are one of my favorites. We recently watched the TV movie made about the band, and they definitely had a lot of turnover and turmoil, but they made beautiful music!

  9. Your husband’s hard work certainly paid off and was worth the wait. I used to decorate a lot for each holiday but don’t have must display space in our current home. Your chickens are beautiful!
    Hope you have a blessed day. 🙂

  10. A metal rooster, eh? Does it serve a practical purpose or is it purely decorative. Kudos to building your own house. I could never do that in a million years! Thank you for your prayers and kind words for SWMBO. She’s had a rough time of it but seems to have turned a corner. With God’s grace she could come home on Monday. I do so miss having her home. Thanks for stopping by…until next time.


Leave a Reply

