Hello Hodgepodge!

Goodbye tax deadline, hello Hodgepodge!  Participating in The Hodgepodge is way more fun than paying taxes, so let’s join in a little mid-week fun with hostess, Joyce, and friends.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. April 15th is the deadline for Americans to file their state and federal income tax returns. What’s a job you do on a regular basis that could be described as ‘taxing’?

I find cleaning the bathroom to be very taxing, and I hate doing it!  I’m okay with cleaning the sink, and even the toilet, but that shower stall, with all its soap scum, is no fun at all to clean!

2. I’m participating in the April A-Z blog challenge, and the Hodgepodge happens to fall on Day O this week. In keeping with that theme…olives, onions, oysters, okra…of the foods mentioned, what’s your favorite O food?

I don’t like olives or oysters, so I’m going to have to choose onions over okra–especially those sweet Vidalia onions!  They’ll be ready, and coming to a table near me soon!

3. What is something memorable you experienced as a child that your own children (or future children/nieces/nephews) will not get to experience?

They will never know the age of innocence and freedom that I knew as a child! The streets of our little town were safe, and most people didn’t even lock the doors of their houses at night.  Children rode their bikes everywhere without fear of anyone bothering them.  Small groups of children could even go trick-or-treating without their parents!  All television programming was “family friendly”, and in good taste.  Movies weren’t filled with violence and sex.   The majority of people still believed in God, had morals and values, and lived by the “Golden Rule”.  You could trust people to do the right thing.

4. Term limits for our elected officials…your thoughts?

Yes, please!  We need term limits for elected officials.  The age of “career politicians” needs to come to an end!

5. On April 18th, 1775, Paul Revere made his famous ‘midnight ride’…when did you last make a midnight ride? Perhaps the fate of a nation wasn’t hanging in the balance, but tell us where you were headed anyway.

I honestly don’t remember, because it’s been quite a while since I’ve been on a midnight ride!  Neither Ed or I can see how to drive well at night anymore, so we make it a point to be home long before midnight.

6. What would freak you out more…a mouse running across your floor or a big fat hairy spider?

A mouse, because I know, where there’s one, there’s bound to be another, and they can be difficult to get rid of.

7. I love it when people ask me...if my daughter and I are sisters!

Random:

I’m still thinking of, and praying for, the victims (and their families) of Monday’s bombings at the Boston Marathon.  What a shame!  So many lives changed forever, in the twinkling of an eye.

Published in: on April 17, 2013 at 8:57 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/hello-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, the whole Boston bombing events have left me reeling and wondering why could anyone be so heartless and evil? Makes no sense. Praying for all affected! My oldest daughter and I get mistaken sometimes for sisters. The people asking may be lying like dogs, but I love it! 🙂

  2. My hubs enjoys cleaning the shower…it’s one of his best qualities : ) When he interviewed almost 30 years ago with the company he still works for, his future boss flew from Washington DC to Knoxville to meet him. He was aghast that my hubs had left his car unlocked at the airport! Course we wouldn’t do that now.

  3. Love your answer to #3 and I completly agree with you. We did grow up in a good age! I don’t mind washing the shower at all. I’m still stunned by what happened in Boston, it’s about an hour from me so that was close.

  4. We really did grow up in a more innocent time. I get so sad sometimes thinking about all that assails our children. Morality is a dirty word these days…

  5. Now that would be cool for someone to think you and your daughter are sisters!

  6. I have to clean the bathroom however I don’t mind as hubby cleans the rest of the house.

  7. We had so many answers the same this week!

  8. I agree that the shower stall is the worst! My husband and I were just talking about The Golden Rules and sadly how different things are today.


Leave a Reply

