Just Me On Monday (again)…

I’m sitting here blogging, as I watch the sun beginning to rise in the eastern sky. I feel blessed to begin my week in such a relaxing way. For the moment, life is good.

This past weekend was like so many others, lately. Saturday began with rain–again! Since Ed couldn’t get outside to do anything else, he spent the morning preparing and filing our income taxes. Joy, joy! For the first time, ever, I convinced Ed to file electronically.  He wasn’t so sure about that! The rain finally subsided, around lunch time, and we were able to spend a couple of hours outside, in the sunshine, before dark.

On Friday afternoon, I’d gone back to town and purchased two small trees for our yard.  Ed planted those trees for me on Saturday afternoon.  Lately, nothing seems to come easy, so of course, the original spot I’d picked out for the first tree, had a stump in the middle of it! (the top of the stump had been ground off, so we couldn’t see it anymore)  Finally, after a couple of hours of searching and thinking, Ed and I settled on two different spots for our new trees and got them planted!  After all of that, I sure hope our trees survive.

Sunday was devoted to family.  I put on my ‘big girl panties’ and got in the kitchen and cooked lunch for the entire family!  I don’t do this often, anymore, so it was an adventure to pull it all together!  As always, it was good to have everyone (all twelve of us) together under our roof, once again.  As time goes on, these moments are becoming rarer, therefore, they are becoming even more treasured.

We were all reminded of just how fragile life is on Friday, when the husband of one of Ed’s cousins drove up to the pumps of our community gas station, exited his truck, then collapsed on the concrete.  He suffered a massive stroke, and died a short time later.  You just never know…  Live for today, people, ’cause there may not be a tomorrow!

On that somber note, I’ll switch to “The Monday Quiz”, hosted by Wayne and Heather over at Acting Balanced.  As always, thanks to them for hosting this fun Monday meme.

Here are the questions, along with my answers:

Acting Balanced

1. February 10th is Clean Out Your Computer Day! It’s a day to logically review, and delete old files and programs. Will you be taking part?

No.  Rarely do I ever delete anything.  That’s why I always choose a computer with a huge hard drive.

2. February is also National Grapefruit Month – are you a grapefruit lover? Recipes?

No grapefruit for me!  I can’t stand the stuff.

3. Are you watching the Olympics? What events hold your interest or are you just ignoring the whole thing?

Yes, I have been watching some of the Olympics, but not all of them.  The figure skating is my favorite event (in all categories), but I’ve enjoyed watching some of the snowboarding and skiing, as well.  As usual, I don’t always agree with some of the Olympic judges’ scores 😦

4. Valentine’s Day is Friday – are you planning to celebrate?

I’ll bake Ed a heart-shaped German Chocolate cake, and have it ready when he gets home from work.  Other than that, we don’t have any plans, at the moment.  We’ll probably just relax and spend the evening at home.  That’s what we do best 🙂

Epilogue:  I’m a bit late in finishing and posting this. After five days of looking,  I never did find my eyeglasses, so I had to stop blogging and make a trip to my optometrist’s office.  New frames have been picked out, glasses ordered.  I nearly died when I found out the price!  Let’s just say, I’ll need a ‘tracking device’ attached to them, ’cause I certainly can’t afford to lose another pair!

My question:  Have you ever lost anything valuable?

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on February 10, 2014 at 12:28 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/just-me-on-monday-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry about the loss of Ed’s cousin. Yes, we really do need to remember each day is a gift from God and really live like we believe it.

    Spending time with family is a good thing and just spending time at home and relaxing is a really good thing.

  2. I understand about feeding “the gang”! There are 14 of us…15 in May. I feel like I have really done something when I get everything done, on the table and still hot! Hope your trees live, too…they can be delicate. So, your Ed likes German Choc cake, huh? Me too…it’s my favorite! 🙂

  3. Post-stroke I know about how uncertain the future is. There is just one way to be certain and from your posts I think you are grounded in faith and live every day to the fullest, investing yourself joyfully in those around you.

  4. So sorry to hear about Ed’s cousin-in-law. Very sobering. My brother’s boss died of a heart attack last month at 53. You are so right about enjoying each day – no matter what it may hold.

  5. Yum – German Chocolate cake! Nothing better if the icing is homemade! Yum!!

    This is my third try to post … hope it “takes” this time!

  6. So sorry about Ed’s cousin husband….((Hugs))
    Good luck with your new trees. Way to go on cooking for the family. I can relate to that. After cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc. for over 40 years I just don’t want to do it anymore. No one seems to get that over here! When can we retire from our jobs…….


Leave a Reply

