A Summertime Hodgepodge…

1. The first day of summer rolls in later this week. What are ten things you’d put on your list of quintessential summer activities? Will you try to manage all ten this summer?

I’m not sure I can list ten things, but here are my favorite summer activities: (1) sitting under my favorite oak tree at St. Simon’s Island while admiring the view (of course!), (2) buying a new beach ornament for my ‘year round tree’, (3) having a family cookout, (4) picking blackberries and making jelly, (5) watching the hummingbirds feed, (6) making/eating a BLT made with home-grown tomatoes, (7) making fresh flower arrangements with zinnias/sunflowers from our garden, (8) picking, cooking, and canning a variety of vegetables from our garden and (9) celebrating our wedding anniversary.  (I almost thought of ten!)

 

2. Do you collect seashells when you’re at the beach? What do you do with them once you get them home? What’s your favorite place to comb for seashells? How many of these ‘best beaches for hunting seashells’ have you visited? Which one would you most like to visit?  Calvert Cliffs State Park (Maryland), Jeffrey’s Bay (South Africa), Sanibel Island (Florida), Shipwreck Beach (Lanai Hawaii), Ocracoke Island (North Carolina), Galveston Island (Texas) and The Bahamas

I used to collect seashells from the beach, and display them in a pretty jar, at home.  I don’t collect them anymore, though.  I still display a few of my favorite seashells in a bowl and I hang some on my ‘year round’ tree, during the months of July/August, when it’s decorated in a beach theme.

I think the beaches of Florida have the prettiest shells of anywhere I’ve been.  I haven’t visited any of the ‘best beaches’, but I’d love to go to Sanibel Island (in Florida) or Shipwreck Beach (in Hawaii).

3. At a snail’s pace, shell out money, come out of your shell, go back into your shell, drop a bombshell, happy as a clam, clam up…which ‘shell’ phrase could most recently be applied to some event or circumstance in your life? Explain.

“At a snail’s pace” describes the way I move every morning when I first get out of bed.  I’m not currently taking Nsaids for my Rheumatoid arthritis, and it’s much harder for me to get up and get moving in the mornings. (Nsaids are very hard on the digestive system, and I’m trying to give mine a break) The struggle is real, folks.

4. What summer activity do you dislike? Why?

Here in the south, the temperatures hover in the high 90’s for most of the summer.  We also have these annoying insects called gnats and mosquitoes.  Therefore, I dislike any activity that requires my presence outside after 9 a.m. or before 7 p.m. unless it’s in a place where there are no gnats or mosquitoes.

5. What’s something you see as quickly becoming obsolete? Does that bother you?

A lot of things crossed my mind, but I’m going to say correct spelling and grammar!  Yes, it bothers me very much!  It’s downright painful to read some of the posts I see on Facebook.

Random:

This summer, there’s a new phenomenon happening in our little neck of the woods, and it’s called “Tattnall County Rocks”.  It all started with one woman and a Facebook page.  One very talented lady decided to paint a few rocks, hide the rocks all over the county, then post clues on her official “Tattnall County Rocks” Facebook page giving hints about where the rocks were hidden.  This activity has become very popular, very quickly, and people of all ages are now painting, hiding, and finding rocks!

Whoever finds a hidden rock, posts where they found it, and usually takes a picture of the rock. Then they either hide the rock somewhere else, or hide another painted rock to replace the one they decide to keep.  Then they post a clue concerning where their rock has been hidden.

It’s an activity designed to get children and their parents outside and moving–together.  It also challenges them to see what kind of rocks they can create.  What a neat idea, and it sounds like fun to me!

Our granddaughter and her mom went out and joined the fun, last week.  They found three rocks using the clues they’d read on Facebook.  They are currently in the process of painting more rocks to replace the ones they found, since granddaughter, Madison, wanted to keep the rocks she found.

Published in: on June 21, 2017 at 7:05 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2017/06/21/a-summertime-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never made blackberry jam, but there’s a place to pick blackberries near my house and if I can squeeze it in I just might give it a try. Stay cool and enjoy your summer to-dos!

  2. The county rocks event is a great idea!! I’ll be making jam too. Looks like we’ll have a bumper crop of raspberries. That BLT with warm tomato fresh from the garden sounds wonderful!

  3. I am sorry about the RA. I don’t have it myself, but know of women who do. I know it ain’t fun.
    I two agree with you the speling and gramer things. Their just doesn’t seem to any hope for it to get better. In fact when my son was in high school they were told to rely on spell check. That came from a teacher!

  4. I haven’t been able to think of anything else since you mentioned BLT’s with fresh homegrown tomatoes. It’s still too early here for the tomatoes, but I think I know what we’re having for supper!

  5. That’s a great list of things to do this summer. I wish you didn’t have to take the Nsaids, they can really mess you up. However because of my a-fib I am not allowed Nsaids and I would love to take some for my knee pain! I love the rock story, that sounds like so much fun.

  6. I’m on board with your 10, (okay, 9) summer activities except for #8. Been there, done, never again. And #9 wold be nice if my marriage had lasted more than 10 years. But we’re still friends on opposite sides of the country

  7. I think number 8 could have been listed individually and you would have had more than ten. Loved all your pictures and the thought of a BLT with those beautiful tomatoes makes me drool. I love the rock idea. What fun! I couldn’t agree with you more about spelling and grammar. It isn’t just on Facebook, but also true in news stories. It’s shocking. I do realize sometimes autocorrect is to blame and sometimes my iPad does weird things, but most of the time … not. Happy anniversary.

  8. Amen on the grammar and spelling. I love the idea of the painted rocks. I need something to get me out of the house. Perhaps winter? LOL

  9. I’m sorry to hear about your painful mornings. I empathize because mt knee’s strenuously objects every morning when I get out of bed. I too try to stay away from taking medicine that I can live without.
    Judging from the size of your garden, Ed must love the work. At least with a garden you have some tangible fruits of your labor. With grass it’s mostly just labor.
    I hope that you an Ed have a wonderful summer!


Leave a Reply

