The Welcoming July Hodgepodge…

Welcome to the 272nd edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  It’s July and it’s hot!  I’m sitting under the comfort of the air conditioning, as I write.  I’m so thankful to have a/c, and I’m also thankful for our gracious hostess, Joyce, who is probably sweltering in this southern heat, as well.

Let’s get on with today’s questions, shall we?

1. How did you welcome the month of July, and tell us one fun thing you did to celebrate the 4th. (or the weekend for any non-USA residents playing along today)

I didn’t do anything special to welcome the month of July.  The first day of July came and went, just like any other.  Ed and I got up, fed the animals, picked some vegetables, and I spent most of the rest of the day canning.

As for something fun on the 4th, we enjoyed watching our three little grandsons playing under the water sprinkler while jumping on their trampoline.  What a fun time they all had!  We also got to watch our youngest, Evan, experience his first fireworks show.  He went from crying, at first, to telling us what colors the fireworks were!

2. Right now..what’s your favorite red thing? white thing? blue thing?

My favorite red thing is a soft red pillow that’s shaped like a foot.  I’m not ashamed to say that I sleep with it every night.  My favorite white things are the white banisters surrounding our porches, and the blue things I treasure most are the two flags (folded with blue/star side out) that were presented to family when Ed’s parents died.

3. Wave the white flag, raise a red flag, fly your freak flag…which ‘flag’ have you flown most recently? Explain.

Most recently, I  believe I waved the white flag.  Unfortunately, we’ve had a bit of a ‘family situation’ going on, all summer.  At one point, I [figuratively] raised a white flag when I asked, “Can’t we just agree to disagree?”  The jury is still out.

4. According to Cond Nast Traveler these are the seven best places to visit in July-

a boat safari in Botswanna’s Okavango Delta, Riviera Maya Mexico (it’s whale shark season and apparently you can swim with them), Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, Pamploma Spain, St. Petersburg Russia, the Fuji Rock Festival at Mount Naeba Japan, the Salzburg Festival in Salzburg Austria

If time and money weren’t factors would you want to see any/all of these? Which would you most like to see and why?

I’m not much of a traveler, so I wouldn’t care about traveling to see most of those places.  I’d consider going to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, though, because [in pictures] it looks like beautiful country, and it’s not too far away!

5. Grilled cheese, pimento cheese, or mac and cheese…your favorite from the cheesy treats listed?

Although I like all of the foods listed, good ole’ mac and cheese is my favorite.  Our favorite mac and cheese recipe is made in a crock pot!

6. What makes you sweat?

These days, just sitting outside on the front porch makes me sweat–even though we keep a fan running on the porch, all day long!  Our temps have been reaching into the upper 90’s or higher.

7. Your favorite movie with a ‘patriotic’ theme of some sort?

I’m going to have to go with “Born on the Fourth of July”, starring Tom Cruise.  I’ve watched it several times.  It’s not an easy movie to watch, but, after all, it’s based on a true story.  It’s one of those movies that’s both riveting and heat breaking, all at the same time.

Random:

A little July 4th family fun…

100_5941

and some cute (and delicious) July 4th treats…

100_5947

Published in: on July 6, 2016 at 8:10 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/the-welcoming-july-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your cupcakes! I’m a sucker for a sweet treat. Family ‘situations’ seem to cloud most of our gatherings lately…I’m with you…raise the white flag and move on.
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

  2. Your link is here : ) Cute cupcakes!! I’m sorry for the family drama. I think every family has some from time to time, and I hope yours is resolved soon.

  3. We love crock pot mac and cheese. I’ve only ever made it once or twice, but can’t find where I put the recipe for it.

    I’m sorry there is a family situation going on. I hope that it gets sorted out soon.

    You sleep with a foot-shaped pillow and I sleep with a yellow bear, a cow, and Eeyore and a stuffed dog. No worries. 🙂

    Have a great day!

  4. I agree. Born on the Fourth of July was spellbinding. I’m not a Tom Cruise fan, but he did a stellar job.

  5. Your 4th looks like it was fabulous! We keep having a family situation but no one wants to agree to disagree. They all think they’re right. Ha! How’s that Buffalo Springfield lyric go: nobody’s right if everybody’s wrong? It’s hot here too. Really hot. Oppressive.

  6. We love mac and cheese. Still trying to find that missing crock-pot recipe my child-bride Suzanne had. Have a great Summer.

  7. I would cherish those 2 blue items as well. Precious to never be replaced
    come see us at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  8. Those cupcakes are so cute! I haven’t watched Born On The Fourth of July in a long time but I remember liking it. Tom Cruise is a great actor after all 🙂

  9. Lovely looking cupcakes! Great film choice, but agree it’s not the easiest film to watch. Family time is always good but not if you are having disagreements. I hope you can get past that and put the white flag away.

  10. I can just imagine your youngest little grand stopping the tears and naming the colors of the fireworks. That is a precious memory to go along with the sprinkler and trampoline. My sympathies on the family issue. An issue in my Hubby’s family went on for a number of years. He kept trying. I am happy to say relationships seem great now. I hope it continues so. Prayers your way.

  11. Your cupcakes are really cute! I enjoyed your HP answers and think it is always fun to see how many of us answer in similar ways!

  12. I say a hearty “AMEN” to your air conditioning comments. We have window a/c units in only two rooms, our bedroom and the office. I spend a fair amount of time in both of those rooms during hot & humid days. I love watching our grandkids playing in the sprinkler and/or hose during the summer months too. All the best to you and Ed.

  13. Sounds like a fun 4th of July. Running through the sprinklers is always fun! Hope your family situation works itself out soon.


Leave a Reply

