The Key To A Happy Wednesday–The Hodgepodge!

 

Hey!  It’s Wednesday, you know what Wednesday means!  It’s time to participate in The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Make yourself comfortable, and stay awhile.  Today’s theme is all about ‘keys’.  Here are today’s questions, courtesy our hostess, Joyce:

1. What would you say is the key to success?

I’m not sure what the real key to success is, but I believe a lot of time, hard work, and perseverance certainly go a long way toward achieving it.  A heaping helping of good luck doesn’t hurt either!

2. Have you ever been to the Florida Keys? Any desire to visit that part of the US of A?

I’ve never been to the Florida Keys, but they’re definitely on the top of my list of places I’d most like to visit!  (Joyce, think of me while you’re basking in the sun down there!)

3. When and where did you last see a real live donkey? Monkey? Turkey?

Our neighbor used a couple of donkeys in the pasture with his cattle, to help protect them from predators, so it hasn’t been that long since I’ve seen a donkey.  (Did you know that donkeys are protective?  I didn’t!)  I saw several wild turkeys, not long ago, while traveling on a country road.  As for a monkey, the last time I saw one of  those was at the Jacksonville Zoo, about six years ago.

4. An old Portuguese proverb says, ‘Beware of the door with too many keys.’ What do you think this means? Share an example of how this has proven true or false in your own life.

To me, this proverb means to beware of anything that’s too complicated.

Relationships are the first thing that come to my mind, and yes, the proverb proved to be true in our family.  You may (or may not) recall that our daughter was once engaged to someone else, before marrying her current husband of 13 years.  The groom-to-be left her–in the midst of their wedding preparations. When I say he left, I mean he literally moved out of what was to be their future home, in the middle of the night, without saying a word to anyone! We didn’t think so at the time, but what a blessing that turned out to be!  You could say, he was a ‘door with too many keys.’

5. Besides your home, vehicle, and special jewelry, what is something you keep under lock and key?

Important documents, and a few other things.

6. When did you last get keyed up about something?

“Keyed up” is my current state of mind, these days!  Between wondering about Ed’s future job situation, and wondering what in the world is going on with my hens,  I’m in desperate need of another beach trip!

7. Who thinks we need an easy one right about now? Key lime pie…yes please or no thank you?

Yes, please!  I think it’s time for an easy one!  I really like key lime pie, and Key lime cake, too!

Random:

Every time Ed and I go to St. Simon’s Island, we travel through the small town of Jesup.  I love to admire their lovely historic downtown area as we ride through.  Their historic  downtown area has been renovated and preserved, and is alive with many small ‘mom and pop’ businesses–something that’s becoming increasingly hard to find, these days.  All of this changed on Monday night.

10559925_937641019594849_8622348060333449938_n jesup fire 1

WTOC facebook photo

On Monday evening, after the businesses closed, a fire broke out on the roof of one of the stores, due to a faulty air conditioning unit. The fire quickly spread to neighboring businesses! Over 150 fire fighters from several surrounding counties worked through the night trying to contain the blaze and get it extinguished.

10527373_10152635414192363_410239873760180740_njesup fire 4

WTOC facebook photo

When all was said and done, ten businesses were totally destroyed. Two firemen were injured, but were later treated and released. A large portion of Jesup’s historic section of downtown is now in ruins.  Ten owners no longer have their businesses, and thirty people are without jobs.  So sad!

10574277_607861359327765_3862586028686119871_n jesup fire 2

WTOC facebook photo

Perhaps, the saddest part of this story is that one of the destroyed businesses was a pet shop, filled with all kinds of pets. The fire was so intense and spread so quickly, most of the pets were not able to be rescued. Only two puppies, two kittens, a guinea pig, a snake and an iguana could be saved before rescue efforts had to be abandoned.

 

Published in: on August 6, 2014 at 7:32 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/the-key-to-a-happy-wednesday-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is very sad what happened in that little town…just heartbreaking on so many levels. That’s quite the story you shared for #4…be grateful things didn’t work out as planned!

  2. Those little towns with wonderful downtown areas are places that I love. I am sorry that one of your favorite places is no more. I wish I had an answer for you about your hens. I do have a book about raising chickens, because at one time I was considering it. I will look in the book and see if there are any answers.

  3. I am sorry about the fire in the town of Jesup.I hope they will be able to reconstrust their houses and shops.

  4. Oh dear! So sorry to see a town destroyed like that. Hope it can be rebuilt.

  5. Oh my. Your photos and descriptions made me sick to my stomach. What a terrible tragedy, and how sad for the animals that were trapped in cages. So happy the two injured firefighters are okay, and that none of the owners were physically hurt. I hope everyone had insurance, and that they will rebuild. So sad.

  6. My goodness, we go thru Jesup going to Jekyll now and for years going to visit in-laws in Brunswick. Hubby has family that loves there. That is sad news. We are headed to St Simons for a wedding in a few days. It would have been quite a shock so thanks for posting this.

  7. I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s opinion of the door/key question. I know it’s sad for everyone, but I can’t take the part about the pet shop. Georgetown had a similar fire months ago. So sad anytime, but especially our quaint, historic southern towns. BTW- I hope to remember to announce it soon but you won the free copy of the book. If you will email me your information, I’ll give it to the publisher so they can get it out to you! momaloft4atgmaildotcom

  8. So sad. A little bit of America’s history is gone forever. As for the poor animals – such a tragedy but I wish they’d outlaw pet shops altogther. Maybe them more people would adopt rescues.

  9. Like your answer on number 4 and that was so sad what your daughters x boyfriend did. That is so sad about the fire in Jesup.

  10. Oh so sad about that old town. It’s funny how life works out, and how something that feels like the worst, hardest thing in the world, can one day be seen as a blessing.


Leave a Reply

