The Wednesday Hodgepodge For September 12…

Is it just me, or is time flying by for anybody else?   Sometimes I get a knot in the pit of my stomach when I realize just how quickly time is passing.  Speaking of time–it’s Wednesday and that means it’s time for “The Hodgepodge”!  Here are Joyce’s questions for this week:

1. ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL? The NFL is back in action along with all the college teams. Are you a fan? Who do you root for? If you’re not a fan what do you do while the rest of America watches Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, and now Thursday night games?

No, I’m not a fan of football at all!  I can be a good sport, if others want to watch, but I’ll be on the computer or doing something else to distract my attention from the game.

2. What’s something I’ll always find in your closet?

Too much stuff!  I desperately need to do some fall cleaning.

3. Share one of your earliest memories.

I remember sticking a bobby pin into an electrical outlet when I was very young.  Let’s just say “It made a “shocking” impression on me!”

4. What circus act best describes your week so far?

I don’t know…perhaps a tight rope walker.  Tension has been pretty high for a while.

5. What’s a food you disliked as a child but you love now?

Turnip greens.

6. Describe your summer in three words.

Several phrases come to mind such as–rain and mosquitoes, hot and steamy, ups and downs, but I’m going to go with uncomfortable and unforgettable.

7. Where were you on September 11, 2001? Will you do anything special to mark the day this year?

I was working in a first grade classroom at our local elementary school.  I still remember a co-worker stopping me in the hall and telling me what had happened.  When the children finally went out for recess at 10:30, I turned on the television and couldn’t believe my eyes…  No, I will not be doing anything special to mark the day, but I’ll never forget .

Random:

We’re enjoying a little break from the rain and heat this week.  The high’s for the next couple of days will only be in the mid-eighties, along with some  gentle breezes.   That’s still warm, but so much better than the nineties!  It feels good to be able to enjoy a little time outside.  Bring on fall!

Published in: on September 12, 2012 at 9:08 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-for-september-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A shocking day for sure! I guess back then no one had the outlet plugs, I know we didn’t growing up. We are in the 70’s up here.

  2. I absolutely love that fall photo! It gives me warm fuzzies! Autumn is such a cozy season!

  3. Back in the day where we learned by doing I guess : ) Outlet covers are a good thing!

    That is a stunning photo. I love the colors of fall!

  4. Wow! That last picture is breathtaking! I’m ready for fall, too! Not a fan of turnip greens…probably never will be.

  5. Nice segue into the hodge podge up there! I can’t believe I now ‘know’ someone who actual stuck a bobby pin in a socket. I’m glad nothing bad happened to you!

  6. I’m with you- bring on fall! Love that picture and am so excited for my favorite season to arrive. We have been having cooler mornings but the afternoons are still heating up.
    Glad you are okay after that bobby pin incident. How scary!

  7. That is a beautiful picture…I don’t think anyone who was alive and aware could forget 9/11. I was on my way to Bible Study when the first tower was hit and already there and watching television coverage when the second one was hit.
    I love college football. The only thing is that we wait all summer for it to get cool enough to do something fun outdoors then football season starts and we’re inside on Saturdays. There is a night game coming up so we’ll try to do something that day.
    Its been really nice outside these last few mornings but the Mosquitoes are still bad, have to spray liberally whenever I go out.
    By the way we have seen two new babies fish which probably were born in the Spring.
    Have a good weekend,
    Mama Bear

  8. That’s definitely where we’re different – I absolutely LOVE football – college and NFL. LOL


Leave a Reply

