Marching Through Another Hodgepodge…

After a brief hiatus, The Hodgepodge is back.  Lately, I haven’t been able to see ‘the linky’, at times, but I’m playing along, even if I can’t always see my name on the list.  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for everything she does to keep The Hodgepodge going!

1. Setting aside the real March Madness (NCAA Basketball) describe something happening at your house this month that might earn the title ‘March Madness’?

The main thing that comes to mind is the work that’s been going on in our daughter’s kitchen, next door to us.  Ed and our SIL have been installing new kitchen cabinets over there, and there’s been a bit of ‘March Madness’ going on–like dealing with an unlevel floor, discovering one of the new cabinets was broken when they pulled it out of the box, and having to move two kitchen light fixtures and an electrical outlet.  Fun times!  All troubles aside, her kitchen is looking great, though.

2. What’s a favorite made up word from your childhood or a favorite from your children’s childhood? Does your family still use the word today? If there’s a story behind the origin please share.

The only made up words [that I can think of] from my or my children’s childhoods were their nicknames.  My daughter would probably kill me if I told hers, so I’ll just keep mum.  Ed still calls her by that nickname, occasionally, and it usually brings laughter.

3. Will you be doing any spring cleaning now that the season is upon us? I read here a list of 15 quick (under one hour) spring cleaning tasks. They were-

clean out a drawer, vacuum furniture, whiten tile grout, dust the nooks and crannies you don’t get to year round, degrease kitchen cabinets, wipe down walls, go behind furniture, wipe down ceiling fans, vacuum the mattress, clean the range hood, wash baseboards, shine the stainless steel, clean out vents, tackle the windows, and wipe down gadgets

Of the fifteen ‘quick’ tasks listed which two most need doing at your house? Will you do them?

Yes, we’ll be doing a little spring cleaning at our house, but most of it will be on the outside of the house.  Of the fifteen tasks listed, cleaning windows and cleaning out drawers would be on the top of my list to be done.

4. A favorite movie set in Paris or New York?

I think I’ll choose a favorite movie set in New York.  I love ‘Scent of a Woman’ (Al Pacino & Chris O’Donnell), with ‘Working Girl’ (Melanie Griffith, Harrison Ford, & Sigourney Weaver) coming in a close second.

5. What’s put a spring in your step this month?

I love all of the blooming flowers and trees.  Unfortunately, last week’s untimely freeze killed most of the azaleas.

6. Did you ever want to be a teacher? Why or why not?

Yes, once I became a paraprofessional, way back in 1991, it didn’t take me long to discover my love of teaching.  I loved being with the first grade children, and I loved watching them learn.  I worked with small reading and math groups, and loved watching each student’s progress, knowing I’d been a small part of their accomplishments.  I worked as a paraprofessional for almost fourteen years, and loved every year except the last one, which explains why I quit in mid-year.  The last group I taught will graduate from high school this year.

7. What’s your favorite floral scent? Do you have this somewhere in your home or maybe in a perfume? How do you feel about florals in food? How about wines with floral notes-yay or nay?

I don’t have a favorite floral scent, but I like roses, magnolias, and gardenias.  Lately, I’ve had a couple of baskets of petunias growing in my greenhouse, and they’ve been smelling pretty awesome, too!

I often use floral scented ‘wallflowers’ in the bathroom.  I don’t really care about florals in my food, and I’m not a wine drinker.

Random:

These azaleas belonged to Ed’s parents, and used to grow beside their house before they were transplanted to the back of what’s now our daughter’s yard.  These azaleas are well-over fifty years old, and…

they make a great background for spring pictures…

Published in: on March 22, 2017 at 7:52 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/marching-through-another-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love those azaleas! I can hardly wait for flowers to begin blooming here in the Northeast. Enjoy your week, Kathy.

  2. The purple azaleas are breath-taking! What a stunning backdrop. Your husband sounds very handy and skilled with building. That must save a lot of money to be able to do jobs like the kitchen remodeling.

  3. Boohoo for the azaleas.Poor babies. But there’s always next year. If it didn’t kill them, it will only make them stronger. Isn’t that what t hey say?

  4. My grandmother’s yard is still full of azaleas every spring. She loved spring and gardening. And yes, they do make a lovely backdrop. 🙂 I enjoyed teaching, too. Little kids are the absolute best to work with!

  5. I have never seen more beautiful azaleas in my entire life…simply spectacular!

  6. I see your name on the list today : ) If you have trouble ever shoot me an email. I don’t mind adding you if you can’t see the link. I love Scent of a Woman too. Didn’t think of that one. Hope you have a great day!

  7. What a lovely spring photo! And such gorgeous azaleas. I’m sorry the frost took them early. We don’t have anything near ready to bloom. I noticed that the maple trees finally have buds. I hope you have a good rest of the week. Now we’ll all be wondering about your daughter’s nickname. LOL

  8. Those purple azaleas remind me of the ones in our yard as a child growing up in South Louisiana. They were as common as grass and grew to be as high as the house in some cases. So glad you were able to save them and pass them on for future generations to enjoy. Enjoy your week.

  9. Those azaleas are beautiful and what a great picture of the two of you.

    You’ve made me curious…now I want to know your daughter’s nick-name. lol

    Hope you have a great day!

  10. I really love that photo of you and your sweetheart in front of those gorgeous azaleas! You really could not have picked a better spot for a photo! It was a fun Hodgepodge today!!

  11. Wow those azaleas are lovely. Quite a few of us seem to be wanting to clean windows!

  12. Better late than never…..Scent of a Woman is a great movie choice. Sorry about your Azaleas freezing.


Leave a Reply

