A Cinco de Mayo Kind of Hodgepodge…

 

I wasn’t feeling well, so I missed last week’s Hodgepodge.  Fortunately, I’m feeling better and am able to participate in the fun today!  If you need a fun little distraction from the gloom and doom of the news, feel free to click Joyce’s button at the top of this post, and jump right in!

1. Question day this week lands on Cinco de Mayo. Are/were tacos on your Tuesday night menu? Hard shell, soft shell or just gimme all the tacos? Are you even a fan of Mexican food? Do you like your salsa mild, spicy, or somewhere in between? Margaritas-Frozen, on the rocks, or no thank you? Have you ever been to Mexico?

Tacos were not on my menu, last night, but left-over bar-b-que was.  We’ve learned to embrace left-overs in this house, and it’s a good thing with things headed in the direction they’re going.  A dollar won’t buy much food, these days, but $1.67 will buy a gallon of gas!

Whenever I do eat tacos, I prefer a hard shell, and I like my salsa on the mild side.  I’m not really a fan of Mexican food, but occasionally I’ll make tacos for something different.

You know, I’ve actually never tried a Margarita, or been to Mexico, and I don’t have any plans to do either.

2. What’s something you may do this month?

I “may” cook lunch for my family on Mother’s Day.  We’ve been “social distancing” for well over nine weeks, and only visiting with family while sitting outside spaced  several feet apart.  The last time our family shared a meal together was the first weekend of March.  So, if the weather permits, we’ll be eating a home-cooked meal [outside] on Sunday. (still trying to social distance, but to a lesser degree)  Sunday is also our oldest son’s 38th birthday. (He was my “Mother’s Day baby)

3. Tell us what’s happening in your state or town as far as restaurants/salons/parks/beaches/businesses opening up. How do you feel about it? Are you out and about or hunkered down? Do you wear a mask?

As most of you know, the state of Georgia led the way in opening back up.  Restaurants, salons, gyms, tattoo parlors, etc. have been open for over a week–with many restrictions.  Many restaurants and other businesses are open [with restrictions] as well.  Personally, I think our state opened too early, but only time will tell.  Our local number of cases haven’t changed, yet.  Our county stands at nine.

I’m still hunkered down! I’ve only been out three times, in over nine weeks, and two of those was for “Walmart Pickup”.  I broke the ‘hunkered down’ tradition for the third time, and went to get my hair cut, yesterday!  My stylist wore a mask, and so did I.  I had my temperature taken upon entering the door, answered a questionnaire, she sanitized before I was allowed to enter…  If I happen to catch the corona virus after all of that, I’ll look better and die a happy woman with a new hair cut!

4. Mother nature, everybody and their mother, mom jeans, like mother like daughter, soccer mom, mother hen, mother lode, necessity is the mother of invention, stay-at-home mom…pick one and tell us how it fits into your life right now.

“Like mother, like daughter” fits my life quite well, and has for a long time.  My daughter and I look alike, think alike, and often act alike.  We both have autoimmune diseases and are frequently suffer with the same symptoms, but usually at different times, thank goodness.  We jokingly say when one of us is “up” the other is often “down”.  Because we share the same kinds of symptoms, we understand just how crappy autoimmune disease can make you feel, and we try to help each other out when we can.

5. April showers bring May flowers…what’s blooming in your yard or garden today?

In the yard – the gardenia bush is blooming in all its glory, as well as our huge magnolia tree.  Such sweet smells! Then we have a few hibiscus bushes beginning to bloom (the yellow is my favorite), as well as some assorted pots and hanging baskets filled with petunias, gerbera daisies, lantana, begonias, geraniums  and impatience.

100_7996

2020 garden (after ten inches of rain within a week)

In the garden – our squash bushes are blooming, as well as our garden peas and green beans.  So far, it’s been a tough gardening year, between the cooler than normal nights and the over-abundance of rain, but I think it’ll be okay.  If all goes well, we should be eating fresh squash in just a few more days!

Random:  Today is our oldest son’s wedding anniversary.

Bretts fam strawberry patch

(picture taken at our neighbor’s strawberry farm)

He and his wife have been married for fourteen years, and have two boys, ages eleven and eight.  Happy anniversary you two.  May you have many more happy anniversaries!

 

Published in: on May 6, 2020 at 7:15 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2020/05/06/a-cinco-de-mayo-kind-of-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So glad you are feeling better this week. I think your garden looks really nice.

  2. Your garden looks wonderful. I hope you get to enjoy a meal together with your family on Sunday. Happy Anniversary to your son and his wife, Happy Mother’s Day and Happy Birthday to your son! Sound like you have a lot of celebrating 🙂

  3. It’s that a kicker…cheap gas and we’ve nowhere to go!

  4. Wow…that is quite the garden. Happy early birthday to your son and happy anniversary, too. Nice looking family! How nice to have been able to get your hair looked after.

  5. We will social distance a take out meal with Adam, Gabby and James on Sunday. I’m glad you have been able to do the social distancing too. We have seen them once a week for the last 5 weeks. I basically am in the car driving to social distance with them or taking my car for a ride so it doesn’t sit still for months and months. I am so impressed with you garden each year. Wishing you a great crop!!! Happy Mother’s Day

  6. Your garden looks great. But what has me garden-green with envy is that you were able to get a hair cut! Nothing open here yet but groceries and eating establishments offering drive-through or delivery. Keep safe, and may you and your loved ones enjoy those family milestones.

  7. You Mother’s Day lunch sounds nice, and I hope it works out as I think we all need some family connection at this point. Happy Mother’s Day to you and happy birthday to your son!

  8. I had not done Wal Mart pickup until the quarantine, and I must say I like it! I may never go inside the store again! Enjoy your Mother’s Day lunch. We have done a few outdoor socially distanced visits with our kids too. It’s just hard not to give hugs! Happy Mother’s Day!

  9. Glad you’re feeling better and I hope you get to have a meal with your family. We’ve been locked down tight for weeks now (although there might be some slight easing after the weekend) and we’ve managed with home deliveries and a couple of visits to our corner shop when we ran out of milk. I think we’ll be waiting a while for haircuts! That’s some garden!


Leave a comment