Meet Me On Monday…And The Weekend Wrap Up

Acting Balanced

I’ve missed being able to join up with “Meet Me On Monday” for the past  few weeks.  Recently, one of my newest blog friends, Heather, from Acting Balanced” has begun to host the meme.  (Thanks, Heather!)  If you’d like to join in, simply click on Heather’s button at the top of this post!

Today’s questions are:

1. What is your favorite kind of soup?
My favorite soup is homemade vegetable-beef soup, served with hot cornbread!
2. What was the last movie you saw in a theater?
The last movie I saw in a theater was “Toy Story 3”.  These days, I rarely see a movie trailer that makes me want to make the 30 mile trip (one way) to the movies–or pay those ridiculous ticket prices!  More often than not, when I finally see most movies on dvd, I usually end up commenting, “I’m glad I didn’t go to the movies to see that one”!
3. What is your least favorite TV program?
These days, my least favorite TV program is the news.  It’s all politics–UGH!  I’m so sick of it.
4. If you were to write a book about yourself, what would you name it?
I would title my book the same as my blog–“Reflections By Kathy”.
5. What 3 places that are on your bucket list to visit?
I’m not choosy–as long as it’s three places with clear, blue water, and white sandy beaches!  Recently, I’ve been doing some research on the Florida Keys.  My husband and I discussed taking a cruise  for our 40th anniversary, but he’s gotten “cold feet” since the recent cruise ship disaster.  Dang it!
Weekend Wrap Up:
The best way to describe the weekend here is–windy and wet.  We had two windy days, and received two inches of rain!  We are thankful for the rain, because we desperately needed it…The wind?  Not so much.  I nearly had a heart attack when a small tree limb fell on top of our tin roof and made a clatter!  However, our granddaughter, Madison, had a good time flying her new kite in the stiff breeze!
Over the weekend, Ed and I were able to spend lots of time with family, and we even had a little belated birthday celebration, when our oldest son showed up with an ice cream cake, for his wife, on Friday evening!  (Her birthday fell on Wednesday, and there had been no time to celebrate due to church commitments)
I watched two old movies over the weekend.  The first was “Look Who’s Talking”, which I’d seen a couple of times, but that was a long, long time ago.   The second movie was “The Big Chill” which I’d never seen, but watched on the advice of blog friend Kathy, from Just Stuff From A Boomer .  Kathy was so right, the soundtrack (lots of Motown music) was fabulous, and the movie was pretty good, too!  Kevin Kline was killing me in his jogging short-shorts!  The stars in both movies have something in common with me–we’ve all aged a lot since the 80’s!  Have a great Monday…

Published in: on February 19, 2012 at 11:07 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/meet-me-on-monday-and-the-weekend-wrap-up-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’d love to go to the Florida Keys. It’s supposed to be so beautiful there.

  2. I didn’t even think of the news as my least favorite TV program. It is all political right now and won’t let up until next January unfortunately.

  3. Mmm…homemade vegetable soup with cornbread…your blogs always make me hungry. 😛

    So, when are you starting your book? I’ve been after you forever to write a book. I think it would be a best-seller. You’ve had the fun times and you’ve got what it takes to write a heart-warming and INTERESTING book. 🙂

    • By the way, I just said a special prayer for you and Mr. Ed. I hope your colds go away and you both feel better SOON. I love you both lots and lots !!! ♥♥

  4. As a tourism professor, you can tell hubby that cruise ships are the safest way to travel. The accident level of cruise ships is akin to the same odds as being struck by lightening twice in your life (or winning power ball).

    You may forget to mention though, that the change of you picking up a communicable disease though is rather high (though still less than picking one up on an airplane – recycled air).

  5. Hubby keeps telling me that we need to run off to the Keys and never come back…one of these days I’ll hold him to it! LOL

  6. Man I would go anyplace warm. I love the heet and loved it when we lived in a desert. I can take the dry heet!

  7. I fully expected DH to get cold feet about cruising, but I do believe that he’s more excited than I am! I had hoped to book a cruise that would take us to Key West (we spent a day in Key West last March, and we’re determined to go back at some point).

    I’m with you on #2 and #3 (although we don’t have to drive that far to get to a theater … still, the prices are just way too high to be able to enjoy a movie).

  8. My parents absolutely love cruising… it’s the only way they vacation now… my mom just started a new blog a few days ago – but she’ll be posting about the trip they’re on to the Caribbean for the next two weeks at retired-not-tired.blogspot.com whenever they get a chance to find an internet cafe.

  9. Have a wonderful day, Kathy…
    I’m off to pack for our little trip.
    Mama Bear

  10. Yummmm warm cornbread 🙂

    The cruise is a good idea.

  11. Gee, I think Toy Story 3 was last year around this time.
    Luckly they come to DVD pretty quick these days. I feel the same way about taking a cruise right now. You had never seen The Big Chill, one of my favorites from years ago.

  12. Thanks for the mention Kathy. “The Big Chill” has great music and a little too much whining, but all in all..it’s a good one… for our generation.

    Ask Ed how many cruise ships that sail everyday, has he ever heard of….. in all his life.. of haivng an incident like this last one? Right? Tell him that pretty turqoise water will warm up his cold feet!

    My favorite soup is clam chowder. Yummy


Leave a Reply

