A Beautiful Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Hello, it’s me.  It’s hard to  believe another week has passed since I blogged.  Time seems to be passing at warp speed, these days.  At any rate, it’s Wednesday, and that means it’s time to participate in The Wednesday Hodgepodge, and it’s time to thank Joyce for being such a gracious hostess. Thanks, Joyce–for everything you do!

1. ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ What’s something you’ve seen recently that you thought was beautiful?

I think springtime blossoms [of all kinds] are beautiful.  Our azalea blossoms froze in mid-bloom, but there are still plenty of other kinds of blossoms all around–and pollen, too.  Oh, my goodness, pollen is horrible, this year!

I couldn’t mention spring blossoms without posting a picture–even if it’s off of the internet.  Isn’t this a pretty picture?

image via Google

2. Our culture and beauty…your thoughts?

I think many people tend to put too much emphasis on the way a person looks.  There seems to be more pressure to look”perfect”, these days, than when I was growing up.  As a result,  the orthodontist, dermatologist, cosmetologist, and plastic surgeon’s businesses are all booming.

3. Age before beauty, beauty queen, beauty mark, beauty sleep…which beauty-ful phrase resonates with you today? Why?

I’m going to say “beauty sleep” because I’m always striving for a good night’s sleep, which often proves to be elusive.  A good night’s sleep may not do much for my looks, but it sure makes me feel better the next day!

4. I read here a list of the top ten beasts animals that scare us the most-

alligators, coyotes, black bears, birds (but pigeons in particular), sharks, bats, bed bugs, rats, rattlesnakes, and the black widow spider.

Which ‘beast’ on the list scares you the most? What is the liklihood of you having an actual encounter with that particular beast? Did a movie contribute to your fear of this creature? Have you ever had a real life encounter with any of the animals listed?

The thought of encountering bed bugs actually scares me the most because I’ve heard they are so hard to get rid of!  I hope and pray I never find out!  I actually acquired my fear of bed bugs after an exterminator shared [with us] how often people get them, and how difficult they are to exterminate.

As for the other animals listed, I’ve had encounters with almost everything on the list, except black bears and alligators.  I’ve only seen those in exhibits.  Of all of my encounters, the one with a rattle snake was the scariest.  It was just a few feet away from  me, in the edge of our yard.

5. Where were you when you last heard a bell ring? Was it alarming or musical?

I suppose I was working at school [12 years ago] the last time I heard a bell ring. I don’t remember our elementary school having  actual timed bells (although they may have), but I do remember the teachers all had hand bells of various kinds which they rang at the end of recess or if the class was getting too loud during class.

6. What’s your favorite carb? How’s that for random?

How about a delicious slice of ten layered yellow cake with chocolate fudge icing between every layer and on top?!  Now that’s what I call carbs!

image via Google

7. Let’s wrap up another month of Hodgepodging and life with an acrostic. Recap your month using the word MARCH.

M-multiple trips to the dentist

A- a lot of time spent at church

R- ready to plant the rest of our garden

C- cats and grandchildren enjoying nice weather

H- hens laying eggs like crazy

Random:

I’ve decorated for Easter–inside and outside.  Here’s some of what I’ve done:  (PS If you look close in the second picture, you can still see the brown blossoms clinging to the azaleas.  So sad!)


Published in: on March 29, 2017 at 7:26 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/a-beautiful-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh your rattlesnake encounter does sound scary! The Easter tree is charming…your grandchildren must love it! (I don’t think that I understood #2 now that I have read a few responses. Oh well! My thinking can be quirky. 😶)

  2. The whole bed bug thing scares me, too. Yikes. Encountering a rattlesnake would be really scary. Glad I haven’t so far. I enjoyed your answers. Easter seems so late this year. Hope the rest of your week goes well.

  3. Gotta go with you on the bedbugs, Also agree on the 10 layer chocolate cake and beauty sleep.

  4. Good for your chickens! That layer cake looks fantastic. Don’t we all love carbs! I’ve never ever seen or had an issue with bedbugs. I’m pretty sure it’s something I want to avoid. I wonder if it’s less likely to have them in our cold climate. Sure hope so. 🙂

  5. Your first picture is lovely and reminds me of a place we have here in Central Louisiana known as Hodges Gardens. We also have a lovely public garden here in NW La. You must come visit and I’ll gladly share these beautiful places with you. Hope you have spring soon.

  6. Seems like many of us want that beauty sleep. That cake looks yummy. Love your Easter decorations.

  7. I’ll have a piece or 3 of your favorite carb! LOL Y’all will know if I ever encounter a snake of any kind because I’ll be dead from the heart attack. I can’t even when it comes to those horrid things. The Easter decorations are adorable! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  8. I didn’t even notice bedbugs on the list. I have heard awful things about them, too and how difficult they are to get rid of. I hope to never see the, or lice. They sound very similar. I’m sorry about your azaleas. That is sad. Love your decorations. What a cake!

  9. That cake looks delicious! The thought of bed bugs is pretty scary. Hope we never get them.

  10. I want a piece of that delicious looking stack of carbs! Love your Easter decorations! Enjoyed your HP today!!

  11. That cake looks wonderful! I’ve known of people getting bedbugs in their suitcases even in nice hotels, and then inadvertently bringing them into their own homes. It’s a lot of work to get rid of them once they’re in. How sad about your azaleas. We have nothing blooming up here, so no worries about any blossoms freezing!


Leave a Reply

