Going Green With The Hodgepodge…

Spring has arrived, in all its glory, here in our neck of the woods!  The trees are in full bloom, and the azaleas are beginning to burst forth.  Temperatures have been in the upper 80’s, this week!  Ed and I have been making the best of these glorious days–and I have the sunburn to prove it!

Now it’s time to take a bit of a break, from yard work, and indulge in my favorite mid-week meme, The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  This bit of informative fun it brought to us each week by our hostess, Joyce, @ From This Side Of The Pond.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. Share a favorite song, book, or movie title containing the word green?

This is an easy question for me because I’ve been playing this ‘oldie’ a lot, lately–Green Grass by Gary Lewis and the Playboys!  Good stuff! Below is a nice YouTube version of this great old song.

2. Ralph Waldo Emerson is quoted as saying, ‘Shallow men believe in luck. Strong men believe in cause and effect.’ Would you agree? Are you a believer in luck?

Well, go ahead and call me shallow, but I do believe in luck, somewhat. For example, two people, equally qualified, apply for a job.  One  gets the job, while the other doesn’t.  How about, two people purchase a lottery ticket, and one person wins while the other doesn’t?  Explain it anyway you want, but I call it luck.

3. Spring water, Hot Springs, handspring, spring fling, spring break, spring fever, offspring…which ‘spring’ word best applies to something in your day, week, or life right now?

At the moment, I could easily choose a couple of these answers, but I’m going with “spring fever” because Ed and I have been as busy as bees sprucing up around the yard.  There’s something about spring that makes us want to clean and paint everything outside!  Everything is looking much better, thanks to several recent days of ‘fun in the sun’!

4. What’s something you do to make yourself look or feel more confident?

I have my hair cut and styled every five weeks.  I look forward to that appointment very much!

5.  It’s National Celery Month…are you a fan? If so, what’s a snack or dish you enjoy that calls for celery?

 I’m not a fan of celery.  I can only eat celery if it’s used sparingly as an ingredient in some kind of dish.

6. What’s one thing you wish you’d learned sooner?

Pay yourself first!   A word to young folks here: If you think you don’t have enough money to live on and save for your future–find a way!!!  Retirement comes a lot quicker than you think.

7. Would you like to own a second home? If so where would you want that home to be?

First of all, let me say how thankful I am that we own the home we live in.  It’s ours, paid for in full, except for the yearly taxes we have to pay.  (A lot of people can’t say that.)  Second, let me say that we are currently responsible for a second home (Ed’s parents’), for now.  Having a second home to see about is more headache and responsibility!  All of that being said, if money was no object, and I could hire some caretakers, I’d love to own a second home at the beach–right on the water, if possible!  (Might as well dream big, right?)

Random:

Sending get-well wishes to this little cutie, who is currently battling a double ear infection (on the heels of a stomach virus)!  I hope you feel better soon, Evan!!!  In the picture, Evan had been decorating a shamrock for St. Patrick’s Day.  I’d say he enjoyed himself, wouldn’t you?

 

11037639_10203189394688842_4484237884350614583_n

photo from Jennifer’s Facebook page

Published in: on March 18, 2015 at 7:18 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/going-green-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so excited for spring too! Praying your little cutie feels all better soon!

  2. So envious of your 80 degrees. It was 25 when I went to the gym tomorrow, and we may have some snow on Friday. Hello Spring : ) Cute picture…hope he’s feeling better soon! I know you’re anxious to have a visit.

  3. Oh what a precious little leprechaun you have there. Hoping also that he feels better real soon. And that is great advice to young people. Plan early!

  4. I love Gary Lewis and the Playboys – especially This Diamond Ring.

    We had 80 degrees on Monday but it didn’t last … send some of yours our way, would you?

    And that little guy looks so happy – hope he’s well soon!

  5. Glad I found your nice blog, hunny bunny. That is a fun Q&A.
    Amalia
    xo

  6. That is such a precious picture of your grandson! It is in the 30s today after a few Spring like days so I think we have a ways to go still. Enjoy your warm weather 🙂

  7. I certainly don’t think someone is shallow because they believe in luck! Definitely getting your hair done is a great feeling! Agree completely with your answer for #6. Sweet picture of Evan, hope he feels well soon.

  8. Evan is adorable!! Nothing shallow about believing in luck. Another fun Hodgepodge, Kathy!

  9. I should have done what you suggest in #6. I hope your adjustment to retired life is going smoothly. Thank you for visiting my blog page and your kind words re: my friend. He really was a good, godly man.

  10. Love the picture, nothing like grand kids! I should of used the haircut, I always look forward to my hair cut about every 5-6 weeks.


Leave a Reply

