A ‘Rosy’ Little Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Where in the world does the time go?  It’s Wednesday again, so it’s time for a little bit of ‘Hodgepodge’!  As always, thanks to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for providing us with another great set of questions.  Just click on the cute little button if you’d like to play along…

1. What question do you often ask yourself?

Daily, I’ll ask myself – Now what in the world did I come in here for? or that ‘age old’ question – What am I going to cook for supper?

2. Do you grow roses? What’s your favorite color of rose? Ever been given a dozen roses? Where was the prettiest rose or rose garden you remember seeing?

I planted an entire rose garden thirty-six years ago, and one-by-one, all of my rose bushes died the following year!  I never tried having a rose garden again.  These days, I have one small (pink) miniature rose-bush growing out in the yard.  It must be a tough little bush because it often gets neglected, and it’s been there for several years.

As for my favorite color of roses, I like pastel pink best, but yellow comes in a close second.

My neighbor (across the field from us) has one of the prettiest rose gardens around here.  She loves doing yard work, and apparently has a green thumb!

My sweet husband, Ed, usually surprises me with a dozen roses a couple of times a year, but I actually bought myself this dozen rainbow rose assortment, at Easter time–because they were on sale and I liked them!  Bright orange roses complimented the pink and yellow ones, and made a very colorful bouquet.

100_2230

3. Do you read the freshness dates on grocery store products? Will you use eggs past their ‘use by’ date? Take medication that’s expired? Buy a dented can?

Yes, I do read the freshness dates on grocery items, and I won’t buy items if they are close to expiration. I will use eggs past their ‘use by date’, as long as it’s within just a few days.  I’ll also take medication if it’s recently expired, but I don’t really like dented cans…  Go figure!

4. Should athletes be role models?

In most cases, NO!  With the exception of a rare few.  Tim Tebow is one of the rare ones who comes to mind…

5. Edmund Hillary of New Zealand and Tenzing Norgay of Nepal became the first explorers to reach the top of Mt. Everest on this date (May 29) back in 1953. What’s something you hope to achieve in your lifetime?

I doubt I will ever accomplish this in what’s left of my lifetime, but I’d love to learn how to play some kind of musical instrument–like a piano or a guitar.   I probably should be more realistic and just strive to get all my photos into scrapbooks!

6. What would you do if you had twenty acres of land and the money to develop it any way you choose?

What an interesting thought!  If I had twenty acres of land (ocean front, of course!), and plenty of money, I’d build some condos, keeping an apartment for myself, as a summer get-away.  I’d rent or sell the other units for a source of retirement income!

7. If I invite you to a party with a 7 PM start time, what time will I actually see you there?

That’s a tough one.  I hate to be late, but I don’t like to be the first one to arrive to a party either!  I’d probably show up around 7:10–and feel guilty for being late!

Random:

Once again, I’m behind with posting and visiting on-line friends.  I’m sorry, but it’s been busy here in our neck of the woods!

In addition to painting the front porch, I’ve picked, shelled, blanched, and frozen several packages of garden peas in the past few days.

It’s dry here, so I’m also dragging 150 feet of water hose around the garden, and moving around 300 feet of soaker hoses, at least once a day.  No rain in sight.  I’ve lost two more pounds since I began gardening last month!  Who needs a gym membership?!

Our family had an old-fashioned Memorial Day cookout on Monday–and we ate outside, too!  Fun times with family.  Jennifer’s pregnancy is beginning to show a bit.  Sixteen weeks and counting…  Soon we’ll know the gender of grandbaby #4.

I broke a tooth over the three-day weekend, and had to visit the dentist on Tuesday. Not a fun time, but thankful for my dentist and the fact that he could fix my tooth!  I’ve been having tooth issues for over a month.  It turned out the cracked tooth was also causing the tooth below it to throb (before the cracked tooth actually broke)!

I picked a 160 ft. row of green beans, then snapped them by myself–before I went to the dentist on Tuesday.  I came back from the dentist, then had to ‘can’ all those beans, cook supper, and water the garden.  More fun times!

Ed’s off again, this Friday, and we are planning to meet my brother and his wife at Simon’s Island for the day.  It’s been nearly a year since we’ve all seen each other, so I’m looking forward to our visit–and the great atmosphere under my favorite oak tree!  The garden will have to wait for a day…

Garden, Chickens 001

I’m canning green beans this week, so I’m not sure when I’ll have a chance to post again, but I’ll be back as soon as I can.  In the meantime, I’ll either be in the garden or in the kitchen, with the exception of my one-day trip to the beach.  Fun times!

Published in: on May 29, 2013 at 9:29 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/a-rosy-little-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, you have been busy! I’m impressed! I haven’t even potted my patio pots yet. The weather hasn’t cooperated…I was in jeans and a sweatshirt yesterday…it poured too and we’ve got more coming. I keep saying I’ll get to them, but I have no idea when. Enjoy your day and your green beans-yum!

  2. Phew!! You’re a busy lady. Sounds like you’re making a lot of memories and doing nice things. Happy canning!

  3. You are really busy with that garden … but it will be worth it when you are enjoying the fruits of your labor this winter. Our garden is not getting off to a very good start.

    I forgot the “what am I going to fix for dinner” question. 😉

  4. The beans look good and the roses are beautiful. Hope you have fun at St. Simons’ (even if it is only one day).

  5. Ok I’m tired just reading what you did in the garden.I hope you have fun at your day trip and then get right back to the garden!!

  6. You never have a dull moment do you!?!

  7. So true, I’m always asking myself that question. I’ve always loved yellow roses. Funny how years ago we didn’t have freshness dates! I agree they athletes shouldn’t be idols but it always seems to happen and then they go bad. Wow your already canning, that’s awesome.

  8. I didn’t jump on the Tebow Train and still don’t but agree that he could be a decent role model. You have to watch anyone your kids (or grandkids) are looking up to, not just athletes. In some ways athletes are better than anyone in hollywood. At least they work hard towards their goals in order to excel at what they do. I think sometimes the “stars” take their talent for granted and think they deserve to be adored.

    Hmmm… That sounds like I’m promoting athletes as role models when in reality I’m just saying all parents need to know who their children look up to and why and how you can re-direct that if necessary. My son likes Kevin Durant from the Okalahoma City Thunder (NBA) and so now I keep a close eye on Kevin Durant in the media to see what he’s doing, how he behaves on the court, what he does for others, even what tatoos he’s getting.

    I was leery of Hannah Montana’s Miley Cyrus when she first came out because everyone jumped on the bandwagon and thought what a great Christian girl she was. Something didn’t “smell right” and we skipped over that hype with our kids. Gladly so, cuz’ look where she is now. The same with Justin Beiber. Fame, no matter where it comes from, can be a huge downfall on a young person. Tim Tebow may come out gold, but he’s still passing through the fire right now with all the trials he’s been facing with the NFL and I’m curious to see who he will be on the other side.

    There are many extraordinary athletes who do extraordinary things and if you look at how they accomplish what they accomplish I think kids can definately learn from that perserverance.

    I’ll get off my soapbox now. 🙂

    BTW… I posted again!

  9. A tasty–and tiring, post. You are one super busy gal.


Leave a Reply

