In Our Neck Of The Woods (part one)…

It’s been a while since I’ve written an update post, so I thought I’d write about what’s been going on “in our neck of the woods”, so to speak.  There’s a lot to write about, so this will be a two-part post.  In hind sight, I probably should have entitled this post, “The Merry Merry Month of May.”  We did a lot of celebrating!

We started out the month of May with a birthday celebration.  Our oldest son turned thirty-five, on May 10, and we celebrated–twice!  His wife hosted a family party over the weekend, then we gave him a second little party on the following Wednesday night, at church.  Both celebrations involved good food and fellowship.

the birthday boy, flanked by our grandchildren

This year, we celebrated Mother’s Day at our daughter’s house.  She really went above and beyond getting ready for the occasion.  She spent almost a week decorating for the occasion, and everything looked so nice for the occasion.  I really wish I’d taken a few more pictures!

one of several displays  (that’s Ed and me with our moms)

I think our daughter enjoyed having company in her brand new kitchen, and we sure enjoyed eating the delicious food there!  The menu was bar-b-que chicken, with all of the trimmings, and it was a group effort, so everyone contributed.  Here’s a picture of me with my “babies” who aren’t so little anymore!

Mother’s Day 2017

I’ve forgotten the actual day, but somewhere around the middle of May, this little cutie graduated from K-4 at Busy Little Beavers preschool.  In case you couldn’t guess, the program had a western theme 🙂  I was so proud when Chase actually read a book, as a part of the program!  It’s good to start them reading early.

Chase was also awarded the “Busy Little Beaver” award, which is the equivalent of a “Principal’s Award”.  We’re very proud of our little Chase, who’s not-so-little, these days.

Of course, Memorial Day wasn’t far behind Mother’s Day, and, once again, our daughter offered to host the family at her house.  I appreciated this so much, because it gave me a break from hosting duties,  once again.

our hostess with her holiday table

We celebrated Memorial Day, a little early, with another cookout on the Saturday afternoon before the holiday.  The weather was beautiful, and we enjoyed being outside.


Ed and me, relaxing

watching the “grands” in the kiddie pool


watching some volley ball fun

Unfortunately, the Memorial Day weekend ended on a bit of a sour note when our son-in-law came down with the stomach virus!  Our daughter-in-law has been the only other family casualty of the virus, so far.  We’re all still holding our breath!

Meanwhile, I went to the dentist, on the day after Memorial Day due to a mild, but persistent, toothache.  He couldn’t find anything wrong with the tooth, but he prescribed a round of powerful antibiotics, just in case it was too early to spot an abscess (on x-ray) or in case a sinus infection could be causing the problem.  Within two days my tooth felt better, but Oh. My. Word, the side effects of the antibiotics have been awful!!!  I’ve been nauseated for five days.  Thank the Lord, today is the last day of taking them.   Now, if I can just avoid the deluge of yeast that usually follows antibiotics!  I’ve been faithfully taking  good probiotics, so we shall see.  I’m also hoping my toothache will become a permanent, fading memory, otherwise, a root canal could be in my future 😦

There’s also been lots of activity in and around the garden, this month, but that’s a post I’ll save for another day.  Until next time…

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on June 5, 2017 at 11:16 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/06/05/in-our-neck-of-the-woods-part-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your daughter sets a very pretty table. Hope all goes well with your tooth.

  2. Those were some awesome celebration and how wonderful to have your daughter host those parties. Enjoyed all the photos. Sorry about the effects of the medicine you took for your tooth. Thanks for the updates.

  3. Kathy, it is so good to catch up with you!! I’ve missed you. Looking forward to Part 2!! How great that your daughter-in-law is hosting holidays!! Her table looked great for Memorial Day and for Mother’s Day! Little Chase is adorable! Great photo of you and your kids. I sure enjoyed your post!!


Leave a Reply

