Miscellaneous Weekend News…

My weekend began with a home project on Friday.  I bought myself a new hobby table–you know, one of those small plastic folding tables, like we use at church.  My previous hobby table was a metal folding camping table, and it wasn’t very sturdy or steady.

Well, what should have been a quick and easy project–to swap out two tables–turned into an all afternoon deal, and I’m not finished yet!  You know how those home projects have a way of growing…this one grew, big time!  I’m still working on getting everything put back in its place.  Believe me, if you saw my work area, you’d understand.

All of that work on my home project made me hungry, so I went in the kitchen to make myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  There is a picture window over the counter in the kitchen, and I always enjoy watching the birds at the bird feeder while I’m in the kitchen.  On Friday, I saw a precious sight.  I looked up to see a bunch of brown birds walking out of the woods, coming toward the bird feeder.  They turned out to be quail!  I haven’t seen a covey of quail in years, although I’ve heard them calling each other this year.

Then I spotted Bobs the cat, crouched down beside the fountain, which is near the bird feeder!  Suddenly, I remembered why I don’t see many quail anymore!  We have cats, lots of cats!  I quickly grabbed my camera and managed to snap one picture before the quail spotted Bobs, and took a u-turn back to the woods.  They didn’t really leave in a hurry though, they just turned around and calmly walked away.  I counted fifteen of them as they walked out of the yard!  Fortunately, Bobs just sat and watched–probably because they calmly walked away.

Saturday, I published my SWS blog post early, then my hubby and I went shopping–to Wal-mart, among other places.  My SWS post contained a funny video about people watching at Wal-mart.  If you missed seeing the video, you missed a treat, and you can view it here.  Anyway, Wal-mart didn’t disappoint, and I saw a couple of sights comparable to those on the video!  Ewwwww…  We also went to some dollar stores, and bought a lot of stuff, but I’ll tell you more about that tomorrow…

I finally turned on my computer on Saturday evening to read comments and return visits.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered that I’d been chosen to win a $25.00 Wal-mart gift card from NanaThena’s blog giveaway, at Patiently WaitingThanks NanaThena!  To enter, I had to write a comment about the products that I buy to clip Box Tops for Education.  Easy as pie!  I’ve been clipping Box Tops and giving them to our local elementary school for years.  It’s easy to do, and it helps our children.

Believe it or not, on Sunday I felt compelled to cook a nice Sunday dinner for Ed and myself!  I don’t know how long it’s been since I actually wanted to cook a meal!  I made pot roast, with potatoes and carrots, along with some peas, corn, and fried squash.  For dessert I made fresh cobbler from the pears off one of our trees.  Sounds like a real southern, country meal, doesn’t it?  The pear cobbler turned out pretty good, and I took a photograph, see?
These pears are very special.  You may remember that my husband, aka Elmer Fudd, has been waging war with the squirrels over these pears for weeks!  Elmer–I mean, Ed, is still shooting at those squirrels with his BB gun.  Apparently, the squirrels don’t mind, they keep coming back!

I think that pretty much wraps up what’s been happening in our neck of the woods.  It was a nice weekend, it just ended too quickly.  So, what did you do over the weekend?

I’m joining a couple of Monday bloghops for the first time today.  I love meeting new friends.
Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

Published in: on August 22, 2011 at 9:24 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/another-weekend-wrapup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. oh my gosh fresh pears!!! to die for! I have been wanting to make a “real pie” lately!

  2. Imagining your hubby shooting at the squirrels reminds me of the scene where the father is shooting birds out of the trees for the daughter’s wedding reception in Steel Magnolias (which I watched yesterday). 😉

    I’ve never thought about making a pear cobbler … it sounds yummy!! I’ll have to give it a try. Are there any changes/tweaks you make because you use pears instead of the more traditional apple or berries?

  3. Pear cobbler sounds yummy! I’m jealous that you have a pear tree. Congrats on the gift card. What a nice surprise!

  4. Congratulations on winning the Walmart certificate! 😀

    Hope you and Mr. Ed have a great week. 🙂

  5. We see quail form time to time but I’ve never seen that many at once. Glad that Bobs didn’t get them. Congratulatins on the gift card! The pears looks delicious. I have had cooking on my mind lately, maybe I will cook something soon!!


Leave a Reply

