Hello Again, Hodgepodge…

Hello there!  It’s Wednesday, therefore it’s time to join in the Hodgepodge, once again.  Thanks again to our hostess, Joyce, who never ceases to amaze me with her questions each week 🙂  I only wish my answers could be half as interesting as her questions!

1. Under what circumstances do you do your best thinking?

I’m not exactly sure when I do my best thinking, but I do the majority of my thinking late at night, whenever I’m unable to sleep (which is quite often, these days).

2. Are you a risk taker? What’s one big risk you’ve taken?

No, I’m not a risk taker at all.  One of the biggest risks I’ve ever been a part of was when Ed and I decided to build a new home next door to the old home we’d lived in for over 30 years.  Designing and building the home ourselves, with a very limited budget, was quite an undertaking–especially at our age.  At times, the challenges seemed overwhelming, but we survived, and have been happily living in our new home for almost seven years–and it’s paid for!

3. Some of the most common phobias according to the National Institute for Mental Health are-fear of spiders (arachnaphobia), snakes (ophidiophobia), heights (acrophobia), fear of spaces from which escape is difficult (agoraphobia), fear of thunder and lightening (astrophobia), fear of dogs (cynophobia), injections (trypanophobia), social situations, flying (pteromerhanophobia) and fear of germs and dirt (mysophobia). True phobias affect only about 10% of adults, but of those listed which would you rate as your greatest fear?

I could actually choose several of these phobias, but a fear of snakes ranks pretty high on my list.  I don’t like snakes of any kind!

4. Are you settled or do you feel the need to move somewhere new?

We’ve lived here on the family farm for 37 years, so I think we’re definitely settled!  I have absolutely no desire to live anywhere else.

5. What is something you find annoying when dining in a restaurant?

I get annoyed by crying babies or loud, over-active children who cause disturbances.  Poor service ranks a close second.

6. Daffodil yellow, sunset orange, spring green, or sky blue…your favorite color this time of year?

Of the colors listed, sky blue would be my favorite–any time of the year!  Of course, spring green is a beautiful sight, too, after seeing brown all winter.

7. If you were going to take a holiday all by yourself, where would you go?

I’d probably just go to nearby St. Simon’s Island or Amelia Island because I’m familiar and comfortable with both of those places.  Both places sort of feel like home since I’ve been there so many times!

Random:  

We lost another furry friend, this week, when our dog named Ethan passed away.  Many of our beloved pets are getting on up in years, and, at times, it feels a bit like a Hospice Home for animals around here.  Our remaining dog will soon be ten, and nine of our twelve cats are ten years old–or older!   Even our parakeet is over nine years old.  I’m reminded, daily, how precious and fragile life really is, and I’m always wondering who’s going to be next?

I’ve had more than my share of pets over the years.  I can’t remember very many times when our family didn’t have at least one pet of some kind or another.  For the past ten years we’ve had lots of pets, following my year of volunteer work at the local animal shelter!  Having pets brings me great joy, but losing them brings me great pain, as well.  I’m feeling lots of pain, this week.

A couple of years ago I put together a video of all of the pets we’ve had, or still have.  In honor of Ethan’s passing, I’m re-posting that video.  Many pets have passed away since I made the video, but some of the animals on the video are still among our aging crew.  We still have cats ‘Trouble’(who lives at Ed’s mom’s house), ‘Charlie’, ‘Smut’, ‘Big Red’, ‘MAC’, ‘Kyle’, ‘Kitty Bee’, ‘Drake’, ‘Sara Callie Girl’, ‘Suzie Q’, ‘Fat Susan’, and ‘Bobs’.  Morris, the dog, and ‘Tweety’, the parakeet are still with us, as well.

I hope you’ll take a moment to enjoy the antics of our crazy pets.

 

Published in: on May 21, 2014 at 6:50 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/21/hello-again-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So sorry you lost your dog…that is never easy. Our oldest dog is almost 14. She seems to be hanging in there alright, but I’m slowly preparing my heart for the inevitable. I think it’s so neat that you’ve lived on your family farm for nearly 40 years. Ahh…the memories, huh?

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about Ethan. I watched the video of all your sweet companion animals. People just don’t know what they’re missing when they do not have them in their lives. They’re a wonderful addition. We’ve lost my huge GSD and a sweet buff colored cat, both over 12 years old, in the past year and a half. We still have two dogs, but it is hard to lose any pets.

  3. Well I guess after 37 years you are settled. You’re fortunate to have family nearby too. Ours is spread hither and yon, so we plan to settle somewhere they want to visit : ) Sorry again about the loss of your sweet pup.

  4. What a sweet video. So sorry for the loss of your furry friend. Our animals definitely become part of the family. We also live on the family farm, and we’ve been here for 30 years. I call that settled. 🙂

  5. I too love the comfort of our home. After 37 years it would be difficult to change.

  6. Such a sweet video. Looks like all your pets are very well loved.

    I think I was on St. Simon’s once, but we used to vacation at Jekyll Island and loved it.

  7. Enjoyed your Hodgepodge. Loved your video. Pets sure do take a piece of our hearts when they cross the rainbow bridge. We are hurting this week, too.

  8. That is really awesome about your home. Your all set for retirement!
    I would definitely say you are settled. You definitely have a lot of cats and dogs……

  9. Awww… that was a cute slide show. I think I watched it the first time you posted it. Did you get all your videos transferred from One True Media before they shut down? (I think I remember you saying they were shutting down anyways)

    Did you see I updated the 365? Well sort of anyway, I have a lot of catching up to do. I thought you’d like the picture of the campus mascot’s return, our dear old rooster! And yes, he is certainly a rooster even though he has no comb. I’m told his type is bred for fighting and that’s why there’s no comb, as it’s something for the opponent to get a hold of. But this boy is as nice as they come.

  10. Thank you for stopping in at Cranberry Morning and for praying with us for the Sudanese Christian woman facing execution for her faith.

  11. I loved the video and all the animals lucky enough to have met you. Hope you’ll have a houseful for a while. 10 isn’t really that old for a cat


Leave a Reply

