Ending August With The Hodgepodge…

It’s almost the end of August, and what a spring and summer it’s been for us!  I’m hoping fall will bring some much-needed changes around here.  We shall see. (A hurricane is headed for Florida, as I write)  For now, let’s indulge in a little mid-week distraction known as The Wednesday Hodgepodge.

1. It’s hard to believe, but next week’s Hodgepodge will find us in the month of September. What’s one thing you want, need, or hope to do still before summer officially ends?

I was hoping to spend one more day on St. Simon’s Island before summer officially ends.  No big surprise there, huh?  My back and the weather will be the deciding factor on whether this trip happens or not.

2. When were you last at ‘your wit’s end’?

I am currently at my wit’s end!  After a very brief hiatus, last Friday, my old ‘friend’ sciatica came back with a vengeance.  It’s been almost 5 months (and counting) of living with this miserable thing.

3. Describe a time you were figuratively thrown into ‘the deep end’?

Sometimes, the entire year of 2015 feels that way, to me.  First Ed lost his job, then we discovered we had mold and termites under our house, and, last but not least, I discovered I have two messed up discs in my lumbar spine.  This has been a year of “just trying to stay afloat”.

4. Does the end always, ever, or never justify the means? Explain.

Sometimes it does, but not always, depending on the particular situation and circumstances.  I’d elaborate more, but my brain is tired and I am just not feeling it today.

5. What makes your hair stand on end?

My hair stands on end whenever our grandchildren run in the house or play on the furniture.  I love them dearly, but don’t want anything to get broken or anyone to get hurt.  When he was small, our oldest son once broke his hand… You guessed it, by running in the house.

6. I read an article on the website Eat This! Health, that listed 11 foods we can eat to help end bad moods. Basically it’s a feed your brain so you’re less anxious, grouchy and lethargic. The foods are-mussels, swiss chard, blue potatoes, grass-fed beef, dark chocolate, greek yogurt, asparagus, honey, cherry tomatoes, eggs, and coconut. Which of those do you think would most help end your own bad mood? Which do you fear, if forced to eat, would put you into a bad mood?

I think dark chocolate and coconut would most help end a bad mood…as in a Mounds candy bar!

As far as something putting me in a bad mood, if forced to eat it–that would be mussels or Greek yogurt.  I just can’t make myself like either one of those foods.

7. What project around your home, office, or life in general feels like there is ‘no end in sight’?

This job doesn’t really involve me, but I’m going to say ‘yard work’.  Ed’s forever needing to mow grass, trim weeds, or do something with the garden.  It never seems to end–just like housework and grocery shopping!

Random:

Okay, so I called my neurologist’s office, on Monday, to tell them my sciatica had suddenly gotten worse, after three weeks of doing home physical therapy.  (I was then told it would be a month before I could get an appointment.)  After our initial conversation, the office lady pulled my records, and told me there was really no need to wait for an office appointment because [the doctor had written] his next recommendation, if the physical therapy failed, was surgery.  She said they could just go ahead and get me on the surgery schedule, to save time and suffering (and I’m so tired of suffering). Sigh. So, now I’m waiting for a call back. Today is day three…

As if we haven’t been through enough, this year, imagine my surprise, last week, when I went on line and discovered I’d been a victim of fraud.  There was a $1753.50 charge on my Discover Card account that I didn’t make!  I immediately called the company and was reassured that I have ‘fraud protection’, and wouldn’t be held responsible. It turned out someone had tried to make two other transactions, as well, but those didn’t go through.  Discover took care of everything, but the whole incident has left me feeling a bit shaken and vulnerable.

Also, I apologize to my blog friends for my lack of presence on the computer–on their blogs, as well as my own.  It’s hard to concentrate on much of anything, right now, but, hopefully, it won’t always be this way!

As always, many thanks to Joyce, for continuing to host The Hodgepodge 🙂  Even with everything that’s going on in my life, I still look forward to The Hodgepodge each week.

Published in: on August 26, 2015 at 7:16 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/08/26/ending-august-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so sorry for all you’re experiencing Kathy, particularly your back. I do hope you get some relief. Have you had another opinion? I would definitely do that before surgery. My sister in law has been dealing with the same for a while and I know she’s miserable. I will add you to my prayers today.

  2. My sympathies for your sciatica. I suffer with that too! I had a similar ‘fraud’ thing happen to my bank account a couple years ago. Cleaned out the entire account. Thankfully it was taken care of!! Have a good week

  3. So sorry to hear about your sciatica. Hopefully having the surgery will help and I will keep you in my prayers. I am sorry to hear about the fraud. I’m surprised they didn’t call you. My sister had $27,000. in fraud earlier this year. Thankfully they got it all worked out and it was an inside job!

  4. Mounds Candy Bar – I just happen to have half of one in my fridge. Maybe I’ll eat that later today. I hope you make to St. Simon’s again before summer’s end. Praying for you and your back.

  5. Sorry to hear about your sciatica. You will be in my prayers.

  6. I’m so sorry that you are in bad pain again. I hope the surgery they are scheduling for you will work. Prayers being lifted. How horrible to find out someone used your account for fraudulent purchases. So happy Discover helped you through it. Take care and please keep us posted.

  7. Given your back pain, I feel honored to have you visit my blog. I am truly sorry for your back pain. It’s no fun having any type of chronic pain. Prayers that you feel better soon.

  8. I hope you get to SSI before summer ends. Whew … that was a huge hit to your Discover account. We had a $50 charge show up last month. I’ve contested it but haven’t heard back … I need to follow up on that.

  9. Bless your heart. I am just so sorry for all these things that are going in with you this year. I have experienced some years that we seemed full of more than our share, but trusting and hoping for this year to get better for you. Mussels! The very thought of eating such a thing makes me nauseous. A Mounds candy bar! Oh yes.


Leave a Reply

