Hodgepodgin’…

It’s time for a little mid-week ‘Hodgepodgin’ with Joyce and friends!  By now, we all know the drill–answer the questions, then hop around and visit each other to compare answers. Thanks to Joyce for furnishing the questions and for hosting The Hodgepodge.  Thank you (in advance) for your visits and comments!

1. When it comes to good manners, what two top your list of most important?

(1) Say “please” and “thank you”

(2) Wait your turn.

These days, it’s getting harder and harder to find people who are willing to do either of these things.  It seems like gratitude has fallen by the wayside.  Everyone expects everything to be given to them, and nobody seems to appreciate anything.

Believe it or not, an elderly woman actually broke in front of me in the check out line, not long ago!  I was appalled!  I certainly expected better behavior from a ‘senior citizen’!

2. Let’s open a proverbial can of worms…Common Core. Are you familiar with the term (talking education reform in the USA)? If so, care to share your thoughts? In your opinion, what is one of the biggest issues schools (in your home country) face today?

Yes, I’m very familiar with Common Core, and it’s one of the reasons I’m thankful our granddaughter is being ‘home schooled’!  As far as I’m concerned, Common Core is rotten to the core, and needs to GO!  (Has anyone seen the new method used to teach math??? Crazy!)  More big government agenda…  Parents wake up!!

The biggest issue our schools are facing is our children’s (lack of) education.  Our children have been (and still are) being ‘dumbed down’ thanks to our government.  Having spent nearly 15 years working in public school and seeing what’s taught there, or should I say, what’s NOT being taught there, versus seeing what’s being taught through ‘home school’ programs is all the proof I need.  The difference is like night and day!  For instance, in public school, cursive writing is gone, math drills are gone, and spelling is sporadic–and that’s just the beginning.

3. Name a celebrity whose fashion sense you admire and share why.

It’s sad, but I can’t think of one celebrity that I admire for fashion sense.  When I think of most celebrities, and how they dress, I generally think “trashy”.

4. How are you affected by the changing seasons?

Spring always makes me feel renewed and refreshed.  I have lots of energy and always feel good in spring!  Winter, on the other hand, makes me feel tired and depressed.

5. Scariest book you’ve ever read?

I haven’t read a ‘traditional’ scary book in many years.  However, I love to read autobiographies.  A while back, I read a book entitled Escape by Carolyn Jessup, which made the hair on the back of my neck stand up.  She lived (and finally escaped from) a life with the FLDS church.  I also read A Stolen Life, the true story of Jaycee Dugard which was the horrific story of all of her years in captivity with her abductor and his wife.  Scary stuff, and true!

6. What time of day are you most hungry? What’s your go-to snack?

I get hungry for a snack around four o’clock in the afternoon.  These days, my go-to snack is a banana or an apple.  Sometimes I’ll also have a few cashews.  A far cry from my former snack of cookies or a candy bar!

7. Do you lean more towards being too needy or too independent? Which do you find harder to deal with in others?

I tend to lean more toward being too needy.  I grew up in a time when women depended on their husbands more.  Most women didn’t work back then, and my grandmother and mother never even knew how to drive a car!  I’m much more independent than the women who came before me, but I’m still needy at times.

I’m not sure which trait I find harder to deal with, but I’ll say ‘too independent’ simply because it goes against how I was raised.  I’ve never been much into ‘women’s lib’.

Random:

Seven years ago, today, we were blessed with our first grandchild, Madison Elizabeth.  She’s brought so much joy to our family since her birth, and continues to do so each day.

While I miss those sweet, precious ‘baby days’, I’m so proud of the young lady that Madison is becoming!  She works hard on her school work, and is learning so many new things!   She makes me smile…

 

100_2800 (2)

Happy Birthday, Madison! I hope your birthday is a great one!

Published in: on October 23, 2013 at 7:19 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/hodgepodgin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday to your granddaughter! I had a young violinist in my house once upon a time too. I miss the squeaky strum of a new musician : ) I read Escape-an interesting book.

  2. A little old lady cut in front of me at checkout. Another little old lady hijacked my spot in the bathroom line on a flight. I still can’t believe it happened to me twice!! and they were both seniors! What’s up with that?

  3. Happy happy birthday to the sweet violinist!!! Madison. Hope your day will be super.

    As for the answer to your first question/hodgepodge, I say YAY!!! I applaud you.

    Both of your book choices sound TERRORific tho…even if they were true.

  4. What a beautiful granddaughter you have!

  5. Love your answer to #2- I am so happy we homeschool 🙂
    Happy Birthday to your beautiful granddaughter!

  6. Happy birthday to your beautiful granddaughter!

    It’s funny because there are times when I miss the younger years but then I think, well, if they were always that young then I would miss out on who they are becoming and will someday grow up to be.

  7. Your Madison is just beautiful!! I can see why she makes you so proud! I enjoyed your answers, and found them very much like my own!

  8. Your sweet Madison is so adorable … no wonder you are so proud of her, I love your answers this week.


Leave a Reply

