Falling Into Another Hodgepodge…

Happy fall, y’all!  Are you as happy to see autumn as I am?  The compressor to our a/c unit blew up on Sunday–the hottest day of the week!  We had to wait 56 hours (yes, I counted everyone of them!) to get it fixed, too.  If you’re from the south, you know how miserable it is without a/c.  After two nights of sleeping in 80 degree heat, we slept cool last night.  Yay!

Speaking of happy, I’m happy as a clam to be joining The Hodgepodge today, too!  Thanks to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for keeping this little spot of ‘sunshine’ going:)  Let’s get to those questions, shall we?

1. What have you ‘fallen for’ recently?

The series, “Madmen”!  I think I’ve mentioned this before, but Ed and I have been watching past episodes for several weeks, on Netflix.  We’re only 4 episodes away from finishing all seven seasons.  The show was set in the 60’s, and I’ve enjoyed seeing the clothing styles, the home decor, and the old cars very much, even though the story line has been a bit ‘heavy’ at times. The other night we were watching, when suddenly I saw a girl wearing a dress made out of the exact same fabric that I’d chosen for an apron I had to make in Home Economics ( back in 1969).  I nearly fell off my chair!  (In case you’re curious, the fabric was lime green, with white flowers that had orange dots for their centers.)

2. What’s something you’re ‘squirreling away’ for later?

Groceries.  For the past three years I’ve made it a point to keep our pantry and freezers well stocked. I always buy ‘extras’ when something is on sale or I have a coupon.  My new  motto has become “always be prepared”.

3. How do you like your apples? Sweet? Tart? Crisp? Cooked? Apples are one of the superfoods for fall…how often do you eat an apple either plain or as part of a favorite recipe? What’s your favorite variety?

I like my apples peeled and sliced, with a little caramel dip on the side.  I normally prefer raw, sweet, crisp apples more than cooked apples, but I do enjoy the ‘fried apples’ at Cracker Barrel!  How often I eat apples depends on what season it is.  I eat more apples in the fall than any other time of the year.  My favorite varieties are red delicious and gala.

On a different note, but still in keeping with the subject, Ed and I have two young apple trees.  This year, there must have been 40 apples on one tree, while the other tree had none.  We thinned out the apples on the over-loaded tree so its limbs could support the fruit. Then, one by one, the remaining apples kept falling off.  In the end, we were left with one ripe apple, which we’ll have to share.

4. According to Fodor’s the ten best fall foliage trips in the US of A are-Aspen Colorado, The Catskills New York, The Berkshires Massachusetts, Columbia River Gorge Oregon, Green Mountain Byway Vermont, Enchanted Circle Scenic Byway New Mexico, Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina and Tennessee, Upper Peninsula Michigan, Lake of the Ozarks Missouri, and Glacier National Park Montana. Which would you most like to visit this fall and why?

I’d like to visit the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina and Tennessee.  Ed and I have been to these mountains, a couple of different times during the summer, but I’ve never seen the leaves changing during the fall.  I’ve always wanted to do this.  In fact, it’s one of the things on my ‘bucket list’.  Picking apples in an orchard is another thing on my ‘bucket list’.

5. The topic of legalizing marijuana was raised in the most recent televised political debate so let’s wade in too. Twenty-three states and the District of Columbia currently have laws legalizing marijuana in some form. Four states have legalize marijuana for recreational use. Your thoughts?

I don’t think ANY of our states should have legalized marijuana for ANYTHING. 

6. Are you okay to watch a movie already in progress or do you need to always see it from the beginning? How about jumping into a TV series somewhere in the middle? Is that okay?

I’m okay with joining a movie already in progress, as long as I’ve only missed the first ten or fifteen minutes of it.  If it’s progressed beyond that point, I’ll pass.  I have been known to  jump into a TV series, somewhere in the middle, but, if I do, I’ll usually try to find the missed episodes and watch them in order to get caught up on things.  I did this with Downton Abby, The Black List, and The Bridge.

7. Thursday (September 24) is National Punctuation Day. What rule of punctuation trips you up most often? What rule of punctuation, when broken by someone else, bugs you the most?

I get confused about using a comma, sometimes.  I may be guilty of over usage.  It bothers me when people don’t use capital letters when they should.  

Random:

It feels good to be back blogging again!  I’ve missed it.  I’m 9 days, post-surgery, and glad it’s behind me.  I’m doing better every day.  I’ll be posting more about my recovery experience later in the week.

Food for thought–we never realize how much we bend and twist until we’re not allowed to do either for a week!

 

 

 

 

Published in: on September 23, 2015 at 7:42 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/falling-into-another-hodgepodge-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glas you’re feeling better every day. I love apple picking in the fall too I need to find. Place to go near us now. We had loads of orchards in NJ and went every autumn. Enjoy your lone apple : )

  2. Hope you continue to recover well. Maybe some apples will help! Ha!

  3. I’ve never watched Madmen but my future daughter in law loves it and my son watched it with her. Jon Hamm finally won his long awaited Emmy on Sunday night. Glad your getting better with each passing day. Take care.

  4. I’m so glad you are starting to feel better and that the surgery is over.

    We’re currently watching Leverage and Warehouse 13 on Netflix. I really enjoy getting to watch the old shows that I didn’t have time to watch when they were on.

  5. Glad you’re “on the mend”! 🙂 I enjoyed The Bridge…I would watch an episode of the Scandinavian version (with subtitles, of course!) and then watch an American episode. I saw that the American Version has been canceled; the Scandinavian one is going to continue, but without 1 of the main characters. It was interesting to see how they changed some things for the different cultures. I actually liked the Scandinavian version better.
    As for your Longmire question: NETFLIX HAS PICKED IT UP!!! The new season came out 10 Sept.!!! 🙂

  6. I loved the Bridge. I’m planning on borrowing the Madmen box sets from my son at some point – we don’t have Netflix.
    I’m glad things are going well with your recovery. I hope it continues well.

  7. I am so happy to see you back here, and SO happy to hear you are progressing in your recovery! I look forward to your journey story. Another fun Hodgepodge!!

  8. So glad that you’re continuing to mend. I’m sure it’ll be a long process, but as long as you continue to improve, it’s great.

  9. I’m glad you’re making progress every day post surgery. I hope that the trend continues and you get back to being able to do what you want to do without pain.

  10. Uh oh, AC meltdown during recuperation from surgery had to have been miserable. We are having some nights in the low 70s and days in the 80s, but with the humidity days still feel like 90s. And you are right. AC is a necessity. Glad your cool is back. May your back be back better than ever, too!


Leave a Reply

