Hodgepodge # 307…

 

I hope all of you had a Happy Mother’s Day.  I know I sure did!  This year, my daughter took over the hosting duties, so I was able to sit back and just be a guest at her house.  It was a nice change, and I enjoyed it very much.

Speaking of  nice things, it’s time for The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  As always, our hostess, Joyce, has done a great job of providing us with great questions and a place to link up.  Thanks, Joyce, for all you do!

Now, here are today’s questions:

1. May 17th is National Pack Rat Day. Sidebar-should we be celebrating this? Hmmm…

No, we probably shouldn’t be celebrating this. Ha! Ha!

Are you a pack rat? Even if you’re not a full fledged pack rat, most people have one thing or another they struggle to part with. Tell us what’s yours.

Yes, unfortunately, I’m a pack rat.  I’m not a hoarder by any stretch of the imagination, but I do like to hang onto my things!  Sometimes, I also like to hang onto other people’s things, too, such as my now grown children’s toys or my late mother-in-law’s dishes.  What can I say?  Once it’s gone, it’s gone, and you can’t get it back, so I think about it for a long time before letting it go…

2. What are two things you know you should know how to do, but you don’t?

I don’t know how to put air in the tires of the car, and I don’t know how to drive our zero turn lawn mower.  I should learn how, but have no interest.

3. Do you crave sugar?  Yes, sometimes I do find myself craving something sweet, usually at night, when I certainly don’t need it!

Do you add sugar to your coffee and/or tea?  I don’t drink coffee at all, but I do drink diluted sweetened tea. (half tea and half water)

Do you use artificial sweeteners or sugar substitutes?  I have used them in the past, but I don’t any more.

When dining out is dessert a given?  No. I have to watch my sugar intake, so desserts are usually limited.

Are you someone who has slain the sugar dragon, and if so tell us how you did it.  About four years ago, right before Christmas, I was forced to give up all sugar for several months, due to a chronic yeast problem.  I went “cold turkey” and  it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do!  (Some form of sugar is in almost everything!) I felt lousy (for weeks) and even got a little depressed.  However my yeast problem improved, and I even lost several pounds.  Eventually, when I was able to slowly add some sugar back into my diet, I discovered everything tasted much too sweet, at first.  These days, my yeast problem is much better, but I still have to use moderation regarding sugar.

4. What’s a trend it took a while for you to come round to, but now you can’t imagine living without? I don’t know if it’s a trend anymore,  because it’s more a way of life, these days, but I’ll say using the internet.

5. What’s a song that reminds you of a specific incident in your life? Please elaborate.

  Leaving On a Jet Plane by Peter, Paul and Mary reminds me of when I rode with Ed’s parents to take him to the airport to get on a “jet plane”.  (I’m leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again…Kiss me and smile for me, tell me you’ll wait for me… Oh, babe I hate to go…)

It was August of 1970. I’d just turned 16, Ed was just about to turn 21, and we’d recently become engaged.  Ed was in the army, and was headed to Okinawa for his 18 month tour of duty, which actually turned into a 20 1/2 month tour, after all was said and done.  That trip to the airport was hard, but the trip back home, without Ed, was even worse!  Ed’s mama and I cried most of the way home, while Ed’s daddy tried to cheer us both up.

However,  all’s well that ends well, and it was a different story (and song) 20 1/2 months later when we all went back to that same airport to pick Ed up!  Oh, Happy Day!  Ed and I were married just 3 weeks later, and will soon celebrate our 45th anniversary.

Random:

A “Trouble” and the Man With the Can update

It’s been a while since I’ve written an update about “Trouble”, the cat, and the man with the can, who happens to be my husband, Ed.  For those who may not be familiar with “Trouble”, she’s the cat who’s been living at Ed’s parents’ house, alone, for almost five years.

“Trouble” is no spring chicken, she’s been around quite a while.  You see, we got her [as a kitten] from Ed’s parents when our youngest son was about 15, and he’s about to turn 32.  If you do the math, it comes out to about 17 years!

“Trouble” lived with us until around 2005, when she left  because she didn’t like all of the other cats I’d adopted from the local animal shelter.  She ended up back at Ed’s parents’ home, which is nearby, where she has remained even though the last occupants of the house moved away, around 5 years ago.  All this time, my husband, Ed, has faithfully gone to the house to feed “Trouble” every day–until about two or three weeks ago, when she didn’t show up one day.

