No Foolin’, It’s Time For The Hodgepodge…

Lately, it’s been busy here in our neck of the woods, but it’s time to take a break and settle down a while with The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  I always look forward to Wednesdays!  Thanks to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for this little bit of mid-week fun:)  Please join us if you can!

1. April is Lawn and Garden Month. On a scale of 1-10 what’s the current state of your lawn and/or garden. (10=a showpiece, 1=send in the professionals). Tell us about any lawn or garden plans you have for this month.

Well, Joyce, I’m so glad you asked, since we’ve been busy working on both!  At the moment, our lawn is about a 6.  Even though Ed’s treated it for weeds, and fertilized it, we haven’t had enough rain to make it lush and green, yet.  We’re getting there, though.

As for our garden, Phase 1 (potatoes, garden peas, onions) has been planted for over a month.  So far, I’d rate it about a 6, too, due to the strange weather we’ve been having. ( cold nights, hot days, no rain) 

Phase 2 (green beans, squash, cucumbers, peas, butter beans) has been planted about a week, and is just beginning to sprout.  So far, so good.  The tomatoes, cabbage, lettuce, and peppers seem to be doing okay, we’ll see how everything tolerates the 43 degree temps, wind, rain, and possible hail that’s headed our way, now.

2. “Many things grow in the garden that were never sown there.”~Thomas Fuller What does this quote mean to you?

First, I’m going to take this quote literally, because Ed and I have all kinds of grass and weeds sprouting in our garden and we didn’t plant any of it!  I can also take this quote figuratively, in remembering the difficult days of trying to raise children.  You love them, nurture them, and teach them all the right things, but, sometimes negative actions and behaviors spring forth from them, just like weeds in a garden.

3. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think about God?

Love/redemption/forgiveness/obedience.

4. If we were chatting in person, how would I know if you were nervous?

I’d probably fidget a bit, and not have very much to say, at first.  I don’t usually initiate  much conversation, but I’ll follow along if you’ll start it.

5. Do you like the color yellow? Would I find any in your home or wardrobe? Daffodils, tulips, roses, sunflowers, day lily, black-eyed susan…which yellow bloom on this list is your favorite?

Yellow is good, but it’s not among my favorite colors, except in flowers!  I can’t choose a favorite flower because I love daffodils, yellow roses, and sunflowers!  In fact, I grow sunflowers in the garden every year, see:


I do have a couple of yellow items in my wardrobe, but I don’t wear them often.  There’s no yellow in my home, unless you count the ceramic chicks sitting on the shelves in the living room.

6. Flip flops or bare feet?

Inside-bare feet.  Outside-flip flops or crocs.  I never go bare footed outside–we have free ranging chickens and crab grass!

7. Tell us about any Easter plans, celebrations, or traditions you’ll carry out this month.

Usually, I have all of the grandchildren over to color eggs on the Saturday evening before Easter.  This year, our daughter is planning to take over this tradition, and let the cousins color eggs at her house.

Ed and I will still be hosting the usual family Easter lunch and an egg hunt for the grandchildren, afterward, but this year will be different.  Usually, on Easter, Ed and I stay home to cook the meal and hide the eggs while everyone else is at church.

This year we will hide the eggs and cook the meal ahead of time, so we can attend Easter services, like everyone else does.  Our oldest son will be bringing the Easter message at his church, this year.  How special is that?!  I’m looking forward to being there.

Random:

Easter memories…

The other day, when I saw some little boys’ three-piece suits hanging in a store, I couldn’t help but remember Easters when our children were small!

It doesn’t seem that long ago when they were small,  but now our children are all grown up, with children of their own.  Our daughter has a daughter, and both sons have sons.

cir. 1987

In fact, three of our four grandchildren are now about the same ages  our children were in this old photo.
 cir. 1989

Last Easter it rained, so we didn’t get to take a family photo, but here’s a 2015 Easter picture of our crew, all grown up, with their families.  The thing I notice most about this photo is how much Ed and I look like the grandparents.  Oh, my!

Published in: on April 5, 2017 at 8:18 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/04/05/no-foolin-its-time-for-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What sweet family photos!! How time flies! Great answer about weeds. You’re a much better philosopher than i am! Your garden sounds amazing. We just got the frost out of our ground!

  2. I loved reading your answers and the second one is great! So very true. What sweet memories of Easter and the photos are good. Your answer about bare feet was what I thought of too, only it wasn’t chicken poop, but dog poop. Even when you keep it cleaned up, there’s only a trace. Ugh! I’m interested in growing sunflowers and in my search, I saw there is a dwarf variety. Are they easy?

  3. Those are some sweet family photos! I hope you enjoy all the Easter fun with your family, and I know hearing your son preach will be special.

  4. No rain? I keep hearing about the storms heading for Georgia. I guess you don’t live in that part of the state. At least your garden is planted and hopefully will produce once you actually get some rain.While I never had kids, your mention of the little boy suits reminded me of how my mother would dress up my youngest brother for Easter. He’s now 59 with a 28 year old daughter. He’s still a dapper dresser, but now it’s his wife who shops for his clothes!

  5. Those sunflowers are beautiful. I also like your family 2015 Easter photo. I always enjoying reading about your chickens and garden. Hope you have a great day.

  6. Weeds is a great answer! Sunflowers are a favorite of mine. I’m glad your daughter is taking over that tradition of coloring the eggs. Such sweet Easter photos. Enjoy your Easter celebrations.

  7. I’m trying to come to terms with how much I look like a grandma right now. How did that happen? LOL I remember dying eggs with my grandmother every year. To this day I cannot get the deep, vibrant colors she did. Now, tell me everything you know about having a boy around the house. 🙂 Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog today – wanted to come visit yours! Love your answers and am so jealous that you have a garden. I love fresh veggies!! There is nothing sweeter than broccoli picked from a garden (my husband laughs when I say that!)

  9. I loved Easters when I was little. The new hats, shoes, anklets, gloves and even a corsage to wear on Easter Sunday. Finding the Easter basket was such fun. I miss it. It’s nice to see your grands all dressed up for the special day!! Enjoyed your Hodgepodge!!

  10. we would get a long just fine. I love to meet new people and my friends say that I talk to hear myself talking
    come over see what we said at http://shopannies.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

