Thursday’s Thoughts ~ Sweet Memories…

When I woke up on Wednesday morning, I’d been having a dream. In my dream, I was talking with Ed’s mom. I don’t remember our conversation, but I do remember her voice, clear and strong. It’s been a little over a year since I’ve heard the voice of my mother-in-law, Vivian. Hearing her voice again, even if only in my mind, suddenly caused me to be a little nostalgic.

I thought about all of the good times mine and Ed’s families had together, over the years. There were lots of cook outs, birthdays, holidays, and, yes, even ordinary days.  A line from an old song comes to mind, “Those were the days, my friend, we thought they’d never end…” But all good things come to an end, don’t they? One by one, our parents passed away, and the special times with our parents eventually ended.

These days, family functions only involve Ed and me, along with our grown children and their families. I think our children are now old enough to realize these family times are ‘memories in the making’, but I doubt our grandchildren do, yet. One day, even the ‘grands’, will look back and remember, fondly I hope, fun times spent with family, or fun times spent with each other–long after Ed and I are gone.

One day, a while back, I was feeling especially nostalgic. I put together a montage of some old family photos, of mine and Ed’s families.  There are birthdays, Easters, Christmases, and just special times when our families got together for no reason.  I can’t remember if I’ve shared it on my blog or not, so I’m sharing it, today, in honor of ‘Throwback Thursday’.  Those were the days–and they seem like just yesterday…

Published in: on October 23, 2014 at 8:41 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/10/23/thursdays-thoughts-sweet-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your photo montage is wonderful!! I enjoyed seeing it, even though I don’t know who everyone is. Lots of love and fun and good memories there! I remember standing beside my dad, at Granny’s funeral (his mom) and he said to me…”This makes me the “old folks” now”. It had just hit him, I think. I’ll never forget it…

  2. “Those were the days my friend.” I loved that song although even at 21 I knew I’d find it sad today.
    I recently read of the answer a Buddhist monk gave when asked when his parents died. “They are not dead until I pass away.”….And so it goes


Leave a Reply