It turns out that, after all of this time, “Trouble” has decided to move in with our oldest son and his family, who happen to live nearby, as well! (All of our homes are located on the family farm)  At first we thought “Trouble” had gone to our son’s house because he was borrowing our old car, which is usually  kept parked at Ed’s parents’ house (to discourage intruders).  However, our son returned the car, and “Trouble”  has continued to stay at their house–and I’m glad!  It made me sad to think of her living all alone at Ed’s parents’ house.  It’s good that “Trouble” has a family again–unless she decides to leave, which she’s prone to do.

“Trouble” is really showing her age, now.  Ed, who’s faithful to the end, still goes to our son’s house to feed “Trouble”, every day at five o’clock.  He does this because he knows what kind of food she likes, what time she expects to be fed, and I think he  just likes to check in on her.  The saga of “Trouble” and the man with the can continues…

 

Published in: on May 17, 2017 at 6:48 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/05/17/hodgepodge-307/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I say part with your kid’s toys, but never the dishes : ) I loved your song story, and I love that song too. I also really like the John Denver version. Have a great day!

  2. I have my mom’s depression glass collection, and it is massive. I also have her s & p shaker collection. About 275 sets. Those things never even entered my mind to get rid of.
    I really love that Trouble is such a free thinker. But, he seems to love your family. Good thing too!

  3. Your thoughts about holding onto things and reflecting on them before letting them go is good. You’re right: once they are gone, they are gone. That’s good that Trouble the Cat is with a family now, but is still close by. That’s neat that all of the homes are so close to one another on your family farm. Hope you have a nice week!

  4. I think that the story about your husband and Trouble is the sweetest thing. Hope you have a wonderful week.

  5. What a CUTE couple! Love the pic of you and Ed, and so glad he made it back. I think sugar is an all or nothing kind of thing. I loved Peter, Paul, and Mary, but get really annoyed if PBS tries to resurrect them for yet another pledge drive. LOL

  6. I love the story about your songs and their memories. Leaving on a jet plane triggers memories for me as well, but not as moving as yours. Sweet about your husband and trouble. How wonderful you live so close to your family. And the pic of you and your husband is so sweet. So very young.

  7. Your Ed sounds like such a sweet thoughtful man. Interesting of all the songs and musicians we could have named, we both recalled Peter, Paul and Mary. I so enjoyed your association with your song, and rejoice that you probably had a completely different one in mind when you picked him up. And married at 16! You were a beautiful bride and still are. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  8. As I started typing, I thought to myself, “we need to have a conversation rather than just my typing a few words” – so much to comment about today! I love your wedding picture – you are so beautiful. You were so young! I really really really love the story about the cat. Your hubby sounds like such a nice and caring man! I, too, have a problem with sugar and yeast. I don’t think I’ve ever chatted with anyone else who has this problem. I’m self diagnosed but there is a huge difference between when I eat a lot of sugar vs. not eating sugar. I thought I was just imagining it at first so did some “trial testing” on myself and lo and behold – sugar is the culprit!!

  9. Me too, I’m not a hoarder but I like all of the treasures that I have purchased over the years. I enjoyed reading your answers. Sweet little Trouble. Glad she is at your sons house and that is sweet how Ed takes such good care of her

  10. Great news about Trouble! I hated thinking of her alone, too. I wonder what made her decide to move. Ed is so sweet to continue his afternoon visits.

  11. I think Ed feeding that cat is about the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard. Love the picture of your younger selves. 45 years is a long time.Early congrats!

  12. Awww..thanks for the update on Trouble! It’s good to catch up on your news and I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers! Loved seeing your wedding picture!!

  13. Enjoyed your post today especially hearing about Trouble and I can see why you’re celebrating 45 years.

  14. What a great story about Trouble, the cat. I must confess that I’m not a cat person, mostly because I’m allergic to cat dander. We’ve had cats over the years but we’re pretty much dog people now.
    You’re lucky that Ed is so handy around mechanical things and electricity. That particular gene skipped over me. I’m more of an academic type.
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. All the best to you and Ed as summer comes upon us.


Leave a Reply

