The Wednesday After Easter Hodgepodge…

 

A very unusual Easter has come and gone, but the corona virus is still in full swing!  A few tornadoes even blew through, on Monday morning!  It’s an unusual time in our lives, but life  goes on, doesn’t it?

One pleasant bit of normalcy that remains is Joyce’s Wednesday Hodgepodge, which she had to post from her phone due to a loss of power.  Those storms I mentioned earlier?  Well, they traveled Joyce’s way, too…

1. In Monday’s post I mentioned I would incorporate the word I was given for letter K into this week’s questions. That word was karaoke. On a scale of 1-10 how excited would you be to find out there was karaoke happening at your next gathering/outing with friends? 10=gimme that microphone!, and 1=I suddenly remembered there’s somewhere else I need to be. Have you ever actually done karaoke? If you had to perform karaoke what would be your ‘go-to’song?

Let me begin by saying, I can not sing!  Therefore, I would quickly find something else I needed to do while any karaoke was happening!  I’ve never performed karaoke or watched anyone else perform, so I have no idea what a good “go-to song” might be.

2. How do you listen to music these days? Favorite app or do you listen the old fashioned way? Do you have music playing often in your home? Is there still a CD player in your car?

Most of the time, I listen to music [in my home] on a Kindle, usually played through the blue tooth speaker Ed gave me for Christmas.  I listen to Pandora, and usually listen to Southern Gospel music.

I also have a subscription to Sirius XM for the van, and we recently started to stream Sirius through the ROKU in our home, too.  I prefer to listen to music of the 60’s and 70’s on Sirius.  We do have a CD player in the van [and in our home], and, occasionally, I’ll play some CD’s, too.

3. The HP lands on US tax day this year. Or what used to be tax day before everything including filing your taxes was cancelled, delayed, postponed or extended. FYI- filing your taxes has not been cancelled, only delayed for a bit.

Besides staying away from anyone and everyone, what have you found taxing lately?

It’s been ‘taxing’, at times, just trying to find some of the items we need!  Fortunately, I had plenty of paper products on hand when the virus and craziness hit, but finding items like eggs, bread, rice krispies, and iceberg lettuce has been challenging, at times!  What’s up with the lettuce shortage?

For five weeks, we’ve stayed home and relied on our son-in-law or Walmart’s grocery pickup service for all of our needs.  However, Ed finally had to don his mask and brave the elements for some gardening supplies, last week.  We desperately needed fertilizer and fire ant killer!

By the way, you know that delay we’ve been given to file our taxes?  Ed and I had just filed [and paid] our taxes before the tax deadline was extended, so we missed out on that!

4. You’re without power so no oven, and you can’t open your frig or freezer in order to keep what’s in there from spoiling. And you don’t have access to take out. What will you make us for dinner?

Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are always our ‘go to’ in a situation like this!  They’re pretty good, too!  It’s hard to beat a PB&J sandwich made with homemade blackberry jelly and Skippy peanut butter.

5. I’ve seen this exercise going around Facebook and thought it would be a good one to include in the HP…what are five things everybody seems to love and go crazy for that you personally don’t care for?

(1) memes and games on Facebook  (2) sports  (3)  dining in restaurants  (4) reunions of any kind  (5) bridal/baby showers  Yeah, I sound like a “stick in the mud” don’t I?

Random:  As I stated in the beginning of this post, it was an unusual [but happy] Easter for us.

The day before Easter, I was able to color some eggs with my daughter and granddaughter on the front porch of their house. (We kept a proper distance) At least we were able to carry on that tradition, although we were missing three grandchildren.

On Easter morning, Ed and I were able to our church’s “drive inn” sunrise services, and their eleven o’clock service via Facebook. We’re rarely able to attend both.

My daughter, Brandy, and I shared the Easter cooking chores, then sent 1/2 of our food over to each other’s houses.  Ed and I ate lunch, alone, at a table so quiet we could hear my pet crickets chirping, but we were thankful to have each other.  The food was great!

After lunch, I packed up some food, and Ed took it to our ‘eighty-plus’ friend who’s currently caring for his sixty-plus, disabled son.  It felt good to [hopefully] help someone have a little better day.

The weather grew progressively worse as Easter wore on, and Ed and I went to bed not knowing what kind of storms the early morning hours might bring.  Fortunately, we were spared anything worse than strong winds and lots of rain.  Some of our neighboring counties didn’t fare as well.  When all was said and done, it was a blessed and happy Easter, after all.

 

 

 

Published in: on April 15, 2020 at 8:21 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2020/04/15/the-wednesday-after-easter-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree. It’s pretty hard to beat a PB&J sandwich. Stay healthy!!

  2. Homemade blackberry jelly sounds delicious! I listen to Pandora at work, mostly southern gospel and Disney music. Have a great day!

  3. We swapped food items on Easter, too and that was a good thing. Glad you could do all those Easter activities. It was different for sure but it is always good to celebrate the Resurrection. Hope the rest of your week goes well.

  4. I shopped last week after two weeks away from the stores and not a leaf of lettuce of any kind was to be had. No rice, flour or of course tp either but we’re managing here okay. And now tornadoes. Whew. It’s quite a time we’re living in currently. Stay well!

  5. Glad your Easter was a happy, if unusual, one. Ours, too was different. Because I slept late, and watched our church’s online service with my husband. . . in my pajamas and with untamed bed-head hair. But the message was great and our day was quiet but good!

  6. I do listen to music from my phone sometimes. I need to link it with our Google Nest. I still play CD’s. The groceries are taxing. You place and order and they don’t have many things. Frustrating. Never even thought about PB&J sandwiches. I do enjoy going to a restaurant from time to time. We don’t go often and of course we can’t go now anyway. The was so nice of you to take food to your friend.


Leave a comment